View Full Version : Miscellaneous Hacks - Ranks Without Usergroups
MarkFL
01-28-2016, 10:00 PM
Overview
This product allows you to define ranks that can be assigned to individual users without having to create usergroups with which to associate them. These ranks will then display beneath ranks defined in the "User rank Manager" in postbits and profile pages. All of the settings are self-explanatory.
In postbit:
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/attachment.php?attachmentid=154093&stc=1&d=1454095972
In profile:
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/attachment.php?attachmentid=154092&stc=1&d=1454095972
Updates:
Version 1.1:
Fixed problem arising on some sites where only last user shows rank.
Version 1.2:
Removed case sensitivity of usernames.
Compatibility:
Tested and working on VB 4.2.x and should work on all 4.x versions of vBulletin.
Backup/Warning:
This product does not alter your database, however it is always good practice to make regular backups and you should make a backup before installing ANY new mod.
As always, products are USE AT YOUR OWN RISK. I will provide support and do my best to help but no absolute guarantee is offered.
To Install:
Download and extract the attached .zip file.
Follow AdminCP -> Plugins & Products -> Manage Products -> Add/Import Product.
Click on "Choose File" and browse to the product .xml file that was packaged in the .zip file.
Click "Import."
You MUST enable the product in the settings before it will function.
Configure the remaining settings to your liking. Each setting has a detailed explanation of its use.
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/attachment.php?attachmentid=154094&stc=1&d=1454095972
Support for this product can be found here:
MHB - Ranks Without Usergroups (http://mathhelpboards.com/vbulletin-products-61/ranks-without-usergroups-21853.html)
TAZ - Ranks Without Usergroups (https://theadminzone.com/threads/ranks-without-usergroups.145138/)
Xarwin
02-17-2016, 08:58 PM
Looks nice!
Is there a way to make users select their own ranks?
That would make the plugin even more useful to me :-).
MarkFL
02-17-2016, 10:14 PM
Looks nice!
Is there a way to make users select their own ranks?
That would make the plugin even more useful to me :-).
No, this product, as it stands, allows you as an admin to define the HTML/CSS for ranks and then apply them to users. The way I see it, such a rank is earned though contributions to the site, rather than simply chosen by users.
For example, one of our global moderators puts in a great deal of time helping me beta test mods on our dev site, and so I gave her a small icon to denote her role as a beta tester. It was something I felt she deserved
However, I realize not everyone will have the same use for any particular mod, and so when I get time (currently working on a bear of a mod), I will see if I can do something useful with your suggestion. :)
BadgerDog
02-18-2016, 11:43 AM
Downloaded and installed with thanks...
Immediately noticed there is no CSS code as shown in the pic, to use as a template for those of us who aren't experienced as coders?
Is it supposed to be there?
Regards,
Doug
MarkFL
02-18-2016, 02:12 PM
Downloaded and installed with thanks...
Immediately noticed there is no CSS code as shown in the pic, to use as a template for those of us who aren't experienced as coders?
Is it supposed to be there?
Regards,
Doug
Hey Doug,
You have to add your own CSS when you define your ranks badges. The CSS isn't really necessary unless you are going to define more than one badge that uses the same CSS...this lets you be more efficient.
The screenshot just shows an example of CSS classes being defined.
BadgerDog
02-19-2016, 08:39 AM
Ok, tried it and still nothing appears using vBullletin 4.1.3PL8 as a rank for the user named Badger. (see attached)
Most likely mod is not compatible with 4.1 series... just a guess?
Regards,
Doug
BadgerDog
02-22-2016, 08:43 AM
Mark...
In order to save my old brain a lot of time and possible mistakes, could you copy the text versions of the code you show in your graphic pic of your mod into a post here?
Thanks .. appreciate it..
Regards,
Doug
MarkFL
02-23-2016, 05:43 PM
Mark...
In order to save my old brain a lot of time and possible mistakes, could you copy the text versions of the code you show in your graphic pic of your mod into a post here?
Thanks .. appreciate it..
Regards,
Doug
The CSS you see in the screenshot is just what I used for the screenshots. It is not meant to be a part of the product itself. I just used it so the screenshots would be pretty. It is nearly identical to the HTML/CSS badges I designed for the site I help admin, and I would rather not make them available to the public, as I want them to be somewhat unique to that site.
It is up to you to design your own badges to fit your site...the same knowledge required to use vBulletin's intrinsic "Ranks Manager" is also required for this product. This product just allows you to assign such badges to individual users without having to create usergroups for those users.
Stratis
02-24-2016, 09:26 AM
Thanks Mark very nice mod.
A little extra help for code i made in testing condition for my self.
Mark has a good point there for his code and we must respect this.
154244
CSS Classes/Selectors
.badge_rank {
position: relative;
top: 0px;
left: 0px;
width: 178px;
height: 20px;
vertical-align: middle;
border: solid 2px;
color: #F4FFFF;
border-color: #5D5B4E;
border-radius: 5px;
font-family: Georgia;
font-weight: 600;
font-size: 12pt;
text-align: center;
background-color: transparent;
box-shadow: 4px 4px 5px #8E7B7B;
-moz-border-radius: 5px;
-webkit-border-radius: 5px;
background: -moz-linear-gradient(top, #D42121 10%, #EF5656 100%);
background: -webkit-gradient(linear, left top, left bottom, color-stop(10%,#D42121), color-stop(100%,#EF5656));
background: -webkit-linear-gradient(top, #D42121 10%,#EF5656 100%);
background: -o-linear-gradient(top, #D42121 10%,#EF5656 100%);
background: linear-gradient(to bottom, #D42121 10%,#EF5656 100%);
}
Ranks Definitions
Test1|<div class="badge_rank">Nice Rank</div>
Assign Ranks To Users
Stratis|Test1
Don't forget to change Stratis with your name users
You can play around adding or changing with your needs. :)
BadgerDog
02-24-2016, 09:46 AM
Thank you Stratis .. :)
This makes the mod very useful to non coders... appreciate it..
How would I make the background a nice shade of blue instead of red?
Regards,
Doug
Edit: As soon as more then 1 username is added to the list, the rank stops showing up in forums. If you just use a single username, it works for that user. (see attached)
Stratis
02-24-2016, 11:32 AM
Thank you Stratis .. :)
This makes the mod very useful to non coders... appreciate it..
How would I make the background a nice shade of blue instead of red?
Regards,
Doug
Edit: As soon as more then 1 username is added to the list, the rank stops showing up in forums. If you just use a single username, it works for that user. (see attached)
Where you see this symbol # in front, like this #D42121 are all colors, change as you like.
*Confirmed that when include a second user for me it shows the second user, assume that if I put 3 user it will show the third only.
*And something else, is there a way to have an option to hide for visitors or to show which usergroup we want.
Thanks
EDIT: In profile text is under, maybe this is my fault?
154247
Same time in postbit is ok.
MarkFL
02-24-2016, 12:10 PM
I get neither issue...I can assign as many users the same badge as I wish and they look the same in postbits as in profiles.
BadgerDog
02-24-2016, 12:13 PM
*Confirmed that when include a second user for me it shows the second user, assume that if I put 3 user it will show the third only.
Yes, it only shows one user, I think whomever is the username in the last position. Of course, that's why it works for only 1 user, because they're in the last position.
Regards,
Doug
Stratis
02-24-2016, 01:16 PM
I get neither issue...I can assign as many users the same badge.
Ok Mark thanks for your information, I will try to play with plugin code combining with other plugin (Restrict Posting By Forum) I had the same issue (with more than one user)
and in update you fixed it.
MarkFL
02-24-2016, 01:19 PM
Updates - Version 1.1:
Fixed problem arising on some sites where only last user shows rank.
Stratis
02-24-2016, 01:31 PM
Thanks, thanks, Now users are ok.
The issue with the profile was from my code css interfere.
MarkFL
02-24-2016, 01:39 PM
Sometimes when you explode text into an array, you get unexpected spaces in the resulting array elements, so I had to trim that off. :)
Stratis
02-24-2016, 01:47 PM
Yes I have seen this difference if (trim($rank) :)
I play know with css, see some time with usergroups.
MarkFL
02-24-2016, 01:59 PM
Yes I have seen this difference if (trim($rank) :)
Thank you for confirming the update resolved the issue too. :up:
BadgerDog
02-24-2016, 02:45 PM
Thanks, thanks, Now users are ok.
The issue with the profile was from my code css interfere.
I also noticed that unless you put in a user's name exactly, including case sensitivity, the rank doesn't appear.
Perhaps in a future version, accept any "case" status, as vBulletin does with its own logins.
I couldn't figure out why it worked for username "Badger" and not username "badger" ...
Regards,
Doug
MarkFL
02-24-2016, 03:04 PM
Update - Version 1.2:
Removed case sensitivity of usernames.
BadgerDog
02-24-2016, 08:26 PM
Update - Version 1.2:
Removed case sensitivity of usernames.
Thank you !! :up:
Now, I'm still trying to master color changes...
Quite a learning process for a 68 year old veteran, but interesting..
Regards,
Doug
Xarwin
02-24-2016, 08:48 PM
No, this product, as it stands, allows you as an admin to define the HTML/CSS for ranks and then apply them to users. The way I see it, such a rank is earned though contributions to the site, rather than simply chosen by users.
For example, one of our global moderators puts in a great deal of time helping me beta test mods on our dev site, and so I gave her a small icon to denote her role as a beta tester. It was something I felt she deserved
However, I realize not everyone will have the same use for any particular mod, and so when I get time (currently working on a bear of a mod), I will see if I can do something useful with your suggestion. :)
Ah that's cool, thanks for the response :-).
Elixar
02-27-2016, 04:48 AM
Hey Mark, anyway to have a copy of the CSS for the rank shown in the image? I remember you posting it on my forum somewhere but can't find it.
ProfC
04-11-2016, 10:10 AM
This is something that I really like the look of, and will explore it once our new userbars are in place (thanks again for all the help you've provided with our custom display!)
Elixar
06-20-2016, 12:15 PM
Can I use this to just apply text ranks?
MarkFL
06-20-2016, 01:07 PM
Can I use this to just apply text ranks?
Yes, you can use any valid HTML. :)
there might be a bug either in the product or in the css provided in post #9
when stacked with an image rank there is an issue in the profile page, the container will overlap the image rank and the text will be under the container
MarkFL
09-14-2016, 11:53 PM
there might be a bug either in the product or in the css provided in post #9
when stacked with an image rank there is an issue in the profile page, the container will overlap the image rank and the text will be under the container
I would guess it to be a CSS issue because I don't have anything like that happening on my dev site.
could you kindly provide your own css code?
will test if issue is specific to the css
MarkFL
09-15-2016, 12:53 AM
could you kindly provide your own css code?
will test if issue is specific to the css
Okay, in the "CSS Classes/Selectors" field, enter:
.rank_wrapper_EP {
position: relative;
top: 0px;
left: 0px;
width: 180px;
height: 24px;
margin: 2px 0px;
padding: 1px;
border-radius: 6px;
background-color: #FFFFFF;
font-family: Tahoma, Verdana, Geneva, sans-serif;
font-weight: bold;
font-size: 11px;
text-align: center;
line-height: 1.8em;
white-space: nowrap;
box-shadow: inset 0 -3px 3px 1px rgba(192,192,192,0.5), inset 0 3px 3px 1px rgba(64,64,64,0.5);
}
.rank_badge_EP {
position: relative;
top: 1px;
left: 1px;
width: 178px;
height: 22px;
display: table-cell;
-moz-border-radius: 6px;
-webkit-border-radius: 6px;
border-radius: 6px;
}
.badge_siteowner_EP {
background: #0080ff; /* Old browsers */
background: -moz-linear-gradient(top, #0080ff 0%, #0050a0 75%, #004080 100%); /* FF3.6-15 */
background: -webkit-gradient(linear, left top, left bottom, color-stop(0%,#0080ff), color-stop(75%,#0050a0), color-stop(100%,#004080)); /* Chrome4-9,Safari4-5 */
background: -webkit-linear-gradient(top, #0080ff 0%,#0050a0 75%,#004080 100%); /* Chrome10-25,Safari5.1-6 */
background: -o-linear-gradient(top, #0080ff 0%,#0050a0 75%,#004080 100%); /* Opera 11.10-11.50 */
background: -ms-linear-gradient(top, #0080ff 0%,#0050a0 75%,#004080 100%); /* IE10 preview */
background: linear-gradient(to bottom, #0080ff 0%,#0050a0 75%,#004080 100%); /* W3C, IE10+, FF16+, Chrome26+, Opera12+, Safari7+ */
filter: progid:DXImageTransform.Microsoft.gradient( startColorstr='#0080ff', endColorstr='#004080',GradientType=0 ); /* IE6-9 */
color: #FFFFFF;
}
And in the "Ranks Definitions" field enter:
test_badge|<div class="rank_wrapper_EP"><div class="rank_badge_EP badge_siteowner_EP">Test Badge</div></div>
And then in the "Assign Ranks To Users" field, choose a user to test this on, and enter:
username|test_badge
where "username" is replaced by the username of the user on whom you are testing this. :)
Thank you, I'm still getting a specific error in profile page when user has an image rank as well
Like the other css, it is fine in postbit but bugged in profile page :-(
MarkFL
09-15-2016, 01:44 AM
Can you post a link to that profile so I can see what's up within the DOM?
if you say you tested and you have no such issue, well....
it's odd though as someone reported a similar issue in post #11
I would like to stress the bug occurred in profile page only for me, not in postbit, and only with image ranks
MarkFL
09-24-2016, 05:11 PM
Without a link to that profile, I can't really say what the issue might be. :(
friendlymela
12-19-2016, 04:04 AM
Nice Mod..
Sorry but for privacy reason I can't post link to profile.
Try to fix the product in your test site.
Use an image rank to reproduce the bug in profile page.
MarkFL
04-26-2017, 02:28 PM
Sorry but for privacy reason I can't post link to profile.
Try to fix the product in your test site.
Use an image rank to reproduce the bug in profile page.
It works without issue on every site on which I have installed it.
Stratis
04-26-2017, 03:07 PM
if you say you tested and you have no such issue, well....
it's odd though as someone reported a similar issue in post #11
I would like to stress the bug occurred in profile page only for me, not in postbit, and only with image ranks
That's mine, but I do not see that we have (had) the same issue.
Mine was order issue
Sorry but for privacy reason I can't post link to profile.
Try to fix the product in your test site.
Use an image rank to reproduce the bug in profile page.
If you have same problem, see this,
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=319659
If something else only with css, ok than ignore it.
Hope at least you test it in your default skin to see if you see issue there to :)
^I have same issue as post#11
the text and container are not aligned
it happens when you have an image rank, I don't remember if option stack is set to yes or no
mark do you use an image rank or not? did you test both stack = yes & no?
MarkFL
04-28-2017, 12:11 AM
^I have same issue as post#11
the text and container are not aligned
it happens when you have an image rank, I don't remember if option stack is set to yes or no
mark do you use an image rank or not? did you test both stack = yes & no?
Here is a screenshot from my local dev site on a user profile where I'm using traditional vBulletin ranks, and then two ranks added via this product, the top is composed of HTML and the bottom is an image:
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/attachment.php?attachmentid=156340&stc=1&d=1493345532
not what I get
right postbit, left user profile
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.