PDA

View Full Version : Pre-screen / moderate users' posts


James Cridland
06-08-2002, 10:00 PM
Based on an original hack by wluke (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?s=&threadid=14075) (included in bira's thread here), which...

- Allows you to place a user under moderation, whereby his posts and threads will be queued until an admin/moderator validates them

...this adds...

- Make all new users moderated automatically
- Allow moderators to see all unmoderated posts
- Enhances control panel to give a better view of posts, and give further information about the user

This is great for stopping people who just want to spam or troll, and monitoring what new users write before the rest of the board sees them.

James Cridland
06-09-2002, 03:16 PM
...the enhanced control panel looks like this:
http://james.cridland.net/code/vbull.gif

lordnet
06-09-2002, 04:43 PM
great hack ;)

my best wish...

LORD :)

James Cridland
06-10-2002, 08:06 PM
Updated to show the number of replies in the control panel (d'oh, didn't even notice it in the screenshot!)

Erwin
06-11-2002, 02:53 AM
This is a nice hack...

marocnl
10-17-2002, 02:15 AM
Hello,

This is just the hack i was looking for!

But... i don't want new users to be under moderation automaticly.

I only want to put problem-users in de moderation que.

Is that a feature already present in this hack? or do i have to change something to make new users become normally registered?

Thanx in advance

Maroc.NL

James Cridland
10-17-2002, 07:14 AM
This feature is already present... just ignore the "Make new users moderated automatically" part of the hack.

NuclioN
10-17-2002, 06:00 PM
Originally posted by marocnl
Hello,

I only want to put problem-users in de moderation que.


hehehe marocnl, i saw your forum and yes...this hack makes sense for you. :D

tkeil69575
11-26-2002, 03:37 PM
hi james,
nice hack, which i just wanted to install, however the preview bit for moderators isnt working / it think there is something missing out of your hack-text file, it just stopps abrupt and I cant see where the template is being included.

im sure its just an upload mistake or something. could you have a look and maybe update the file, if I'm right?

thanks tina

James Cridland
11-30-2002, 01:49 PM
I have updated this file: it did look rather truncated. Not sure why.

Dan_UPC
01-04-2003, 12:36 PM
hi james,

It seems that in your last upload that the initial part of the text file no longer reads as I would expect it should ...

if (!$bbuserinfo['posts'] AND $bbuserinfo[usergroupid]!=13) {
$DB_site->query("UPDATE user SET usergroupid=12 WHERE userid='$u'");
} else {
$DB_site->query("UPDATE user SET usergroupid=2 WHERE userid='$u'");
}
-----

...where XX is the new, Under Moderation, user group you've just made.

As you can see, there is no xx in the code as referred to in you comment...

EDIT: forgot to mention ... my Under Moderation usergroupid = 13 ... how should I edit the above section of code to suit my needs?

James Cridland
03-03-2003, 06:01 AM
So, I screwed up there.

The correct code should read... // activate account

if (!$bbuserinfo['posts'] AND $bbuserinfo[usergroupid]!=XX) {
$DB_site->query("UPDATE user SET usergroupid=XX WHERE userid='$u'");
} else {
$DB_site->query("UPDATE user SET usergroupid=2 WHERE userid='$u'");
}

James Cridland
03-03-2003, 06:05 AM
...and the missing bit of moderate.php that I missed out is, I think, this...

Search for "makelabelcode" and replace the bits that follow with this...

makelabelcode("<b>Posted by:</b>","<a href=\"user.php?s=$session[sessionhash]&action=viewuser&userid=$user[userid]\">$user[username]</a> ($user[posts] posts) - [<a href=\"XXXPATHTOYOURADMINDIRECTORYXXX/user.php?s=$session[sessionhash]&action=edit&userid=$user[userid]\" target=_blank>un-moderate</a>] (in new window)");
makelabelcode("<b>Located in:</b>","<a href=\"XXXPATHTOYOURFORUMSXXX/forumdisplay?s=$session[sessionhash]&forumid=$thread[forumid]\">$thread[forumtitle]</a>");
makeinputcode("<font color='red'>New thread</font>:","title[$thread[threadid]]",$thread[title]);
maketextareacode("Message:","threadpagetext[$thread[threadid]]",$post[pagetext],15,80);
makeyesnocode("Validate:","validatethread[$thread[threadid]]",1);
makeyesnocode("Delete:","deletethread[$thread[threadid]]",0);
makeinputcode("Thread notes:","notes[$thread[threadid]]",$thread[notes],50);
maketableheader("&nbsp;","",0);

Dean C
03-03-2003, 03:51 PM
Welcome back James. Nice site btw and thanks for the fix :)

- miSt

James Cridland
03-07-2003, 02:42 PM
This is to add to the text file when I've a moment...

DanFlynnUPC: hey r u there?
cridland james: Hi Dan
DanFlynnUPC: you've left a couple things outta the install instructions still
DanFlynnUPC: i worked them out and fixed them on our forum
cridland james: Oh, I'm sorry...
cridland james: Have you posted what they are?
DanFlynnUPC: nope .... i'll tell you now
DanFlynnUPC: let you do the update
DanFlynnUPC: in moderate.php there is a query just before the labels bit ... you gotta get the number of posts a user has made in that query
DanFlynnUPC: that's the 1st problem
DanFlynnUPC: the other prob is that the way your install instructions are, you will never make use of the postbit_unmod template because the unmoderated posts are never taken from the db
DanFlynnUPC: this is what i changed
DanFlynnUPC: in showthread.php
DanFlynnUPC: find
DanFlynnUPC: $getpostids=$DB_site->query("
SELECT post.postid FROM post
WHERE post.threadid='$threadid' AND post.visible=1
ORDER BY dateline $postorder LIMIT ".($limitlower-1).",$perpage
");
DanFlynnUPC: and replace it with
DanFlynnUPC: if (ismoderator($thread['forumid'])) {
$ismod=1;
} else {
$ismod=0;
}

if ($ismod)
{
$getpostids=$DB_site->query("
SELECT post.postid FROM post
WHERE post.threadid='$threadid'
ORDER BY dateline $postorder LIMIT ".($limitlower-1).",$perpage
");
} else {
$getpostids=$DB_site->query("
SELECT post.postid FROM post
WHERE post.threadid='$threadid' AND post.visible=1
ORDER BY dateline $postorder LIMIT ".($limitlower-1).",$perpage
");
}
DanFlynnUPC: did you get all that?
DanFlynnUPC: r u there?
DanFlynnUPC: and you can then simplify the bit in functions.php
DanFlynnUPC: replace everything between
// do posts from ignored users
AND
// ###################### Start gettextareawidth #######################
WITH
if ($post[visible]<1) {
eval("\$retval = \"".gettemplate("postbit_unmod")."\";");
} else if ($ignore[$post[userid]]) {
eval("\$retval = \"".gettemplate("postbit_ignore")."\";");
} else {
eval("\$retval = \"".gettemplate("postbit")."\";");
}
return $retval;
}
DanFlynnUPC: works like a charm
cridland james: I've got all that, Dan, thanks
DanFlynnUPC: great thanx .... hopefully it'll help someone
DanFlynnUPC: cause it's a really nice hack ... I also extended it just a tiny bit to moderate attachments made by ppl in that usergroup also
DanFlynnUPC: cause we've had a few ppl posting porn on our forum
cridland james: Good idea
DanFlynnUPC: btw ... it's worth making a note that the moderation usergroup should not be allowed to edit their posts or they can just wait till the post is approved then make it nasty and it wont get caught

James Cridland
03-07-2003, 02:44 PM
In case you're wondering, I'm waiting to evaluate v3 before I work on more hacks, hence my quietness here.

I may, or may not, be using vBulletin v3 - I might even (gasp!) write my own.

Bhollywood
04-11-2003, 02:52 AM
I wanted to find out if anyone has used this on 2.3.0 successfully. I would love to try it out if its ok to use on 2.3.0

Thanks

Yappi
04-19-2003, 08:42 PM
I'm interested in whether it works on 2.3.0 also. I'm updating to the latest version and would like to install this hack.