PDA

View Full Version : Is there a way to remove the sign-up field and change the registration link?


xMikeV2
07-18-2015, 05:03 PM
hi, I have been searching for a mod that removes the sign-up (for new regs) field and a way to change the link so it can only be shared by me. I saw someone can do this on a wordpress page, so I was wondering if thats possible for us vB users too. I am using 4,2,3 :)

CAG CheechDogg
07-18-2015, 05:15 PM
Admin CP -> vBulletin Options -> User Registration Options -> Allow New User Registrations -> No

xMikeV2
07-18-2015, 05:22 PM
Admin CP -> vBulletin Options -> User Registration Options -> Allow New User Registrations -> No

This doesn't hide the "sign-up" button. I want it be be hidden and only people that have the register link can sign up.

Skyrider
07-18-2015, 05:53 PM
That would require a template edit.

Template: header

Find:

<vb:if condition="$show['registerbutton']">
<li><a href="register.php{vb:raw session.sessionurl_q}" rel="nofollow">{vb:rawphrase register}</a></li>
</vb:if>

Change it to:

<!-- <vb:if condition="$show['registerbutton']">
<li><a href="register.php{vb:raw session.sessionurl_q}" rel="nofollow">{vb:rawphrase register}</a></li>
</vb:if> -->

The <!-- and --> around the code makes it so that the code will be ignored. I wouldn't suggest in removing it, just in case you might wish to re-add it later on. If that is the case in the future, just remove the <!-- in the beginning and --> at the end.

MarkFL
07-18-2015, 06:20 PM
To prevent people from calling the "register.php" script manually, add the following code at the top of that file:

if (!$_SERVER['HTTP_REFERER'])
{
exit;
}

Skyrider
07-19-2015, 05:49 AM
You can also using something like this:

- https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=263286
- https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=297834

First one is a passcode that is required to make an account, and the second is to rename the registration URL so people can't easily figure out the registration URL, but without a passcode that would be useless.

xMikeV2
07-19-2015, 02:21 PM
Thank you guys, works like that :)

I'd like to use the chance to ask another thing to avoid opening another thread:

Is it possible to have different pictures for each thread ? I mean that status icon thing. Like change it for each thread or category. If so, please let me know how (probably somewhere in the templates again)