PDA

View Full Version : Newest Member's First Post! (v1.1)


Link14716
08-30-2002, 10:00 PM
Ok, here is my 3rd Hack, the first with all of the code actually being mine :D

Updated with Velocd's fix! :banana:

So, what does this hack do, you ask? It adds a link next to the newest member taking you to their first post. If the user doesn not have a post, no link is shown.

So, here we go!

To Do:
2 File Mods (root/index.php)
1 Template Edit (forumhome)

---------------------------------------
New Member's First Post hack by squall14716
Inspired by ezboard.
---------------------------------------

---------------------------------------
open index.php
---------------------------------------
find:
---------------------------------------

$getnewestusers=$DB_site->query_first("SELECT userid,username FROM user WHERE userid=$numbersmembers[max]");

---------------------------------------
replace with:
---------------------------------------

$getnewestusers=$DB_site->query_first("SELECT userid,username,lastpost FROM user WHERE
userid=$numbersmembers[max]");

---------------------------------------
find:
---------------------------------------

// get newest member
$getnewestusers=$DB_site->query_first("SELECT userid,username,posts FROM user WHERE userid=$numbersmembers[max]");
$newusername=$getnewestusers['username'];
$newuserid=$getnewestusers['userid'];

---------------------------------------
add under:
---------------------------------------

if ($getnewestusers['lastpost'] != 0) {
$getnewusersposts=$DB_site->query_first("SELECT * FROM post WHERE userid=$newuserid LIMIT 1");
$userfirstpost=$getnewusersposts['postid'];

if (!$getnewusersposts) {
$firstpost="";
} else {
$firstpost=" | <a href='showthread.php?postid=$userfirstpost#post$us erfirstpost'>First Post!</a>";
}
}

---------------------------------------
Save and Close
---------------------------------------
Open up forumhome template
---------------------------------------
find:
---------------------------------------

Welcome to our newest member, <a href="member.php?s=$session[sessionhash]&action=getinfo&userid=$newuserid">$newusername</a>

---------------------------------------
Add DIRECTLY AFTER (on the same line)
---------------------------------------

$firstpost

---------------------------------------

Post any bugs/questions/suggestions here. ;) :banana:

N9ne
08-30-2002, 11:37 PM
screen?

Link14716
08-30-2002, 11:39 PM
Hold your horses! I just posted it and am on a crappy comp ;)

Edit: Screen :banana:

lordofgun
08-30-2002, 11:45 PM
nice!

Vile
08-31-2002, 12:08 AM
Nice hack, works great:)

N9ne
08-31-2002, 12:28 AM
Looks good.

FFMania
08-31-2002, 01:05 AM
* FFMania clicks "installed" button :)

Link14716
08-31-2002, 01:16 AM
Glad to here no one has had any problems with this hack. ;) Quick, easy, bug-free that I know of. Thanks everyone :D

Velocd
08-31-2002, 05:47 AM
Nifty idea, I might consider it ;)

Only for my members though, since I just use Afterlabs top 10 posts whenever viewing a new members posts, to review more than just one.

Velocd
08-31-2002, 05:57 AM
A small tip that might save you a query. By looking at your code, it would seem if the new member has not made a post, then an extra query is being called anyway just to check. This can be avoided though.

In index.php replace:

$getnewestusers=$DB_site->query_first("SELECT userid,username,posts FROM user WHERE userid=$numbersmembers[max]");


With:

$getnewestusers=$DB_site->query_first("SELECT userid,username,posts,lastpost FROM user WHERE userid=$numbersmembers[max]");


Now in Link14716 hack, replace:

$getnewusersposts=$DB_site->query_first("SELECT * FROM post WHERE userid=$newuserid LIMIT 1");
$userfirstpost=$getnewusersposts['postid'];

if (!$getnewusersposts) {
$firstpost="";
} else {
$firstpost=" | <a href='showthread.php?postid=$userfirstpost#post$us erfirstpost'>First Post!</a>";
}


With:

if(getnewestusers['lastpost'] != 0){
$getnewusersposts=$DB_site->query_first("SELECT * FROM post WHERE userid=$newuserid LIMIT 1");
$userfirstpost=$getnewusersposts['postid'];

if (!$getnewusersposts) {
$firstpost="";
} else {
$firstpost=" | <a href='showthread.php?postid=$userfirstpost#post$us erfirstpost'>First Post!</a>";
}
}


This is untested, but should work ;)

Link14716
08-31-2002, 04:00 PM
Actually on this line:
if(getnewestusers['lastpost'] != 0){
you'd get a parse error ;)

Floris
09-01-2002, 07:34 AM
.. ok, before applying ..

I will wait to see an update on this one with a merge of the two above codes so we will have 1 nice new version that doesn't add a query :)

Alien
09-03-2002, 11:15 PM
Ditto. :)

Link14716
09-04-2002, 08:41 PM
Updated with Velocd's fix ;)

Yes, it still adds a query, but only if the newest user has made a post.

Mono
10-03-2002, 07:10 PM
Can you post an update on how to get this to work with 2.2.7?

Link14716
10-03-2002, 08:46 PM
It works with 2.2.7.

And 2.2.8

And 2.2.5

Must I continue? ;)

Most likely, it works with all 2.2.x versions. I'd bet my life on it. And I am pretty sure that it also works on 2.0.x versions. ;)

Mono
10-03-2002, 08:54 PM
My coding doesn't match up anything like you say. The getuser thing is shorter the DBsite_query doesn't match either. Here's what I have.

// get newest member
$getnewestusers=$DB_site->query_first("SELECT userid,username FROM user WHERE userid=$numbersmembers[max]");
$newusername=$getnewestusers['username'];
$newuserid=$getnewestusers['userid'];

Link14716
10-03-2002, 10:06 PM
Then use that, it'll still work. As long as it isn't a replace with, you can do that to just about any hack ;)

EDIT: All you do is add ",lastpost" (w/o quotes) after username, and then add the other code under it. ;)

Mono
10-07-2002, 01:54 AM
I've done that but no luck. I get the same error as before. >.<

I tried it on 2.2.6 which this was ment for and the coding is still different and still doesn't work.

Link14716
12-23-2002, 01:05 PM
Well, I only saw one difference between what I had and what was actually there. Updated the code slightly and the version number to 2.2.x after installing it onto my 2.2.9 board successfully.

spick
01-15-2004, 06:58 AM
Everytime I Edit The index.php,I Get This:
550 20040115095330: No such file or directory

Why?