PDA

View Full Version : my little modification to the "forumhome_forumbit_level2_post & forumdisplaybit"...


Moyses
01-10-2003, 04:29 PM
my little modification to the "forumhome_forumbit_level2_post & forumdisplaybit" templates...

Well... i'm new to this (ji ji ji ) like i said, it's only a little template hack, but i think you could see it as a little hack

What does? (tested in vb 2.2.8, but i think that this code work in any versions)
hmm ?__? you can see a demo at mi forums http://foros.angzone.com (see the Forum Index! ^__^u & the forumdisplay) http://foros.angzone.com/images/smilies/sweat.gif

1- Just find the next code in "forumhome_forumbit_level2_post" template:


<td bgcolor="{ firstaltcolor }" align="left"><a href="forumdisplay.php?s=$session[sessionhash]&forumid=$forum[forumid]"><normalfont><b>$forum[title]</b></normalfont></a>
<br><smallfont>$forum[description]</smallfont></td>


now, replace width:


<td bgcolor="{ firstaltcolor }" onmouseover="if (typeof(this.style) != 'undefined') this.style.backgroundColor = '{ secondaltcolor }'" onmouseout="if (typeof(this.style) != 'undefined') this.style.backgroundColor = ''"
Onclick="javascript:location.href('forumdisplay.php?s=$sess ion[sessionhash]&forumid=$forum[forumid]')" style="cursor: hand;"
align="left"><a href="forumdisplay.php?s=$session[sessionhash]&forumid=$forum[forumid]"><normalfont><b>$forum[title]</a></b></normalfont>
<br><smallfont>$forum[description]</smallfont>
</td>


2- in "forumdisplaybit" template find:


<td bgcolor="{ firstaltcolor }" align="left" width="70%">


now, replace width:


<td bgcolor="{ firstaltcolor }" align="left" width="70%"
onmouseover="if (typeof(this.style) != 'undefined') this.style.backgroundColor = '{ secondaltcolor }'"
onmouseout="if (typeof(this.style) != 'undefined') this.style.backgroundColor = ''" onclick="window.location.href='showthread.php?s=$session[sessionhash]&threadid=$thread[threadid]'" style="cursor: hand;">


well, see yaa http://foros.angzone.com/images/smilies/BlueTeamEnforcer.gif

sorry but my English is not very good!http://foros.angzone.com/images/smilies/preocupado.gif

Dean C
01-10-2003, 06:07 PM
Hi buddy - i don't understand exactly what this does.

Also i would put your instructions in a text file so that vbulletin.org doesn't parse the replacements :)

Regards

- miSt

WetWired
01-10-2003, 06:08 PM
This is a nice effect. We use something similar. Please note that this doesn't work well if your visitors like to open threads/forums in new windows.

WetWired
01-10-2003, 06:10 PM
Hi buddy - i don't understand exactly what this does.

Also i would put your instructions in a text file so that vbulletin.org doesn't parse the replacements :)

Regards

- miSt Basicly, it makes the whole forum and topic name cells into links with mouseover color change.

attroll
01-17-2003, 03:37 AM
Wow. I am lost here. I don’t have any files in my form directory called “forumhome_forumbit_level2_post” or “forumdisplaybit” am I missing something here? I would like to try this hack.

Tony G
01-17-2003, 10:13 AM
Oh is this hypercell tables?

WetWired
01-17-2003, 01:36 PM
These are templates. You edit them in the admin CP.

attroll
01-17-2003, 02:56 PM
Ok. I figured this out. I got everything to work but with one problem. When I load the first page of the forum gets errors. I can not click the box and get it to go into the sub-forum. The link workds though. But when in the sub-forums it all works correctly. So if I am correct in my line of thinking I think it is in the "forumhome_forumbit_level2_post". I will leave my homepage online if some one needs to look at it they can see what I mean www.whiteblaze.net/forum. The script I replaced refers to a java script maybe that is what is wrong. Could someone help me please.

P.S. This does not work when I click on NEW POST. Does anyone know what I change for that and what text I replace it with?

WetWired
01-17-2003, 03:54 PM
Hmm. Change it so instead of java script:location.href( it uses window.location.href= (and remove the trailing ')' )

Boofo
01-17-2003, 03:57 PM
This has already been done and released a long time ago. :)

attroll
01-17-2003, 04:35 PM
Thanks a lot Wetwired. It worked. I was thinking of trying that. I should have.

Any ideas on what to do so it will work when I click on New Posts. It does not work when I do that.

WetWired
01-17-2003, 05:18 PM
Any ideas on what to do so it will work when I click on New Posts. It does not work when I do that I'm not sure what you mean.

attroll
01-17-2003, 05:45 PM
When I click on the link "View New Post" then it takes me to all the new post. But the hover does not work in this area.

WetWired
01-17-2003, 07:43 PM
Change searchresultbit_threadonly so it is similar to forumdisplaybit.

Cyricx
04-17-2003, 07:26 PM
Tried putting this hack in, but I guess with the sparcing from the forums? it was causing javascript errors, I removed the spaces on the sides of the { to the secondaltcolor to } and squashed those together.

Any ideas where else the code might be goofin since it's not posted in a text file? =/

Thanks for any help.