PDA

View Full Version : Email "CC" back to member sending...


Kathy
09-16-2002, 10:20 AM
Okay, I've done a search and don't see this hack...and the need for it makes me think that perhaps I've missed something obvious all these years in the admin control panel options.

I'd like the option of sending a "CC" or "BCC" of the emails sent to members through the VB back to the member who is sending the email.

This is for my moderators who need "email documentation" of what they send to members when we need to contact one of them.

It would be optional....like a button near the SEND button to have a copy sent to sender....

Any thoughts? Did I miss an option already in the script?

Thanks ahead of time!

Logician
09-16-2002, 11:49 AM
Isnt that default feature? We use it here in vbulletin.org so I thought it was default..

Kathy
09-16-2002, 05:02 PM
Welll, no...that isn't on my VB's email function page. I looked again and don't see it in my VBulletin admin control panel "options" either.

Is there a hack somewhere for this in the full releases I can't seem to find?

Thanks!

Logician
09-16-2002, 07:56 PM
yes AFAIK there is no hack released in full releases. In fact I was thinking this was default vb behavior.. Anyway it's an easy one:

Edit member.php, find:

mail($destuserinfo[email],$subject,$sendmessage,"From: \"$bbuserinfo[username]\" <$bbuserinfo[email]>");


After that add:

if ($sendme)
{
mail($bbuserinfo[email],$subject,$sendmessage,"From: \"$bbuserinfo[username]\" <$bbuserinfo[email]>");
}


Edit mailform template and add this somewhere you like before </form>


<input type="checkbox" name="sendme" value="1">
<normalfont>Send one copy to yourself?</normalfont><br>


You can format the template line better if you want by putting inside a table etc. If you want to have a different template for CC mails use line:


eval("\$sendmessage = \"".gettemplate("xxx",1,0)."\";");


after

if ($sendme)
{
replace xxx with your template name and customize it according to your wish..

Not tested, should work, if not holler and I'll fix it.. :)

Kathy
09-16-2002, 11:05 PM
<sigh> I keep getting a parse error method. Copy/paste is doing funky things and I'm not sure enough when it comes to the code...removing extra spaces and returns...doesn't seem to fix it either.

:( Wah!

Logician
09-17-2002, 06:49 AM
Are you using Opera as your browser? Try IE or Netscape while copying from here. Or just type it manually, it's a short code anyway.. :)

Kathy
09-17-2002, 11:25 AM
I'm using IE....never been on Opera before in my life (except when I went to the theatre to see a few ;) )

I'll have a go at typing in the code by hand...but I still worry.

At the end of line, there is a return.....

but at the beginning of a line where the code is indented, is that a tab or spaces? Does it matter?

:D

See why I wanted to copy/paste? I've followed other smallish hacks here before where the copy/paste worked and the hacks are functioning. But I am PHP challenged....to say the least. :ermm:

Thanks for your help!

Logician
09-17-2002, 12:22 PM
Originally posted by Kathy
I'm using IE....never been on Opera before in my life (except when I went to the theatre to see a few ;) )

If you are not on Opera, it's weird you get a parse error. I checked the code and it did not give me any parse errors. Anyway if you cant handle it, send me your member.php (via PM), tell me whether you want custom template or not and I'll add the code for you..

Logician
09-18-2002, 07:27 AM
ok I fixed your file, there was some strange chars. which shouldnt be in it. It's very likely your program that you edit the file put them in. You should use Notepad for hack editing.. More info here:

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?s=&threadid=39142

:)

Kathy
09-18-2002, 10:12 AM
Thanks! Errr....I don't have notepad...as I'm on an IMac :cool:

I do use BBedit though, which is the suggested "text" editor for macs...

I guess it messed up somewhere :lol:

Thanks for your help,
Kathy

Kathy
09-18-2002, 10:39 AM
OKay, uploaded and no parsing error.....

But....

Although I inserted the text into the mailform template:
[code]
<input_type="checkbox"_name="sendme"_value="1">
<smallfont><b>Send_one_copy_to_yourself?</b></smallfont><br> [/quote]


Only the text is showing up on my mailform when I try to see if it works. No "checkbox" to click....

I tried inserting it into different places...(particularly where Bira inserts the checkbox in this thread)
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?s=&threadid=16126

but it still provides the text only and not the checkbox for members to select.

Any thoughts?

Logician
09-18-2002, 12:53 PM
Originally posted by Kathy

Only the text is showing up on my mailform when I try to see if it works. No "checkbox" to click....

1-You have to insert into "mailform" template
2- You have to insert somewhere between <form> and </form>
3- If you have more than 1 template sets, insert into all of them not only default template set..

Kathy
09-18-2002, 10:57 PM
Originally posted by Logician

1-You have to insert into "mailform" template
2- You have to insert somewhere between <form> and </form>
3- If you have more than 1 template sets, insert into all of them not only default template set..

1. I inserted it into "mailform" template
2. I inserted somewhere between <form> and </form>
3. I put it into all three template sets I have.

Still no checkbox.

I used this:
<input_type="checkbox"_name="sendme"_value="1">
<smallfont><b>Send_one_copy_to_yourself?</b></smallfont><br>

Here is the section I added it to: (copy/paste from my templates)

<input_type="checkbox"_name="sendme"_value="1">
<smallfont><b>Send_one_copy_to_yourself?</b></smallfont><br>
<input type="hidden" name="action" value="emailmessage">
<input type="hidden" name="userid" value="$userid">
<input type="submit" class="bginput" name="submit" value="Send email">
<input type="reset" class="bginput" name="reset" value="Clear Fields">


Any ideas now? How weird is this?? :tired:

Logician
09-19-2002, 08:33 AM
Originally posted by Kathy
I used this:
<input_type="checkbox"_name="sendme"_value="1">
<smallfont><b>Send_one_copy_to_yourself?</b></smallfont><br>

Kathy there is something wrong with your browser (or copy/paste process from your browser). Likely because you are on Mac. Please check the line you quoted here and the line I send in the thread. All spaces in my code is converted to _ in your code which causes the problem you have now. Try to type the code manually or find a better browser while copy/pasting from here.

I would suggest getting rid of your Mac and using a PC, but I guess you would not take heed.. hehe

oldengine
03-05-2005, 07:05 PM
Is there a version 3 update to this thread?

Jolten
08-27-2005, 05:26 PM
HTML copied from web pages on a Mac do tend to throw in invisible characters for spaces. It's a good idea to always replace all spaces in code when copying straight from a selection in a browser window.