View Full Version : Posting in specific forums you specify deducts or adds to post count
Erwin
01-08-2004, 10:00 PM
Posting in specific forums you specify deducts or adds to post count
This is a fairly simple hack, but it can be useful for certain forums. :) Feel free to expand or modify this to suit your forums.
How to use:
1) If you have a spam forum, you may want to deduct 1 from the post count each time a member posts there.
2) If you have a special forum, you may want to add more than 1 to the post count each time a member posts there.
3) Any combination of the above.
Installation:
In includes/functions_newpost.php:
Find:
$doposts = 'posts = posts + 1,';
Replace with:
if ($foruminfo['forumid']==66 OR $foruminfo['forumid']==67)
{
$doposts = 'posts = posts - 1,';
} else {
$doposts = 'posts = posts + 1,';
}
Just change 66 and 67 to your spam forumids, remove or add forumid's as needed. :)
Change -1 to +2 or +5 if you want to ADD to the member's post count for whatever reason. Play around with the code - this hack is meant to be customized in many ways for your forum. ;)
FleaBag
01-09-2004, 02:08 PM
I came in here to ask what use there would be for having a negative post counting system, and tada, I have the answer. When I eventually get GamerForums running again this will come in handy for the annoying kids lol.
MindTrix
01-09-2004, 02:51 PM
Talk about an underated thread, Tsch
This is what everyone has too need for them non essential parts of their forums, such as sig tests etc.
Thank you Erwin ;)
Dean C
01-09-2004, 03:24 PM
Erwin.... what am I going to do with you... Quote your keys SIR! ;)
if ($foruminfo['forumid'] == 66 OR $foruminfo['forumid'] == 67)
{
$doposts = 'posts = posts - 1,';
} else {
$doposts = 'posts = posts + 1,';
}
MindTrix
01-09-2004, 03:32 PM
How does that saying go? "You just cant get the staff" :)
Just outta curiosity, what happens if a member has 5 posts, and posts 6 times in a forum that is set up to deduct 1 post for each?
Will their post count show as -1 or will it remain 0 forever?
Malice
08-01-2004, 04:37 PM
Just outta curiosity, what happens if a member has 5 posts, and posts 6 times in a forum that is set up to deduct 1 post for each?
Will their post count show as -1 or will it remain 0 forever?
Interesting thought...will VB have a problem displaying this one...
hockyfan
10-21-2004, 12:12 AM
Is there a way to modify this so it is based on a specific word a user uses, or only when a user posts in a specific thread?
h
HiDeo
10-21-2004, 03:29 AM
Nice job erwin thanks
ChrisSy
01-06-2005, 10:31 PM
will it work for threads if i simply substitute 'threads' for 'posts' in the code?
thanks in advance
lazytown
02-08-2005, 10:45 PM
Is there any way to make this work with the rebuild options? So it can apply retroactively? I wanted something that would have fractional post counts for off-topic forums, etc. But it can still be done with whole numbers by just multiplying everything.
-V
oldfan
02-09-2005, 12:40 AM
Sorry but I'm confussed...
I have a spam forum, #20
to remove a 1 from they're post count I have to...
if ($foruminfo['forumid']==20)
{
$doposts = 'posts = posts - 1,';
??
thanks
oldfan
02-10-2005, 04:11 AM
bump :)
Erwin
02-10-2005, 09:49 AM
Sorry but I'm confussed...
I have a spam forum, #20
to remove a 1 from they're post count I have to...
if ($foruminfo['forumid']==20)
{
$doposts = 'posts = posts - 1,';
??
thanks
Correct, except you forgot a } at the end. :)
Paul M
02-10-2005, 11:02 AM
How well does vB handle negative posts counts ?
oldfan
02-10-2005, 03:01 PM
Doesn't seem to do anything :/ on 3.06
Erwin
02-11-2005, 01:15 AM
Doesn't seem to do anything :/ on 3.06
I'll check when I find time to see if the code in 3.0.6 has changed.
oldfan
02-12-2005, 11:28 AM
I'll check when I find time to see if the code in 3.0.6 has changed.
thank you :)
Just so you know, when I installed it..
The post count didn't change when I posted in ANY forum.
ZombieAndy
02-17-2005, 02:54 PM
thank you :)
Just so you know, when I installed it..
The post count didn't change when I posted in ANY forum.
can this be based on a userID or usergroup rather than forumID? and is there a way it can be set in the admin cp?
Erwin
02-17-2005, 09:43 PM
can this be based on a userID or usergroup rather than forumID? and is there a way it can be set in the admin cp?
I'll modify this hack to do this via the Admin CP. :) Wait for it...
BeakerUK
03-08-2005, 12:07 AM
Works perfectly, many thanks :)
zorab
10-09-2005, 07:44 PM
Is there any way to take this hack one stage further by separating new threads from replies?
I'd like to allow new threads to increase the post count but not replies - can this be done?
Cheers
:)
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.