View Full Version : Admin/Mods exempt from character limit....
drives fast
06-02-2003, 04:48 AM
does anyone know how to make admin/mods exempt from the character limit when starting new threads and replying to threads?
I need the team members to be able to post large posts but everyone else not be able to
thanks in advance for any help offered
Boofo
06-02-2003, 05:17 AM
Yes, that is fairly easy to do. Give me a few minutes and I will try to get something together for you.
WEForums
06-02-2003, 05:21 AM
In newreply.php and newthread.php find:
$message = stripsession($message);
if
(strlen($message)>$postmaxchars and $postmaxchars!=0) {
REPLACE it with:
$message = stripsession($message);
if
(strlen($message)>$postmaxchars and $postmaxchars!=0 and $bbuserinfo[usergroupid] != 6) {
Find (in newreply):
eval("dooutput(\"".gettemplate("newreply")."\");");
}
ADD above:
if ($bbuserinfo['usergroupid']==6) {$postmaxchars=10000000;}
Find (in newthread):
eval("dooutput(\"".gettemplate("newthread")."\");");
}
Add ABOVE:
($bbuserinfo['usergroupid']==6) {$postmaxchars=10000000;}
EDIT: Didn't see your reply, or I would have let you do it. :p And I hope that works....seems to be working for me.
Boofo
06-02-2003, 06:13 AM
Here you go.
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?s=&threadid=53724
Boofo
06-02-2003, 06:15 AM
Today at 01:21 AM WEForums said this in Post #3 (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?postid=403274#post403274)
In newreply.php and newthread.php find:
$message = stripsession($message);
if
(strlen($message)>$postmaxchars and $postmaxchars!=0) {
REPLACE it with:
$message = stripsession($message);
if
(strlen($message)>$postmaxchars and $postmaxchars!=0 and $bbuserinfo[usergroupid] != 6) {
Find (in newreply):
eval("dooutput(\"".gettemplate("newreply")."\");");
}
ADD above:
if ($bbuserinfo['usergroupid']==6) {$postmaxchars=10000000;}
Find (in newthread):
eval("dooutput(\"".gettemplate("newthread")."\");");
}
Add ABOVE:
($bbuserinfo['usergroupid']==6) {$postmaxchars=10000000;}
EDIT: Didn't see your reply, or I would have let you do it. :p And I hope that works....seems to be working for me.
There are a few more places to change it or you will get the java-script warning when posting the message. I put it all in the hack file.
WEForums
06-02-2003, 06:25 AM
Today at 08:15 AM Boofo said this in Post #5 (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?postid=403285#post403285)
There are a few more places to change it or you will get the java-script warning when posting the message. I put it all in the hack file. That's strange. Whenever I post as an admin and click the "Character limit" link I get the max character limit as 1,000,000. When I login as a registered member, I get the limit as 40,000. I posted over 40,000 as an admin (like 500,000 characters) and it worked. No errors or anything. Tried the same for a regular member and it stopped me.
drives fast
06-02-2003, 10:59 AM
thank you very much
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.