PDA

View Full Version : <br /> code problems...


TECK
04-08-2002, 05:49 AM
i have this code:$newssql=$DB_site->query("SELECT * FROM thread
WHERE forumid='$newsforum'
ORDER BY dateline DESC LIMIT $newsposts");
while ($news=$DB_site->fetch_array($newssql)) {
$newsforumid=$news[forumid];
$newsthreadid=$news[threadid];
$newstitle=$news[title];
$newstime=vbdate($timeformat,$news[dateline]);
$newsdate=vbdate($dateformat,$news[dateline]);
$newsusername=$news[postusername];
$newsuserid=$news[postuserid];
$getnewssql=$DB_site->query_first("SELECT * FROM post
WHERE threadid='$newsthreadid'
ORDER BY postid ASC LIMIT 1");for some strange reason, when i add html code to a post, it will show some extra wierd <br> codes. example:<TABLE BORDER=3 CELLSPACING=3 CELLPADDING=3>
<br />

<br />
<TR>
<br />
<TD BGCOLOR="#1b4465"ALIGN="center" COLSPAN="3">Table</TD>
<br />
</TR>
<br />

<br />
<TR>
<br />
<TD ALIGN="center">Cell</TD>
<br />
<TD ALIGN="center">Cell</TD>
<br />
</TR>
<br />

<br />
</TABLE>let me know please where is it comming from this code and how to rectify this problem.
thanks for taking the time to read this post.

Gimp
04-08-2002, 07:21 AM
it happened to me either
some weird problem with bbcodeparse();
i fixed it like this:

$newstext=str_replace("<br />","",$newstext);

Logician
04-08-2002, 07:52 AM
just a wild guess:

it's probably (\N)s converted to <br /> tag inside bbcodeparse function.

Debugging the problem in this function can help. Or you can remove line breaks (\n) inside your HTML code

Admin
04-08-2002, 12:38 PM
Because you type the message like this:
<table>
{NEW LINE}
<tr>
...
All new lines become <br />'s (nl2br() function), so the line breaks actually show up in the HTML document.

A workaround I can think of right now is putting
<!-- HTML START -->
<!-- HTML END -->
Before and after any HTML code in your post, then run some regular expression to remove breaks in that block.

TECK
04-08-2002, 02:39 PM
thank you all for the useful info. :)

Freddie Bingham
04-08-2002, 03:12 PM
"error no page" when double clicking the quote tables.