PDA

View Full Version : Search from non-vb page?


sianews
02-17-2002, 09:48 PM
How do you put a working seach box on a non vb page?

SaintDog
02-18-2002, 02:44 AM
All you basically have to do is open up your search template and cut it down to size until you get it to how you like it. I have placed a cut down version of the form that search.php uses below, I hope this helps you in some way, or at least directs you in the right way :).

If you will look on the form, you will see that the action is set to: action="search.php" - You will need to change that to reflect the URL to search.php if you plan on using this on a non-php page.


<form action="search.php" method="post">
<input type="hidden" name="s" value="$session[sessionhash]">
<input type="text" class="bginput" name="query" size="35"><br>
<input type="hidden" name="action" value="simplesearch">
<input type="submit" class="bginput" name="Submit" value="Perform Search" accesskey="s">
<input type="reset" class="bginput" name="Reset" value="Reset Fields">
</table>
</form>


Hope this helps,

SaintDog

sianews
02-18-2002, 04:41 AM
Works (which is further then I was), but it never returns matches.

BabyU
02-18-2002, 01:20 PM
I have it working in nuke -- it returns matches.

I've attached the code that I used. You'll need to take out all the extra backslashes, but it should hopefully work for you.

sianews
02-18-2002, 02:04 PM
Thanks - that worked.