PDA

View Full Version : post count and user group


ub3x
02-03-2003, 12:14 AM
Sorry if this already exists, but i'm looking for a hack for vbulletin 2.2.9 that will change a user's post count automatically when he reaches a certain post count.

Thanks.

Neo
02-03-2003, 10:20 AM
if ($post[posts] >= 300) {
$DB_site->query("UPDATE user SET posts='XXXX' WHERE userid='$post[userid]'");
}

something like that?

ub3x
02-03-2003, 02:42 PM
ok, where does that go? I am very new to Vbulletin and hacking it (2 days) .

Xenon
02-03-2003, 02:47 PM
hmm, put that before the ending ?> tag in global.php:

if($bbuserinfo['posts'] >= xxx and $bbuserinfo['usergroupid'] == 2) {
$DB_site->query("UPDATE user SET usergroupid=x WHERE userid=$bbuserinfo[userid]");
}

ub3x
02-03-2003, 04:45 PM
that's it? then it'll all work out?

How do I find a groupid?

Xenon
02-04-2003, 04:18 PM
yes that's it :)


by highlighting the edit group link in the acp you can see it :)

ub3x
02-04-2003, 04:25 PM
dude, arggg, okay, i'm an idiot, explain it to me like I am retarded, because I really have no idea what I should change in what you gave me.

Xenon
02-04-2003, 04:29 PM
i don't know the usergroupids of your board....

you have to find out yourself which usergroupid the new usergoup has.

if it's the first custom group it would be 8 or 9 depending if there's the banning group already..

ub3x
02-04-2003, 04:33 PM
I want it so that if the number of posts a user has 5 or more posts then he assigned to groupid 8 .

Xenon
02-04-2003, 06:43 PM
if($bbuserinfo['posts'] >= 5 and $bbuserinfo['usergroupid'] == 2) {
$DB_site->query("UPDATE user SET usergroupid=8 WHERE userid=$bbuserinfo[userid]");
}

ub3x
02-04-2003, 07:17 PM
thank you for helping the stupid. :D

Xenon
02-05-2003, 11:37 AM
:)
you're welcome :)

you will get experience when you work on more.

midnightz
10-31-2003, 04:12 PM
Hi -

I saw this thread as well and posted in this one here (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showpost.php?p=444331&postcount=31) and I see this time its says to put it in globals.

Which way will work? As you can see from the posted link above, I ran into a weird quirk.

I really would love to apply this - it will simplify my life :)

Thanks -

Xenon
11-02-2003, 02:37 PM
you have to set up the permissions correctly for each new usergroup.

the thread here does exactly explain how to code it, but the perms are up to you :)