View Full Version : Getting the sessionhash to be processed in the forum description?
Hi,
I'd like to provide links to nested forums on their parent's forum description, however the $session[sessionhash] variable is not processed. Is there a way to do this? If I don't pass the session hash isn't there the danger of an uncookied user losing their session?
Paul
Sparkz
07-23-2002, 03:28 PM
Exactly where are you trying to do this? In what template?
Looking at forumhome_forumbit_level1_post, and it does indeed use $session[sessionhash]. Are you sure it's not just because you have turned cookies on for your own user, which would remove the sessionhash for links.
I am trying to do this in the actual forum description, which is defined in Admin CP > Forums & Moderators > Edit > Description.
Not in forumhome.
Paul
For an example of what I'm talking about, see the link to beta hacks in the forum description of the Full Releases forum on this server.
Sparkz
07-23-2002, 04:03 PM
Ah, I see what you mean.
This requires a small hack to index.php and forumdisplay.php
In both files find:
eval("\$forumbits .= \"".gettemplate("forumdisplay_forumbit_level$depth$tempext")."\";");
Directly before this, add:
eval("\$forum[description] = \"$forum[description]\";");
forumdude
05-18-2003, 03:56 AM
I get a lot of:
Parse error: parse error in /home/index.php(305) : eval()'d code on line 1
when i try this hack. I have to use addslashes to get it to work correctly. Of course, this also adds slashes into the descriptions which is something I'm not going for.
eval("\$forum[description] = \"".addslashes($forum[description])."\";");
Anyone have the same problem or have a solution that won't give me parse errors?
Thanks
forumdude
05-20-2003, 06:52 PM
up
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.