View Full Version : Can I install Memcached with PHP 7.1?
Mattwhf
01-05-2017, 02:04 AM
I want to use php7.1, memcached and mariadb for my hosting forum (http://forumweb.hosting/) but I failed to install memcached on php7.0 around 2 months ago. Recent weeks I heard about PHP7.1 has been released and heard that it supported memcached. !?!?
I want to try again with vB 4.2.5 which supports PHP 7, it will help my vB forum load faster.
My question is, can I install Memcached with PHP 7.1? Did any one try this? and succeeded?
Thanks in advance.
I believe it does not support PHP 7 yet. Just configure PHP OPCache properly and you don't even need memcached.
Mattwhf
01-05-2017, 06:23 AM
I believe it does not support PHP 7 yet. Just configure PHP OPCache properly and you don't even need memcached.
It's not a good news when reading this but I will try to setup a VPS server and test this next weeks or months.
I saw memcached helped our forum load faster (beside Cloudflare) and I could not remove this option though.
I had PHP OPCache installed on the server but to be honest it can not compare with memcached.
It's not a good news when reading this but I will try to setup a VPS server and test this next weeks or months.
I saw memcached helped our forum load faster (beside Cloudflare) and I could not remove this option though.
I had PHP OPCache installed on the server but to be honest it can not compare with memcached.
I'd say you don't really need memcached anymore since the performance gain would be minimal due to PHP 7 having tons of optimizations. It's not only faster, it also does not consume a massive amount of memory anymore.
Paul M
01-05-2017, 01:56 PM
I want to use php7.1, memcached and mariadb for my hosting forum (http://forumweb.hosting/) but I failed to install memcached on php7.0 around 2 months ago. Recent weeks I heard about PHP7.1 has been released and heard that it supported memcached. !?!?
I want to try again with vB 4.2.5 which supports PHP 7, it will help my vB forum load faster.
My question is, can I install Memcached with PHP 7.1? Did any one try this? and succeeded?
Thanks in advance.
vBulletin supports Memcache, not Memcached, there are Memcache modules available for PHP 7.1
You are better off just using APCu (for the datastore) & OPCache for php caching.
My test server runs php 7.1 like this.
Mattwhf
01-08-2017, 02:43 AM
I'd say you don't really need memcached anymore since the performance gain would be minimal due to PHP 7 having tons of optimizations. It's not only faster, it also does not consume a massive amount of memory anymore.
Thanks Dave, I will keep this advice.
vBulletin supports Memcache, not Memcached, there are Memcache modules available for PHP 7.1
Not sure memache or memcached but I need to run these codes in config.php file
and that requires memcache
$config['Datastore']['class'] = 'vB_Datastore_Memcached';
$i = 0;
// First Server
$i++;
$config['Misc']['memcacheserver'][$i] = '127.0.0.1';
$config['Misc']['memcacheport'][$i] = 11211;
$config['Misc']['memcachepersistent'][$i] = true;
$config['Misc']['memcacheweight'][$i] = 1;
$config['Misc']['memcachetimeout'][$i] = 1;
$config['Misc']['memcacheretry_interval'][$i] = 15;
You are better off just using APCu (for the datastore) & OPCache for php caching.
My test server runs php 7.1 like this.
I installed OPcache but not sure APCu is which you are mentioning to..where can I read tutorisl on how to install it or integrate it with vB 4.
My vB4 is working as a charm and it would be more greater if I run it with php7 and mariadb.
Thank you!
Paul M
01-08-2017, 04:38 PM
Not sure memache or memcached but I need to run these codes in config.php file and that requires memcache
As I said, vB supports Memcache.
The class is badly named as Memcached, I have no idea why, but that's fixed in 4.2.5.
As to APCu, google it ;)
Code Geass
01-17-2017, 09:03 PM
As I said, vB supports Memcache.
The class is badly named as Memcached, I have no idea why, but that's fixed in 4.2.5.
As to APCu, google it ;)
Hello,
Is their any specific config to edit in APCu to increase performance and compatibility with vBulletin ?
Also another question is 4.2.5 compatible with PHP 7.1 ?
Thanks
Paul M
01-18-2017, 10:43 AM
Is their any specific config to edit in APCu to increase performance and compatibility with vBulletin ?
Just like with any other datastore cache, you should set it up initially, and then monitor the memory it uses, regardless of what application is using it.
My test site has the default single 32M segment and that seems to be far more than it needs, so it runs great.
Also another question is 4.2.5 compatible with PHP 7.1 ?
Aside from any issues not yet encounted, yes.
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.