PDA

View Full Version : Calling custom templates...


stryka
02-02-2003, 03:12 AM
Any reason why I can't call a custom template within a custom template...

My custom template can call an existing template though...

For example, I am trying to use vB templates throughout my site but I don't want the forum buttons (members) that are included in $header... so i created $customheader...

any reason why I can't refer to custom header... here's the code... pls keep in mind that i am a rookie...

<?php


$templatesused='customheader';

require(getenv('DOCUMENT_ROOT').'/global.php');

eval("dooutput(\"".gettemplate('customtemplate')."\");");

?>

Dean C
02-02-2003, 10:16 AM
Hehe use this:


<?php
error_reporting(7);

require('./global.php');


eval("dooutput(\"".gettemplate('customheader')."\");");

?>


There is no need to use the $templatesused variable unless you are calling more than two templates :)

Regards

- miSt

stryka
02-02-2003, 06:45 PM
that didn't work....

any other suggestions??? I am having trouble calling custom templates within a custom template... no probs with calls to existing ones...

Dean C
02-03-2003, 02:27 PM
There is no way that that code can't work i have you. Just put it in a php file and save it as ________.php. Then create the template it calls and voila. I've used that method several times.

Btw if you need to call a custom template inside another template then make sure it is placed above the previous call. That's why when you look at the code you will see the main template (e.g. forumhome, showthread) will always be the last template called :)

Regards

- miSt

stryka
02-04-2003, 03:43 PM
Thanx Mist... can you provide another suggestion... i have two custom templates being called from a PHP page... but only the first one appears... even if i switch the order... i couldn't quite undertand your above post concerning order...

thanx


<?php
error_reporting(7);
$templatesused='header, body';


require(getenv('DOCUMENT_ROOT').'/global.php');
$artist = $DB_site->query_first("SELECT * FROM XYZ WHERE id = '$id'");

if($artist) eval("dooutput(\"".gettemplate('header')."\");");
if($artist) eval("dooutput(\"".gettemplate('body')."\");");

?>


I also tried to put the header into a php file and code a inlcude() statement within the body template and i still did not get any result...