PDA

View Full Version : Mini Mods - Rotating Banners


dxt-cobra
01-23-2016, 10:00 PM
Here is a way to add multiple banners to your site with an html module.

first create a banners.html file on your pc, and add this code.
Be sure to set your images in the adImages = new Array ( image links here ) and also the image within the body to point to your image locations.

You can also change the speed in the setTimeout( 2 * 5000 ).
//setTimeout(function, milliseconds);

My banner sizes are normally 900 x 100, this size works well for my site.


<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN">
<html>
<head>

<title>Rotating Banners</title>

<script language="Javascript" type="text/javascript">

adImages = new Array("images/pb.png", "images/wf.png" )

thisAd = 0
imgCt = adImages.length

function rotate(){
if( document.images ){
thisAd++
if( thisAd == imgCt ){
thisAd = 0
}
document.adBanner.src=adImages[thisAd]
setTimeout("rotate()", 2 * 5000)
}
}
</script>
</head>

<body onload="rotate()">

<center><img src="images/wf.png" name="adBanner" alt="Ad Banner" /></center>

</body>
</html>



when your done, upload it to your forum directory.

then add a html module were you want it and add this line here.


<iframe src="http://www.YOURSITE.com/forums/banners.html" width='99%' height='120'></iframe>


Be sure to edit the link and put your site domain. and save it.
thats it all done, your banners should display rotate.

Alan_SP
01-25-2016, 05:56 AM
This can work with all vBulletin versions, or any software actually.

dxt-cobra
01-25-2016, 07:22 AM
yea other than the widget to place the banners with an iframe. I thought about creating a banner widget with install.xml to make this even easier for users to use.

Im still confused as why vb5 has an ad widget that lets you make more than one, but they do not rotate like this. I don't even know if the second banner ever shows. I messed with it some but didn't see any results like i wanted.

X-or
04-04-2016, 05:12 PM
Thank you for sharing this.

Do you know how to make the transition a bit smoother? Because it's kind of brutal for the eye.

Dilldogs
08-10-2019, 01:08 PM
Might be a stupid question but I want to put this under the navbar what template do I place this in?

the VB4 rotating banner addon it was placed in the forumhome template but with VB5.4 there is no forumhome template.

Dave
08-10-2019, 02:50 PM
Might be a stupid question but I want to put this under the navbar what template do I place this in?

the VB4 rotating banner addon it was placed in the forumhome template but with VB5.4 there is no forumhome template.

On the homepage you click on the "Edit Page" button and then insert a new HTML module in the area where you want it to be displayed.