Log in

View Full Version : Bypassing thread list page


Cyn
11-03-2002, 09:08 AM
I want to bypass a forum's thread list page and go directly to the one thread in that forum when I click on the Forum's title from the home page or from within the parent forum. Can someone help me do this please?

Xenon
11-03-2002, 07:31 PM
I don't see the sense of this, but you can make it with an easy trick:

just rename the Forum into this:
</a><a href="showthread.php?threadid=xxxx">Forumname

replace the xxx with the thread id, and you have the effect you wanted.

Cyn
11-03-2002, 07:35 PM
I tried that and it works if you're within the forums list in the category forum but doesn't work from the forum home page.

Jake sent me over here after my request in this thread: http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=51622

Erwin tried to help me out but I must be doing something wrong... http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=57709

Erwin
11-03-2002, 08:11 PM
My method does work. You are missing a } at the end of the code I gave you in that thread. :)

Erwin
11-03-2002, 08:14 PM
Use this instead:


if ($forumid=='xx') {

header("Location: ../forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=yy");

exit;

}

Cyn
11-04-2002, 06:14 AM
I did that, as I explained in the thread. It still gives me:

Parse error: parse error, unexpected T_STRING in /usr/www/users/mother1/discussions/forumdisplay.php on line 21

I'm sure I must be doing something wrong. Here's the whole file with your mini-hack placed in it. All I did was place it beneath the //end forumjump redirect :

Erwin
11-04-2002, 08:55 AM
What's with the _____ lines in your code above?

// end forumjump redirects
if_($forumid=='xx')_{
____header("Location: ../forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=yy");
__exit;
}

Get rid of all the ____ lines and it should work. The error is on line 21, which is where the ___ starts.

Cyn
11-06-2002, 06:16 PM
Gee..I thought I'd replied to you Erwin. I don't know what happened to my post. Anyway...

I don't know why the lines are there. it doesn't look like that in the code ion the file. but when I copy and paste it the lines appear.

Erwin
11-07-2002, 09:20 AM
Trust me, the code works. :) I use it exactly as I have pasted it. Somehow it doesn't work for you.

PM me the whole of your forumdisplay.php with each forumid and corresponding threadid, and I will PM back to you the fixed forumdisplay.php :)

Cyn
11-07-2002, 01:58 PM
For some reason my posts are not staying in this thread. I posted yesterday to say that I had fiddled around with it and eventually starting afresh with a clean file and typed in the code and it worked! Thanks Erwin! I'm sure my post was here because I saw it before left the thread.

I knew the problem was in something I had in the file. Just couldn't and didn't figure out what it was. :)

If I want to do this for other forums as well I just repeat the same code directly beneath that one, changing the forumid and threadid as necessary?

Erwin
11-07-2002, 06:36 PM
Exactly. :) Repeat the code, making sure each { is closed with a } and you should be fine.

Cyn
11-07-2002, 07:13 PM
I'll give it a try. Thanks again. And again!