View Full Version : Remotely Hosted Avatars
nabeel
09-06-2002, 10:00 PM
It works on my 2.2.6 board, I'm not sure about 2.2.7, most likely will work
This hack prevents remote avatars from being loaded into the database, it saved both bandwidth and space. Instead it'll load the avatar directly from the link the user gives
The other remote avatar hacks I've tried didn't work, so I decided to do it myself
Have Fun, if there's any problems, ask.
Make a backup of the files before you mod them, I'm not responsible for any damages :)
BrAinZ
09-07-2002, 05:21 PM
Yeah... so what does it do ?
nabeel
09-07-2002, 05:59 PM
well usually your avatars are loaded into the database..this saves teh database space and linkes them remotely, like a normal image link
lordofgun
09-07-2002, 10:39 PM
nice job!
nabeel
09-08-2002, 01:00 AM
thanks
Unknown553
09-08-2002, 02:34 AM
My computer is being weird and not reading *.doc files right now, can you post it in *.txt or *.php for me please?
LOD-squa
09-08-2002, 03:11 AM
Since he isn't online here you go.
Unknown553
09-08-2002, 03:16 AM
Thanks :)
LOD-squa
09-08-2002, 03:48 AM
My Pleasure.
nabeel
09-08-2002, 01:20 PM
ah woops i shoulda done it in HTML or something
sorry about that
Unknown553
09-08-2002, 11:12 PM
Well I finally got around to installing this, and it actually works. I've been trying for weeks to get avatars working (stupid server) but to no avail, but this hack did the trick, thanks!
Storm
09-09-2002, 03:47 AM
Does this hack work with the welcome panel?
nabeel
09-09-2002, 09:43 AM
it should, i havent looked at the welcome panel. ill download it and take a look
Will this remove the ability to be able to upload avatars to the database at all? I would like that option avaiable still.
Thanks
Odil
aLuCaRD
09-20-2002, 01:27 PM
How do I undo this query..?
ALTER TABLE `fragblast`.`user` ADD `avatar2` TEXT NOT NULL;
I adjusted it to the database I wanted to modify but upon further looking it seems this has mess with the way my welcome panel shows avatars..?
Anyhelp would be apreciated, thankyou. :D
nabeel
09-20-2002, 05:04 PM
Originally posted by Odil
Will this remove the ability to be able to upload avatars to the database at all? I would like that option avaiable still.
Thanks
Odil
yeah itll remove it
to undo the query, replace ADD with DELETE, i think
i still havent had a chance to look at the welcome panel, but i dont think it will cause any problem
Originally posted by aLuCaRD
How do I undo this query..?
<?php
error_reporting(7);
require('./global.php');
cpheader('Run a Query');
$doquery="ALTER TABLE `fragblast`.`user` ADD `avatar2` TEXT NOT NULL";
$DB_site->query($doquery);
echo 'Query successful.<br><font face="Courier New" size="1">' . $doquery . '</font>';
cpfooter();
?>
save it to a file, called runquery.php, upload it to your /admin folder and run it.
any hacker should include this type of extra hack to make everyone's life easy.
some of us will never install phpmyadmin (i dont) just to run little queries like that, when they can be done with vBulletin.
Rushy
09-29-2002, 02:39 PM
Editing Avatars
I have installed the hack and it works fine ut there is no way to edit/remove an avatar from a user in the admin CP. Any ideas?
aLuCaRD
10-03-2002, 08:57 AM
Originally posted by TECK
<?php
error_reporting(7);
require('./global.php');
cpheader('Run a Query');
$doquery="ALTER TABLE `fragblast`.`user` ADD `avatar2` TEXT NOT NULL";
$DB_site->query($doquery);
echo 'Query successful.<br><font face="Courier New" size="1">' . $doquery . '</font>';
cpfooter();
?>
save it to a file, called runquery.php, upload it to your /admin folder and run it.
any hacker should include this type of extra hack to make everyone's life easy.
some of us will never install phpmyadmin (i dont) just to run little queries like that, when they can be done with vBulletin.
This will add it wont it..? I want to delete "avatar2" as now my avatars arent working. (2.2.7)
ButtKnocker
10-31-2002, 03:43 AM
Has anyone tried this hack for VB 2.2.8? I'm not new to board hacking but I'm new to VB. My version 2.2.8 does not have a members.php. It has member.php and member2.php.
Also, the reason I am looking for this hack is because 2.2.8 has the option for custom avatars from a different url but it always gives a invalid jpeg and gif error. I'm not interested in hosting my own avatars (ie - having the actual files on my server). I'm interested in letting the users do the custom url avatar only.
I read a ton of threads on vbulletin.com about this subject but there seems to be no clear cut answer to why it will not work. Most of the answers are to fix the regular avatar problem of letting users upload their own or use the ones that the board admin hosts on his own server.
I believe I read something over there that the only way to get custom url avatars to work was to look here at vbulletin.org for the hack.
I guess my biggest question is why would VB put an option in there software that does not work without a hack?
Koneko
11-08-2002, 06:19 AM
Originally posted by Rushy
Editing Avatars
I have installed the hack and it works fine ut there is no way to edit/remove an avatar from a user in the admin CP. Any ideas?
I'm having this same problem.
Dribbles
12-21-2002, 04:57 PM
tried in 2.2.9 and edited member.php instead of members.php .. getting this error:
Parse error: parse error in /home/ironlife/public_html/member.php on line 1081
nabeel
12-21-2002, 05:02 PM
Originally posted by Dribbles
tried in 2.2.9 and edited member.php instead of members.php .. getting this error:
Parse error: parse error in /home/ironlife/public_html/member.php on line 1081
oh there is no members.php in 2.2.9
well this hack is for 2.2.6
if i get time ill work on a upgrade for 2.2.9, but ive been very busy, sorry for the late responses
Dribbles
12-21-2002, 05:25 PM
thnx for the reply :)
nabeel
12-21-2002, 05:32 PM
np
whats the line that the error was on, and a few lines above + below it?
Warlord
12-27-2002, 11:12 PM
Ok, this seems to cure the problem in 2.2.8 where it says every single remotely hosted avatar is not a valid jpg or gif but the avatars don't show up in the postbit (threads) for some reason.
(At least they don't for me)
Anyone have the fix for this?
nabeel
12-27-2002, 11:18 PM
did you apply the templates correctly?
it should be
$post[avatar]$post[avatar2]
iirc
if that doesn't work, try this
$post[avatar]<img src="$post[avatar2]">
Warlord
12-27-2002, 11:30 PM
the first one doesn't work for me (btw, I don't think the template changes are in the read me file).
and won't the second one leave a broken url image for everyone who isn't using a remotely hosted avatar?
Warlord
12-27-2002, 11:31 PM
This.. "$post[avatar]$post[avatar2]" makes the url of the image show up where the avatar is supposed to be... :(
nabeel
12-28-2002, 12:08 AM
try
<img src="$post[avatar2]">
or
<img src="$post[avatar]">
there weren't template changes because it changes to $post[avatar] in the code
Warlord
12-28-2002, 01:13 AM
I've tried that, and it works for people who do have a remotely hosted avatar, but if they don't have a remotely hosted avatar, it gives the broken url image. (The little white box with the red x in it, like the attached image)
Warlord
12-28-2002, 04:44 AM
Ok, I don't know what I did wrong, but ManagerJosh came in and saved the day, lol. Thanks Josh. :)
Nice hack
nabeel
12-28-2002, 10:35 AM
np, what was the problem? i think what i did to fix that was remove that avatar template and just use the img src
Warlord
12-29-2002, 09:21 AM
Originally posted by nabeel
np, what was the problem? i think what i did to fix that was remove that avatar template and just use the img src
I have no idea what went wrong, ManagerJosh re-hacked it for me, and it worked fine, I had to get rid of the avatar image in the user cp and the Welcome Panel, but at least it works in the threads now.. :)
L-Mane
01-01-2003, 04:35 AM
The hack dont work with the latest version of vb
drumsy
01-17-2003, 03:35 PM
How do I get it to display in the postbit?
nabeel
01-18-2003, 10:16 PM
you need to replace the code in "functions.php", it will automatically show up
BrAinZ
04-24-2003, 04:54 PM
This is exactly what I need, but doesn't directly relate to v2.3.0 :(
Has anyone adapted it to work with the latest version?
Kriek
05-04-2003, 10:18 PM
Confirmed working on 2.3.0 ;)
Verity
05-31-2003, 06:32 PM
05-05-03 at 12:18 AM Kriek said this in Post #39 (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?postid=391487#post391487)
Confirmed working on 2.3.0 ;)
Any luck yet??
Or has anyone gotten this to work with 2.3.0??
Thank you,
Verity
Kriek
06-01-2003, 12:30 AM
As I stated in my previous post (you quoted it) this hack IS confirmed working on 2.3.0.
I support or establish the certainty or validity of this hack working under 2.3.0.
Verity
06-01-2003, 01:01 PM
Today at 02:30 AM Kriek said this in Post #41 (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?postid=402648#post402648)
As I stated in my previous post (you quoted it) this hack IS confirmed working on 2.3.0.
I support or establish the certainty or validity of this hack working under 2.3.0.
Nope it doesn't work for me. These are all the errors I got.
Parse error: parse error, unexpected $end in d:\www\Domains\madonnamad.com\wwwroot\madforum\adm in\functions.php on line 2461
Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at d:\www\Domains\madonnamad.com\wwwroot\madforum\adm in\functions.php:2461) in d:\www\Domains\madonnamad.com\wwwroot\madforum\adm in\functions.php on line 1648
Fatal error: Call to undefined function: makelogincode() in d:\www\Domains\madonnamad.com\wwwroot\madforum\glo bal.php on line 373
And I followed the directions to the letter.
Kriek
06-01-2003, 01:41 PM
Today at 10:01 AM Verity said this in Post #42 (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?postid=402858#post402858)
Parse error: parse error, unexpected $end
Typically due to a missing closing bracket for a statement.
Today at 10:01 AM Verity said this in Post #42 (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?postid=402858#post402858)
Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent
You are trying to send header information AFTER you have sent output to the browser.
Note any spaces after the start tag and/or before the end tag and remove them.
Verity
06-01-2003, 03:20 PM
[QUOTE]Today at 03:41 PM Kriek said this in Post #43 (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?postid=402876#post402876)
[B]Typically due to a missing closing bracket for a statement.
Thank you it is working perfecly now.
Thanks again,
Verity
Kriek
06-01-2003, 06:54 PM
Today at 12:20 PM Verity said this in Post #44 (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?postid=402927#post402927)
Thank you it is working perfecly now.
No problem ;)
mknott
07-29-2003, 01:12 PM
i just installed it and have got a problem :(
Parse error: parse error in /data/hosted/mknott/forum/member.php on line 1065
what didnt i do
if ($bbuserinfo[userid]==0) {
thats line 1065
mknott
07-29-2003, 01:17 PM
BAH i didnt do the database bit... hmm hope it works
mknott
07-29-2003, 01:26 PM
still dont work :(
Battle_Ring
08-04-2004, 02:40 AM
I keep Getting THis When I Go To Upload A Avatar...
The uploaded file is not a valid GIF or JPG file. Please ensure that it is and try again.
But It Is Correct....
Someone Help please!
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.