Log in

View Full Version : How do I call this information on a non-vB page?


N9ne
03-03-2003, 07:23 PM
What do I need to do on a .php page that I have which is not in my forum dir, to get the following information...

I want to be able to use variables which will display certain things, like the minimum required post count to use a custom avatar...

Can I just include forum/global.php and have it work? Or do I need forum/admin/global.php?

I have no idea really, someone give me a clue :D.

Xenon
03-03-2003, 07:56 PM
require the forum/global.php that's enough to use those global vars :)

N9ne
03-03-2003, 08:42 PM
Well, it's more complicated than that for me actually...

My pages are mostly HTML...

I have a file, header.php, and a file, footer.php

I create my pages like this:

<?php include('header.php'); ?>
loads of html stuff here

sdfsdf
sdfsdf
sdfsdfsdf
<?php include('footer.php'); ?>

If I want to use these variables in the sdsdfsdflskjdflksjdf stuff in the middle, what can I do? Where do I require global.php? if I close a php tag, do I need to require global.php again when I reopen them?

Xenon
03-03-2003, 08:48 PM
require global.php in the first instance of <?php ?>

you don't have to rerequire it anywhere :)

i think there was a shortcut: <?=$blabla?> to show the content of a var in the html code :)

N9ne
03-03-2003, 08:51 PM
<?php
require("/****/*****/forum/global.php");
echo("blah: " .$avatarcustomposts);
?>

I just put this in its own .php file with nothing else, and it returns no results...what am I doing wrong?

Xenon
03-03-2003, 08:55 PM
remove the () around the string, echo don't needs em

N9ne
03-03-2003, 08:59 PM
ok another problem:

require('.forum/global.php');

This line seems to cut off all code below it (html)...

<?php
require('.forum/global.php');
?>

Anything below those 3 lines in a php file, say html, will not be shown...

Does that look right?

Xenon
03-03-2003, 09:03 PM
yes, it looks right, and the html below should show up....

N9ne
03-03-2003, 09:06 PM
It's not working...I've been working on this for hours now, and i'm really really annoyed. Everything looks right, but it won't work.

Here's a sample page I have:

<?php include("header.php"); ?>
<table><tr><td>
sdfsdfsdfsdfsdfsdf
</td></tr></table>

<?php
require('/***/***/***/forum/global.php');
echo $avatarcustomposts;
?>

<table><tr><td>
sdfsdfsdfsdfsdfsdf
</td></tr></table>

<?php include("footer.php"); ?>

I can't see *anything* wrong there. I've tried variations of everything, and still, no work...

I'm completely baffled...

Sebastian
03-04-2003, 06:21 AM
This should work:


<?php
chdir("/path/to/forums/");
require("./global.php");
include("/path/to/header.php"); ?>

<table><tr><td>
sdfsdfsdfsdfsdfsdf
</td></tr></table>

<?=$avatarcustomposts;?>

<table><tr><td>
sdfsdfsdfsdfsdfsdf
</td></tr></table>

<?php include("/path/to/footer.php"); ?>


you must use chdir() (change directory) otherwise you may get include errors with admin/functions.php, and the global.php include must be above your header, otherwise you will get send headers errors.