PDA

View Full Version : "Attach Picture" add-on for quick reply box...


jeffj
01-25-2003, 04:55 PM
This template mod lets you attach images in the "quick reply box".

This one has been bugging me for a long time so I did it this morning. It doesn't qualify as a hack since it's only a template modification but it's a highly functional template mod and your users will love you for it.

You must have already installed Chen's Quicky Reply Box to utilize this template mod. Look here for his hack: https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?s=&threadid=34597

Below is the code that get's inserted into the "showthread_replybox" template that you add for the quick reply box...

this one is real simple...

look for this line:
<td bgcolor="#DFDFDF" valign="top" nowrap><normalfont><b>Your Reply:</b></normalfont></td>

and replace it with this line:

<td bgcolor="#DFDFDF" valign="top" nowrap><normalfont><b>Your Reply:</b></normalfont><BR>
<smallfont>Attach file:&nbsp;<input type="hidden" name="MAX_FILE_SIZE" value="$maxattachsize_temp">
<input type="file" class="bginput" name="attachment"><br>
Max size: $maxattachsize bytes&nbsp | &nbsp;Valid types: $attachextensions</smallfont></td>

ps: #DFDFDF should be replaced by 'secondaltcolor' in curly braces


viola! - you're done!

Dean C
01-25-2003, 06:58 PM
Nice mod :)

Regards

- miSt

flup
01-25-2003, 07:17 PM
Can;t find the line your pointing add, i actuallu cant find YOUR REPLY in my showtread_thing :P

I also search "manually"

jeffj
01-25-2003, 07:22 PM
hey flup... you can't find the line because vb won't let me post the line exactly as it appears. It will not let me post
{ secondaltcolor } (without spaces). It keeps changing it.

:)

Tony G
01-26-2003, 08:56 AM
Nice mod, doesn't make it a quick reply though if you have all the options on the reply page on the quick reply. ;)

corsacrazy
01-26-2003, 09:22 AM
looks good on my qr !

Tony G
01-26-2003, 09:28 AM
Wow thats one feature-full 'quick' reply. ;)

corsacrazy
01-26-2003, 10:55 AM
lol i nor members can b botherd to load up the reply form, so i just incorporated it all plus more

jjj0923
01-26-2003, 12:23 PM
Originally posted by corsacrazy
lol i nor members can b botherd to load up the reply form, so i just incorporated it all plus more

I'm with you! :) my members hardly ever use the separate reply screen. They always use the qr box and nor they love it.

Tony G
01-27-2003, 05:12 AM
Thing is to get them to use it you make the quick reply box like it is here, only the typing box. Adding all those features on quick reply make new reply useless. But with extra options on the new reply screen not able on the quick reply make it somewhat useful. ;)

jjj0923
01-27-2003, 10:11 AM
Lod Dexter...your argument is without merit because they are "features" of the quick reply box, not requirements.

The entire idea for the box to begin with (read original post) is to save people from having to click through to another screen, load another php module, etc.

The quick reply box with or without lots of extra features is still a quick reply box. If you choose to limit your forum members to not being able to access additional features in the quick reply box then that's your business. You should do what I do on my forums and conduct polls to see what features the members like and and they don't like. I have taken features off my forum because my forum members "poo poo'd " them. To summarily decide what's best for your forum members without asking them...the people that make your forum what it is; is a disservice to your forum members.

:)


ps: maybe new reply - SHOULD be useless.

Brad
01-28-2003, 07:18 AM
I limit mine to smilies cause i think all the options on the quick reply box look ugly. heres what mine currently looks like (scroll to the bottom ;))

http://www.kousetsu.net/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=1465

Smoothie
01-28-2003, 08:31 AM
Originally posted by jjj0923
Lod Dexter...your argument is without merit because they are "features" of the quick reply box, not requirements.

The entire idea for the box to begin with (read original post) is to save people from having to click through to another screen, load another php module, etc.

The quick reply box with or without lots of extra features is still a quick reply box. If you choose to limit your forum members to not being able to access additional features in the quick reply box then that's your business. You should do what I do on my forums and conduct polls to see what features the members like and and they don't like. I have taken features off my forum because my forum members "poo poo'd " them. To summarily decide what's best for your forum members without asking them...the people that make your forum what it is; is a disservice to your forum members.

:)


ps: maybe new reply - SHOULD be useless. Exactly my opinion. Here's a screen of my QRB

Tony G
01-28-2003, 11:08 AM
It doesn't look attractive. Thats why a whole new page was made for replies. Something simple like whats here on vB.org doesn't look half bad but clogging up your topic pages with all those features on the same page doesn't look right.

Thats why I simplify it as much as possible, and make users use reply when they want to see extra features. Don't like to see a default page go to waste. And forums looking good is a top priority for me. :)

jjj0923
01-29-2003, 12:13 PM
I thought some of you might to look at the results of my efforts. I added code to showthread and I cycle through 10 different backgrounds in the quick reply box...

Boofo
01-29-2003, 02:16 PM
Originally posted by jjj0923
I thought some of you might to look at the results of my efforts. I added code to showthread and I cycle through 10 different backgrounds in the quick reply box...

I have to know how you did the background cycling (love the backgrounds, by the way ;)). Also, how do you limit the dimensions of the uploads (600x400)?

Dean C
01-29-2003, 03:46 PM
For the background in the replybox read the template faq in my sig :)

- miSt

Boofo
01-29-2003, 03:50 PM
I already know how to do the background, I was doing that 6 months ago. I'm interested in the cycling of the backgrounds.

jjj0923
01-29-2003, 11:16 PM
Originally posted by Boofo


I have to know how you did the background cycling (love the backgrounds, by the way ;)). Also, how do you limit the dimensions of the uploads (600x400)?

to limit the dimensions of the uploads is right on the vbulletin admin panel.

look in the section entitled "attachments".

next to see how I cycle through the attachments take a look at the attached text file that show's the code snippet from my showthread.php and some other stuff.

:)

Boofo
01-29-2003, 11:42 PM
Excellent, thank you. Now all I have to do is come up with some backgrounds. :)

You might want to change this:

$imgnumber = rand(1,10);

To this, though:

$imgnumber = RAND(NOW(1,10));

It seems the new version of MySQL (.54) needs a seed to make it more randomized. Otherwise, it will return a string CLOSE to what the last one was. ;)

jeffj
01-31-2003, 09:47 AM
thanks for the idea, but in my own forum the images appear very randomly. you're still using V3 of mysql. I switched to Mysql 4 Gamma release last month - it's SMOKES and not a single problem to date.

:)

sslight
02-12-2003, 11:45 PM
dang i made one of these too, though imo mine looks better :p .

jeffj
02-13-2003, 12:13 AM
Originally posted by sslight
dang i made one of these too, though imo mine looks better :p .

well - let's see it then :)

sslight
02-13-2003, 12:56 AM
ok but ya have to register at my forums to view:

http://shine.beezm.net/kmf_forums/index.php

and its in the "Grey Maddness" style.

jeffj
02-13-2003, 01:03 AM
nice looking forum....

:)

Vlad
02-19-2003, 01:01 AM
Awesome!

Here is mine, I am gonna tweak it a little, but I just added this a minute ago so here is it's look thus far on one of my color schemes...

Thanks!

Vlad
02-19-2003, 01:52 AM
Question, how would I get it looking like the way this guy has his set:

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/attachment.php?s=&postid=347295

I played around with mine a little bit, but can't figure that out :(

Tony G
02-19-2003, 10:49 AM
Pretty much the same as the top of the newreply, without the options and smilie box. So lots of copying code from newreply with those necessery edits.

sslight
02-22-2003, 04:12 PM
Look around in the post area find out where the smiles link is and add it in the quick reply template.

chitown
02-23-2003, 06:51 PM
my attachments will not show up, only the post that goes with it. what am i doing wrong?

Sebastian
02-26-2003, 08:27 AM
Originally posted by jjj0923
I thought some of you might to look at the results of my efforts. I added code to showthread and I cycle through 10 different backgrounds in the quick reply box...

i noticed you have a spell checker in you QR box, which spell checker are you using, if i may ask?

ChevyMan
03-02-2003, 02:08 PM
Well I followed everthing to the T and I cannot find this line in my showthread_replybox that I made.

<td bgcolor="#DFDFDF" valign="top" nowrap><normalfont><b>Your Reply:</b></normalfont></td>

So I am unable to add it. Any ideas?

EchoHype.com
03-02-2003, 02:31 PM
your quick reply may be different.

try searched for the text you use in your quick reply only, as that's what counts, AKA: We use "Fast Reply:".

ChevyMan
03-02-2003, 02:54 PM
got it..instead of letters it had secondalt color. Works good.

Is there a way to put smilies under your reply in the box to the left?

Fi_InCogNiTo
03-22-2003, 07:59 PM
To add smilies to quick reply to the left follow this:

Find in showthread_replybox:

<td bgcolor="#1C5780" valign="top" nowrap><normalfont><b>Your Reply:</b></normalfont>

After Add:
$clickysmilies

I believe that is all that needs to be done.


Here is a pic of my quick reply box....

Dean C
03-22-2003, 08:14 PM
It needs more than that but it requires hacking to be done properly so i won't go into more details :)

- miSt

Fi_InCogNiTo
03-22-2003, 08:17 PM
Ya, sorry. I cannot remember the rest of the hack. I added this a while back. Maybe someone can help him through a PM or w/e.

Dean C
03-22-2003, 08:25 PM
I'll post this here for future reference :):

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?postid=279326#post279326

Remember to add $clickysmilies to the showthread_replybox template where you want it to appear :)

Regards

- miSt

MaDCaT75
09-02-2003, 01:34 AM
But what if you have the hackless quick reply? How then do you add smilies to the QR?

:Judge:
09-05-2003, 01:25 AM
Worked like a charm :)

Thanks!

sticky
10-01-2003, 09:18 AM
I need a little help. I am able to get this working, but I want it in a new box, underneath my smilies on the right, and underneath the text box like in some of the screenshots.

With the way it is now, it shows attach right underneath my smilies.