View Full Version : Does anyone Know How to...
alexwriting
03-10-2002, 03:30 AM
Hellllp.... pleeeaaase....
This is like one of the last pieces of my puzzle... if anyone has the time, would really appreciate it...
I need to write a link to a log-in form that would redirect?
Thanks,
Alex
be more specific. what are you trying to do?
alexwriting
03-10-2002, 04:28 AM
WOW,
Thanks for replying. My forums don't require registration. Sometimes, people who have registered may want to post anonymously. So, I have used a link that allows people to log out and returns them back, so they can post under any name.
But, once they are logged out, as they continue to look around, they may want to reply to a post with their username. So, I'd like to have a link that takes them to a log-in form, and then redirects them back to the post they were at.
Thanks,
Alex :) :) :)
do this:
forum/global.php
1. find the code:$templatesused.=',pagenav,pagenav_curpage,pag enav_firstlink,pagenav_lastlink,pagenav_nextlink,p agenav_pagelink,pagenav_prevlink';replace it with:$templatesused.=',pagenav,pagenav_curpage,pag enav_firstlink,pagenav_lastlink,pagenav_nextlink,p agenav_pagelink,pagenav_prevlink,forumhome_logoutc ode,forumhome_logincode';2. find the code:$header='';
$footer='';above that, add:$logincode='';
if ($bbuserinfo['userid']!=0) {
eval("\$logincode = \"".gettemplate('forumhome_logoutcode')."\";");
} else {
eval("\$logincode = \"".gettemplate('forumhome_logincode')."\";");
}forum/member.php
1. find the code: $url = str_replace("\"", "", $url);
eval("standardredirect(\"".gettemplate("redirect_login")."\",\"\$url\");");replace it with: $url = $HTTP_REFERER;
eval("standardredirect(\"".gettemplate("redirect_login")."\",\"\$url\");");you are done with the code changes. now place $logincode in your footer. when the user will login, it will be redirected to the exact same location.
that should do it.
PS. there is no need to say: "pleaseeeeeee helppppppp". people will help you here. just post your thread and be patient. some freaky guy(girl) will answer to you. ;)
regards,
nakkid.
alexwriting
03-10-2002, 07:23 AM
Dear nakkid,
Great, thanks so much. One question: how can I write a link to this now? Something like
"You are Anonymous. Click here to post with your Registered Username."
Thanks,
Alex
1. create 2 new templates called 'home_logoutcode' and 'home_logincode'.
2. in the code above, replace the 'forumhome_logoutcode' with 'home_logoutcode' and 'forumhome_logincode' with 'home_logincode'.
3. replace $logincode with $homelogincode
4. edit your template content the way you want.
btw, it doesnt make sense what you want to do. the login code is there, all you have to do is enter the username and password, when you are logged out. why do you want to add a link? when the user can enter his info right there? explain to me.
get inspired from the 'forumhome_logincode' with the code (for example) and edit it to say what ever you want.
alexwriting
03-10-2002, 08:04 AM
Dear nakkid,
You are THE MAN! I agree, it doesn't make sense, but here's the problem:
if a registered user is at a public computer, he can enter a forum without having to log-in {all my forums allow registered & unregistered to post}. So, once he's in there, if he clicks to reply, it gives him a reply form with fields, the fields say, Username: "Unregistered", and Password:, with nothing nothing for the password.
If a registered user puts in his real username & password in these fields, it kicks him out, and tells him he doesn't have access to that page.
So, if you are a registered user, and you go into a forum without logging in, it won't take you username and password at the posting form. Why? I have no clue. But, you can try. I will pm you a reg. username & password. Go into any forum, except the second one.
I really wish it would work, because then people could go in and out of being anonymous easliy. So, this was the only workaround I could think of.
Thanks, thanks,
Alex
so? all he have to do is enter the name and pass. it's working perfectly. i tried 2 ways. first i posted as anonymous and it posted fine. then i replyed to the thread and entered this time the pass you gave me. it worked perfectly also. look here:
http://www.tealit.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=196
so where is the prob?
alexwriting
03-10-2002, 08:25 AM
... Don't post anonymously first. Just go into a forum, click on a thread to reply to. Put in the reg username and password at the posting form. Please clear your cookies before you begin.
Thanks, thanks,
Alex
post again the forum url. i deleted the pm...
it's nothing wrong with your board. what browser you use? i hope that is not opera or netscrape. ;)
alexwriting
03-10-2002, 08:43 AM
<a href="http://www.tealit.com/forum/index.php" target="_blank">www.tealit.com/forum/index.php</a>
it's working perfectly.
http://www.tealit.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=196
you probably have probs because you use a crapy browser. Opera will not work with VB. and Netscape is history long time ago.
regards,
nakkid.
PS. i'm going to bed now. ;)
alexwriting
03-10-2002, 08:53 AM
Using IE, but maybe the Chinese system is affecting it. It seems to be working now! REALLY APPRECIATE IT!!!!
Thanks for your help!!!!!!
Thanks for your help!!!!!!
Thanks for your help!!!!!!
Alex
:) :) :)
mashby
03-23-2002, 02:56 PM
For what it's worth, I use Opera all the time and it works perfectly in vB. Of course your're referring to Windows platforms only, but on Linux, I use Opera and Mozilla and they both work fine with vB. I've never found vB to be browser limited at all.
Just my 2 cents.
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.