PDA

View Full Version : [RELEASE] vB Fader MiniHack


11-04-2000, 06:25 PM
22-03-01 -> Note that this hack is NOT for vB 2.0


This is my very first *i wouldn't call it a hack* tested on W2k, IIS5, PHP 4.0.3pl1 and WinNT, Apache, PHP 4.0.2. Works fine.

[Update - i forgot to post demo, cos I'm behind a firewall, take a look in there (Ukliam's site): :)
http://www.clubbers.ws/vb/index.php]

OK, here we go. :)

Download Fader 3.0 here:
http://www.webreference.com/dhtml/column27/fader30.zip
[we'll use fader.js only, upload it to you vB folder]

Create three new templates:
faderaddnews

Fill with:

prefix="$homeurl/";

arNews = [
"The Latest News From News Harvester","",
"Sun Says Microsoft Tried to Hijack Java","Reuters/1998/09/1001-sun.html",
"U.S. Financial Firms See E-Commerce Troubles","Reuters/1998/09/0906-us.html",
"FTC Bars E-Tailer In Fraud Case","bus-news/1998/09/0902-ftc.html",
"E*TRADE Adds E-Mail for Investors","bus-news/1998/09/0903-etrade.html",
"Microsoft, Ernst \& Young Debut eCommerce RapidStart","ec-news/1998/09/0906-microsoft.html",
"Lucent, WorldPort Sign Equipment Deal for Euro Network","isp-news/1998/09/0901-lucent.html",
"Microsoft Moves In With GeoCities","bus-news/1998/09/0901-microsoft.html",
"NAI Unveils PGP Enterprise Security","intra-news/1998/09/0901-nai.html",
"Amazon Targets Classical Listeners","ec-news/1998/09/0902-amazon.html",
"Microsoft, Sun Battle In Court Over Java","Reuters/1998/09/0901-bat.html"
]

This is default from news.js you downloaded. Change it to fit your needs. Don't include , on the latest line!
prefix="$homeurl/"; Take a look at your control panel -> choose options -> homeurl. If you have there something like #ttp://www.mysite.com/, change prefix line to prefix="$homeurl";


Next template
fadersetup

Fill with:

FDRboxWid = 500;
FDRboxHgt = 25;
FDRborWid = 1;
FDRborCol = "red";
FDRborSty = "solid";
FDRbackCol = "white";
FDRboxPad = 4;
FDRtxtAln = "center";
FDRlinHgt = "12pt";
FDRfntFam = "verdana, arial, helvetica";
FDRfntCol = "#ffffff";
FDRfntSiz = "12pt";
FDRfntWgh = "normal";
FDRfntSty = "normal";
FDRlnkCol = "blue";
FDRlnkDec = "";
FDRhovCol = "red";
FDRgifSrc = "";
FDRgifInt = 60;
FDRblendInt = 4;
FDRblendDur = 1;
FDRmaxLoops = 100;
FDRendWithFirst = false;
FDRreplayOnClick = false;
FDRjustFlip = false;
FDRhdlineCount = 0;

Again - change colors, border, font, width, height, etc. as you wish.

Last template
fadertable

Fill with:

<br>
<table align="center" bgcolor="#003366" cellpadding=4 cellspacing=1 border=0 width="100%">
<TR bgcolor="*categorybackcolor*">
<TD colspan=6>
<normalfont color="*categoryfontcolor*"><B>News</B></normalfont>
</td>
</tr>
<tr bgcolor="*firstaltcolor*" valign="bottom" align="center">
<td width=100% height=25 colspan=6>
<div id="elFader" STYLE="position:relative;visibility:hidden;width:500">
</div>
</td></tr>
</table>
<br>

bgcolor="#003366". You might wanna change it. :p
* = replace with { and }. It was converted when posted. :)

Open forumhome template, after $cssinclude add this:
<SCRIPT LANGUAGE="JavaScript1.2" TYPE="text/javascript">
<!--
$fadersetup
//-->
</SCRIPT>

<SCRIPT LANGUAGE="JavaScript1.2" TYPE="text/javascript">
<!--
$faderaddnews
//-->
</SCRIPT>

<SCRIPT LANGUAGE="JavaScript1.2" TYPE="text/javascript">
<!--
document.write("<SCRIPT LANGUAGE='JavaScript1.2' SRC='fader.js' TYPE='text/javascript'><\/SCRIPT>");
//-->
</SCRIPT>

Add $fadertable somewhere. I added it on the top under 'welcome our newest member'.

Open index.php, find this line:
if ($action=="showforums") {

Add below:

// vB Fader MiniHack
eval("\$fadersetup = \"".gettemplate("fadersetup")."\";");
eval("\$faderaddnews = \"".gettemplate("faderaddnews")."\";");
eval("\$fadertable = \"".gettemplate("fadertable")."\";");
// vB Fader MiniHack End



Now, you're set. Enjoy.

11-05-2000, 02:40 PM
Nicely done. Another one on the to-do list once v2.0 is out :)

11-05-2000, 03:05 PM
Thanks. :)

11-05-2000, 04:07 PM
Thanks

12-30-2000, 08:02 AM
I add template to my vB 1.1.4 but nothing new fader on the forum ?

Did any thing I was missed ?

Is the news put in the faderaddnews template ?
could you pls explain clear what is the prefix in faderaddnews template ?

01-02-2001, 06:37 PM
First time I've seen your forum. It looks great. Do you mind if I do something somewhat like you have done with the left navigation?

01-03-2001, 05:26 AM
First time I've seen your forum. It looks great. Do you mind if I do something somewhat like you have done with the left navigation?

The demo posted isn't my site at all. I just posted to show what News Fader is and how it works. :)

01-03-2001, 05:28 AM
I add template to my vB 1.1.4 but nothing new fader on the forum ?

Did any thing I was missed ?

Is the news put in the faderaddnews template ?
could you pls explain clear what is the prefix in faderaddnews template ?

If you carefully follow the instructions, you shouldn't fall into troubles. ;)

01-04-2001, 11:32 AM
Originally posted by Parker Trasborg
First time I've seen your forum. It looks great. Do you mind if I do something somewhat like you have done with the left navigation?

The site he put as a demo is mine, feel free to use the layout, it is a pretty basic design, I only realy did it for testing.

01-09-2001, 07:00 PM
Hi,

I would like to add the number of threads and other statistik variable in the newsfader But i don't know how.

Can anyone post his faderaddnews template for me?

thanks
Jen

01-10-2001, 02:13 AM
PeF,

Nice job! Stopped by your forums to check them out. Very nicely done.

I actually approached it a different way as I'm running the same fader on my forums. I just added the JavaScipt code into the <head> section on my forums. It works the same way.

-Rob Loszewski, Site Adminstrator
Corvette Action Center
http://www.corvetteactioncenter.com

01-15-2001, 04:52 AM
why is this a "mini" hack???

01-15-2001, 08:48 AM
Because there's no code editing. Just added some templates and edited another ones.

01-15-2001, 10:08 PM
oh!! thx for the info :)

01-26-2001, 08:46 PM
What if I want to put it in a subfolder off my vbulletin folder, what would I need to change?

01-28-2001, 01:42 AM
i pasted all 3 part codes and made 3 templates uploaded the js's?? i see nothing???
i have news fader on ikonboard ubb6 and i know how it look and works...where is it>???

01-28-2001, 09:21 AM
Could you post URL to your pages so i can take a look at the source code?
Also, be sure, you followed the instructions carefully and you have JavaScripting in your browser enabled.

01-28-2001, 12:40 PM
<a href="http://cgi-bin.spaceports.com/~rsjr/index.php" target="_blank">http://cgi-bin.spaceports.com/~rsjr/index.php</a>

01-28-2001, 12:41 PM
v

01-28-2001, 01:24 PM
Getting 404.

01-28-2001, 03:10 PM
copy and paste it in the browser
it works

01-28-2001, 03:14 PM
the problem has to do with hotlinking. You can't link from outside Spaceports to non-HTML

01-29-2001, 12:49 PM
I can't see your NewsFader so can hardly give an advance. :)

Post your fader templates here, i'll take a look.

01-30-2001, 01:06 PM
Got it working:)
it was a couplke things i didnt add.. your code post was so close together i pasted the instruction text allso:)
this things awsome thanx:)
hope it works for v 2.0

01-30-2001, 02:02 PM
I really dunno that. As soon as I install vB 2.0, I'll make an update.

03-22-2001, 12:35 AM
on v2.0 b3 I got it to work but cant seem to get it to but up against the top of the main catyegory listings. How can I do this. Also how do I add my own news? Thanks.


http://forum.gmncomputers.com/vbb2b3/

03-22-2001, 06:07 AM
This hack is NOT for 2.0. Follow my sig to get News Fader for vB 2.0.

03-22-2001, 04:11 PM
Thx for the Mini Hack.... :)