View Full Version : Database Errors
GaleForce
05-04-2003, 09:15 PM
I am getting Database errors with certian hacks when a member has a ' in their name. I know the ' is used in SQL syntax so I am sure that is causing some conflict. Does anyone know what I can add to my php files for the hack in question to eliminate this problem? I think its like addslashes or something but I am not sure.
GaleForce
05-04-2003, 09:20 PM
$result = $DB_site->query("SELECT user FROM shoutbox_ban WHERE user='".$bbuserinfo['username']."'");
That is the line in question.
filburt1
05-04-2003, 09:35 PM
Change $bbuserinfo['username'] to addslashes($bbuserinfo['username']).
GaleForce
05-04-2003, 09:54 PM
Thank you.
filburt1
05-04-2003, 10:06 PM
That's also pretty badly coded...it should check by userid, not username, for security and speed reasons.
GaleForce
05-04-2003, 10:51 PM
Yeah, I am using the shoutbox made by a french programmer, not that he programs bad because he is french. I just liked the format of it because it just uses another table kind of like users online. The other one was nice, but I didn't need all those features.
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.