PDA

View Full Version : Quick Reply Box Addons...


|GMK|PlaTooN
05-22-2002, 02:52 AM
Well what's up.. I am wondering if it is possible to throw a background behind the test box you type in for both the quick reply box and normal reply or make thread.. I have seen this done on a iB3 board so I suspect it can be done on vBulletin?? It does look cool if you have a nice faded logo or something in the text box... Also on the quick reply box is there anyway to add some smilies to it so users can click smilies aswell?? Well holla back and I will check this thread often.

Catch you later,

PlaTooN :smoke:

Mone'
05-22-2002, 03:53 AM
this can be easily done using css

for the reply box look for this bit of code in the custom template
showthread_replybox


<textarea name="message" rows="7" cols="$textareacols" wrap="virtual" tabindex="1"></textarea>



and chage it to :


<textarea name="message" rows="7" cols="$textareacols" wrap="virtual" tabindex="1" style="background-image: url('http://www.yourdomain.com/images/background.gif')"></textarea>



were : 'http://www.yourdomain.com/images/background.gif'
is the url of the image that you want to show in the background ;)


if you any problem let me know as i got working 100% :)

Mone'

Mone'
05-22-2002, 11:22 AM
and here is a screenshot :

PET
05-22-2002, 06:49 PM
Do you know how to add BOLD, ITALIC, UNDerLINE buttons ?

Boofo
05-23-2002, 08:29 PM
I tried to get it to work but it doesn't change anything. Any ideas on how to fix it? :)

Originally posted by Mone'
this can be easily done using css

for the reply box look for this bit of code in the custom template
showthread_replybox


<textarea name="message" rows="7" cols="$textareacols" wrap="virtual" tabindex="1"></textarea>



and chage it to :


<textarea name="message" rows="7" cols="$textareacols" wrap="virtual" tabindex="1" style="background-image: url('http://www.yourdomain.com/images/background.gif')"></textarea>



were : 'http://www.yourdomain.com/images/background.gif'
is the url of the image that you want to show in the background ;)


if you any problem let me know as i got working 100% :)

Mone'

PET
05-23-2002, 08:45 PM
It work for me. Have you check the url ? There must be the right one !

Boofo
05-23-2002, 08:49 PM
Here is the URL to check it out on my site. It still looks the same as before. :)

Testing image in quick reply box (http://www.bearfacts2.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=22)

Boofo
05-24-2002, 02:16 AM
Well, I got it working finally. Is there a way to make the background for the reply box just a color instead of an image and how would you change the color of the text for the message you write? And also, is there a way to make it so the background of the page shows through? I have a set background and would like to have the backrground stay put as the page moves in the box.

Mone'
05-24-2002, 04:50 AM
you can't have the quick reply box transparent and show the background image of your site !
you can use the above code to place an image.

to have the background and font set to a different color simply change


<textarea name="message" rows="7" cols="$textareacols" wrap="virtual" tabindex="1"></textarea>


to


<textarea name="message" rows="7" cols="$textareacols" wrap="virtual" tabindex="1" style="COLOR: white ; BACKGROUND-COLOR: black;
"></textarea>



where white is the colour of the font
and black is the colour of the quick reply box



Mone'

|GMK|PlaTooN
05-25-2002, 11:17 AM
Thanks for the help. It works great. But... is there a way to add smilies?? I tried including the smilie bit that is shown when you make a new thread or post.. I think its $smilies.. Well after adding that nothing showed any ideas on how to add smilies to the quick reply box?

PET
05-25-2002, 04:47 PM
The smilies...i don't know ! I will not work anymore at Quick reply box. I try yo add the bold, italic, underline, etc buttons. 2 hours i try...and nothing...revuze to work ! :(

Boofo
05-25-2002, 05:34 PM
There is a hack for adding smilies to the quick reply box here on vb.org. :)


Originally posted by |GMK|PlaTooN
Thanks for the help. It works great. But... is there a way to add smilies?? I tried including the smilie bit that is shown when you make a new thread or post.. I think its $smilies.. Well after adding that nothing showed any ideas on how to add smilies to the quick reply box?

|GMK|PlaTooN
05-25-2002, 06:32 PM
Where aboot will I find this great template mod??

Boofo
05-25-2002, 06:39 PM
Look at post #414 here (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?s=&threadid=34597&perpage=15&highlight=smilies%20for%20quick%20reply%20box&display=&pagenumber=28).

All I did was use the SEARCH at the top of this page. Comes in handy. Might want to try it next time. :)

Originally posted by |GMK|PlaTooN
Where aboot will I find this great template mod??

|GMK|PlaTooN
05-25-2002, 07:39 PM
lol thanks you ignorant +++++++ haha joking man thanks for the thread.

CeleronXL
05-25-2002, 09:29 PM
Doesn't work

Boofo
05-25-2002, 09:34 PM
What doesn't work? The smilie addon for the quick reply box? Well, I had it working here just fine. :)

Xelation
05-25-2002, 10:36 PM
is there anyway to keep the background image stationary? you see... after someone types enough its just going to start over and you'll have a line in the middle of the box. I hope this is possible

CeleronXL
05-25-2002, 11:26 PM
Originally posted by Boofo
What doesn't work? The smilie addon for the quick reply box? Well, I had it working here just fine. :) You got it to work? All you did was insert $clickysmilies under "Your reply:" and it worked?

Boofo
05-25-2002, 11:31 PM
Did you do the rest of the hack? You have to add the javascript lines. The following is what you need to do to get it to work.

To add smilies to the quick replay box:

Add this line:

$clickysmilies = getclickysmilies();

to showthread.php right after this:

$textareacols = gettextareawidth();

then use $clickysmilies in the showthread_quickreply template to add the box with the smilies in it, but you will also need to add these two lines:

<script language="Javascript" src="vbcode.js"></script>
<script language="Javascript" src="vbcode_language.js"></script>

to the template right after the <form> tag. That should work.


I took it out of mine because the page was loading slower and I think if users want to use smilies, they can use the regular reply box. :)

SloppyGoat
05-26-2002, 01:38 AM
Yep, I got it to work just fine. You just have to read two posts in that thread. :classic:

Mone'
05-26-2002, 04:23 AM
Originally posted by Xelation
is there anyway to keep the background image stationary? you see... after someone types enough its just going to start over and you'll have a line in the middle of the box. I hope this is possible




just ad more css =)

look for :

showthread_replybox

in the custom template


<textarea name="message" rows="7" cols="$textareacols" wrap="virtual" tabindex="1"></textarea>



and chage it to :


<textarea name="message" rows="7" cols="$textareacols" wrap="virtual" tabindex="1" style="background-image: url('http://www.yourdomain.com/images/background.gif'); background-repeat: no-repeat; background-attachment: fixed;"></textarea>




Mone'

PET
05-26-2002, 02:27 PM
I want the BOLD, ITALIC,etc buttons under Your Reply:

Sombodt know how ?

Xelation
05-26-2002, 02:30 PM
worked, thanks! :)

|GMK|PlaTooN
05-26-2002, 04:38 PM
What I did was just put a link to the smilie page. It is very simple. This is what I did:

Find:
<smallfont><a href="javascript:checklength(document.vbform);">[Check message length]</a>

And replace it all with:
<smallfont><a href="javascript:checklength(document.vbform);">[Check message length]</a> <a href="misc.php?s=$session[sessionhash]&action=showsmilies" target="_blank">[Smilies]</a></smallfont>

I found having the javascript for the smilies slowed down thread view so this way is the fastest I believe.

|GMK|PlaTooN
05-26-2002, 11:34 PM
This is my reply box:

LanciaStratos
05-27-2002, 02:05 AM
Originally posted by Mone'
and here is a screenshot : Hey, that effect from your background image looks great. Did you do it by just creating a blank, shadowed image large enough to cover the largest text box on the site, or were there some other tricks involved?

Xelation
05-27-2002, 02:08 AM
heres mine.. anyone like it?.. oh and I didnt rip the smilies, I asked the creator if I could use them and he said yes :)

|GMK|PlaTooN
05-27-2002, 02:23 AM
Looks good! I found that the smilies made it slower when you viewed posts :/

|GMK|PlaTooN
05-27-2002, 02:27 AM
Originally posted by LanciaStratos
Hey, that effect from your background image looks great. Did you do it by just creating a blank, shadowed image large enough to cover the largest text box on the site, or were there some other tricks involved?

Actually all I did was throw the pic in flash 5 change it to a graphic and set the alpa to about 35.... :classic:

Mr. X
05-27-2002, 08:02 AM
Mone, great stuff, it works, but can you tell me how you did the backround, as in how did you get it to show up on the side and top? Do I have to create a whole backround with the drop shadows and use that, or can I do it with 1 little 3px image that will tile the drop shadow on the side and top?

Mone'
05-27-2002, 09:23 AM
Originally posted by Mr. X
Mone, great stuff, it works, but can you tell me how you did the backround, as in how did you get it to show up on the side and top? Do I have to create a whole backround with the drop shadows and use that, or can I do it with 1 little 3px image that will tile the drop shadow on the side and top?


is not that great just simple css =)
For the demo i used a full size image as you can't use just a 3pix one and tile it.

i made one up for you and i got it down to 1.2kb is size.

hope it helps

Mone'

Boofo
05-27-2002, 10:55 AM
Mone',

I added the code you mentioned for the stationary background, but now I have a blue line on the right side of the box. Is there a way to get rid of it? The URL is below so you can see what I mean.

Quick Reply Box (http://www.bearfacts2.com/forum/showthread.php?threadid=22)

Mone'
05-27-2002, 12:02 PM
Originally posted by Boofo
Mone',

I added the code you mentioned for the stationary background, but now I have a blue line on the right side of the box. Is there a way to get rid of it? The URL is below so you can see what I mean.

Quick Reply Box (http://www.bearfacts2.com/forum/showthread.php?threadid=22)


I just sign up at your board to check the problem as the quick reply box doesn't show to guest ( you can delete my account if you want after you fix the problem =) )

you have done everything right
the only problem is the image that you choose for the background of the quick reply box

http://www.bearfacts2.com/forum/images/bear_wallpaper.jpg


the image is about 400px wide and the shoutbox text field is about 404px !!!

the blue line is simply the background color of the text box =)

Simply make your image a bit wider.............

Mone'

Boofo
05-27-2002, 01:18 PM
Mone',

I did as you said and it looks better now. Is there a way to have the message start in a space or two and down a space or two so it doesn't start on the bevel now? Check it out and you'll see what I mean. And thanks for all of your help. Your account is still there so you can see it.

Mone'
05-27-2002, 01:57 PM
i see what you mean unfortunally i'm not aware of any easy way to do that at least not with css.

I can only suggest you to make bevel less dark ;)

and you could add the bevel to the title imput !

All form field can be customized in that way :)

Boofo
05-27-2002, 02:12 PM
Thanks for getting me this far, though. :) If you find a way or figure out a way to move the message text in and down, please let me know. It might be kindof cool to get it working like that. The possibilites are endless. :)

Mone'
05-27-2002, 03:48 PM
[qoute]Is there a way to have the message start in a space or two and down a space or two so it doesn't start on the bevel now?[/quote]


<textarea name="message" rows="7" cols="$textareacols" wrap="virtual" tabindex="1"></textarea>


and chang it to


<textarea name="message" rows="7" cols="$textareacols" wrap="virtual" tabindex="1">

</textarea>



Try moving the </textarea> down a couple of lines and a few spaces over and see the different result.

Now when you first click in the replybox the mouse will start a few lines down and a bit to the right ;)


Mone'

Boofo
05-27-2002, 04:05 PM
It works great! I knew you could do it! :) The only thing is you have to click in the box to get it to tab over where it needs to be. If you read the messages and just reply, the cursor is already in the box at the first starting point. Is there any way to get it to tab where it needs to be without having to click inside the box first? :)

Boofo
05-27-2002, 04:08 PM
I just found out that if you hit enter to go to the next line, it puts you at the far left side of the box again. We are almost there. :)

Dean C
05-27-2002, 06:29 PM
man some nice lookin reply boxes in here...

Mone'
05-28-2002, 01:33 AM
Boofo here is the final solution ! =)


<textarea name="message" rows="7" cols="$textareacols" wrap="virtual" tabindex="1" style="padding: 10px;"></textarea>



just change style="padding: 10px; to how many px you want to have as a margin ( top/left)


Mone'

Boofo
05-28-2002, 02:15 AM
You bees the man! I knew you'd figure it out. :) Now, last thing...:) What if I want to put a border at the bottom of the box like I did at the top and left? How would you pad the bottom of the box? (I swear this is it! Maybe...:) )

M.C.
01-28-2004, 01:50 PM
HOW can i turn ON quick reply box for guests?

MindTrix
01-28-2004, 01:59 PM
Mate this thread is nearly 2 years old now :)

M.C.
01-28-2004, 04:39 PM
damn! i was looking for any thread about it... don`t want to start new one... so, how in vB3 turn on? :)