View Full Version : How do I get a comma in my forum stats?
Gutspiller
09-07-2002, 05:42 PM
I want a comma to be used in my stats like instead of showing:
Registered Members: 1059
I want it to show:
Registered Members: 1,059
But I also want it to work with Total Posts, and Total Threads.
Can somebody help me? This seems simple enough, but I can't figure it out. :(
Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks.
futureal
09-07-2002, 07:39 PM
Any time a variable is being set up for output, you can format it using the PHP function number_format($var). I have a hack in the works that does this in a number of places on the site.
For example, suppose (and this is not real vBulletin code) that the total members are stored in $totalmembers. You would add a line to the code somewhere that looks like:
$totalmembers = number_format($totalmembers);
MAKE SURE that if you do this, the variable you create is only being used for output. After you call number_format(...), the resulting variable is converted to (or created as) a string.
In other words, code like this would work:
$somevar = 1050;
$somevar++;
$somevar = number_format($somevar);
// outputs 1,051
echo $somevar . "<br>";
But this code would NOT work:
$somevar = 1050;
$somevar = number_format($somevar);
// error, $somevar is now a string
$somevar++;
Hope that makes some sense. :)
Gutspiller
09-12-2002, 01:38 AM
That just prints out the code that I added. It doesn't do it and then print the outcome it prints the actual
$somevar = number_format($somevar);
How do I do it?
serhat_kk
07-30-2006, 03:58 AM
I need this too...
Please help
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.