View Full Version : Locked out of CP
Dantro
10-05-2016, 05:46 AM
Hi all, I've managed to get myself locked out of my admin CP after installing a modification. Is there anyway i can get back in?
MarkFL
10-05-2016, 06:04 AM
Try adding the line:
define('DISABLE_HOOKS', true);
to the top of the file "/includes/config.php" on your server and this will disable your plugins, and perhaps this will allow you back in. Once you fix the issue, then comment out the line you added as follows:
//define('DISABLE_HOOKS', true);
This way the line of code will be there if you need it in the future. :D
Dantro
10-05-2016, 06:19 AM
Thanks Mark, excuse my ignorance but where would I find that file?
MarkFL
10-05-2016, 06:29 AM
Go to your forum's root directory, and look for the directory "includes" and in that directory you should find the file "config.php". Download that file to your hard drive, and use an editor such as Notepad++ to add the line of code I posted to the top of the file, just below the opening PHP tag, so that the beginning to the file looks like:
<?php
define('DISABLE_HOOKS', true);
Once you are finished making the edit, then rename the existing file "config.php" on your server to "config_original.php" so in case you messed up editing the file, you rename this back to "config.php" to restore things back to the starting point.
Next, upload the edited file to your server (in the "includes" folder), and you should then be able to get into your AdminCP to fix whatever issue there is. Once done, comment out the line you added to "config.php" and upload the file again to your server. :)
Dantro
10-05-2016, 06:51 AM
Ok thanks Mark, very easy to understand but unfortunately it wont let me rename or upload :mad:
MarkFL
10-05-2016, 07:19 AM
What FTP program are you using? I use FileZilla. You should see permissions of 0755 on the folder "inlcudes" and 0644 on the file "config.php".
Dantro
10-05-2016, 07:22 AM
What FTP program are you using? I use FileZilla. You should see permissions of 0755 on the folder "inlcudes" and 0644 on the file "config.php".
Ah ok, that could be why as i'm trying to do it direct in the server. I'm new to all this and having to learn as I go along so I apologise for my lack of understanding :D
Dantro
10-08-2016, 09:06 AM
I've now got access through filezilla, permissions are as you say but still wont let me change name or upload.
--------------- Added 1475944850 at 1475944850 ---------------
Anyone else assist with this?
Lynne
10-08-2016, 02:59 PM
If you are unable to change file names of files on your server, or upload files to your server, then you really need to talk to your host about the problem so they may fix it.
Dantro
10-08-2016, 03:03 PM
This is where the issue is Lynne, I am unable to too due to a business disagreement. Trying to sort this so I can transfer all info over to another server. Just to point out I can add files and rename them normally just not the config one for some reason. This has all happened since installing VBSocial.
--------------- Added 1475947264 at 1475947264 ---------------
The just-t4s.co.uk page isn?t working
just-t4s.co.uk is currently unable to handle this request.
HTTP ERROR 500
This is what I'm getting.
Lynne
10-08-2016, 05:31 PM
So, you may edit and rename any other file but you are unable to edit or rename the config.php file? Do you have cPanel access? Can you edit/rename the file using the File Manager in that?
Dantro
10-27-2016, 11:54 PM
Thanks MarkFL, finally got it to work.
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.