PDA

View Full Version : help with css


Xanthine
03-26-2002, 03:23 AM
SELECT {
FONT-SIZE: 11px;
FONT-FAMILY: Verdana,Arial,Helvetica,sans-serif;
COLOR: #000000;
BORDER: 1px solid #000000;
BACKGROUND-COLOR: #CFCFCF
}

I have that for my css on the drop down boxes.. For some reason it wont add the 1 pixel outline.. why? It worked for the input fields. Why won't it work for this. Thanks for the help..

Admin
03-26-2002, 04:58 AM
I'm not sure, but I don't think you can do that with select boxes...

Xanthine
03-26-2002, 09:47 PM
Yes it is possible. Just not that way I don't think.. I want my drop down boxes to match the input field. But I don't want to edit my whole board and find all the select fields and add a class to them. :(

TECK
03-26-2002, 09:57 PM
the dropdowns are the only ones who you cannot add a solid contour. firefly is correct, there is no way around it for now.
i tried everything.. even complex java scrips.. it wont do it.. for now we have to stick with that ugly look.

regards,
nakkid.

Xanthine
03-27-2002, 03:54 AM
If I added a class to every select tag like <select class="select"....
and then I added it the the CSS Style and had like 1 pixel line background, etc. It would work. But I don't want to add a class tag to every one so I was just wondering if I added it to the overall thing what it would do.

Admin
03-27-2002, 05:27 AM
Do a search/replace then on the tepmlates, searching for "<select" and replacing that with "<select class="select"".

TECK
03-27-2002, 07:53 AM
you will still see the ugly 3D box no matter what you do, because the <option>. if you find a way, let me know.

Xanthine
03-27-2002, 09:18 PM
Nah.. It's not the box really.. Just the way the drop down looks.
This works.. It changes the way the box looks (a little) but, when the menu is dropped down is what I wanted to change, thin line and diff background. Thanks FireFly I'll try that. :p

<html>
<head>
<title>TEST</title>
<style type="text/css">
.select{

background-color: #CCCCCC;
border: 1px solid #000000;
font-family: Verdana;
font-size: 10px;
color: #000000;
}
</style>
</head>
<body>
<select class="select">
<option>
<option>boo
<option>boo
</select>
</body>
</html>

TECK
03-27-2002, 11:13 PM
ic.. now i understand.. i thought you try to make it look as a solid contour line, instead of the classic 3D look. it's impossible to do it.

Issvar
03-28-2002, 03:23 PM
Dropped down menu can be changed with:

<html>
<head>
<title>TEST</title>
<style type="text/css">
.select{
background-color: #CCCCCC;
border: 1px solid #000000;
color: #000000;
}
.option {
background-color: #00ff00;
color: #0000ff;
}
</style>
</head>
<body>
<select class="select">
<option>
<option class="option">boo
<option class="option">boo
</select>
</body>
</html>

Errors that are still in it, the top option either should not have the same class, or it will show in the not dropped down box as well. And you can't add a border in the dropped down box.