PDA

View Full Version : Auto populate based on setting


Irishnotsane
12-06-2018, 01:57 PM
Hello.

I'm wondering if anyone can help me
Basically I have the username (with a link to PM them) of certain people within my forum rules.

This person gets replaced every now and then, and there are multiple references to these people throughout the forum rules.

Is there a way I can edit a box in the admincp for example.

"Current General Manager": Harry
"Current Assistant Manager": Patrick
"Current Forum Manager": Julie

Etc..

Then once I change those names, it'll automatically change the names within the forum rules (along with a hyperlink to direct them to their PM)

I'd really appriciate this help, please let me know if you need more information

z3r0
12-06-2018, 02:52 PM
You could make a new phrase for each user, something like this.

157303

And then reference the phrase anywhere you want your text to show

{vb:rawphrase Current_General_Manager}

Alan_SP
12-06-2018, 06:04 PM
Thinking on this and using idea z3r0, it can be made into BBcode (if what's needed is used in places where BBcode works).

After that, you just reference (use) that BBcode.

When you need to change things, edit BBcode in ACP.

Irishnotsane
12-07-2018, 12:46 PM
You could make a new phrase for each user, something like this.

157303

And then reference the phrase anywhere you want your text to show

{vb:rawphrase Current_General_Manager}

This doesn't seem to work

It simply comes up with "{vb:rawphrase Current_General_Manager}" in the Forum Rules?
Any advice?

Basically the Forum Rules are sections of the FAQ's that I've added

z3r0
12-07-2018, 01:43 PM
I've just tested and this works - $vbphrase[Current_General_Manager]