PDA

View Full Version : Missing Thread Full Path Navigation (4.2.2)


postmottak
05-04-2015, 05:55 AM
After installing a new theme, I?ve lost full path to thread when viewing a thread. Found this very usefull in order to go one step back to parent forum. Now my users have to click on main logo to get back to main forumpage. In this vBulletin.org page, it shows path with yellow folder and urls as easy back-navigation.

Have browsed settings without any obvious fix.

Am running 4.2.2 patch 4
Theme: Primus (http://themeforest.net/item/primus-a-theme-for-vbulletin-42-suite/3321272)



Anyone?

cellarius
05-04-2015, 07:08 AM
If it works with the default style, it's obviously an issue with your newly installed style. You need to ask where you got it. Since it's a paid style, you should get support at their place.

postmottak
05-04-2015, 08:28 AM
I know, assumed the Wizards on this site had an imediate solution.

postmottak
05-05-2015, 02:29 PM
Nobody with any hint/tip? Have asked the creator company, but no answer to date. Have a feeling it is an easy fix for this in the coding.

MarkFL
05-05-2015, 02:33 PM
In your "navbar" template, you should find a block of code resembling:

<div id="breadcrumb" class="breadcrumb">
<ul class="floatcontainer">
<li class="navbithome"><a href="index.php{vb:raw session.sessionurl_q}" accesskey="1"><img src="{vb:stylevar imgdir_misc}/navbit-home.png" alt="{vb:rawphrase home}" /></a></li>
{vb:raw navbits.breadcrumb}
{vb:raw navbits.lastelement}
</ul>
<hr />
</div>

What is in your template?

postmottak
05-05-2015, 03:14 PM
Thanks for quick reply, MarkFL :)

Got following:

<div id="breadcrumb" class="breadcrumb">
<ul class="floatcontainer">
<li class="navbithome"><a href="index.php{vb:raw session.sessionurl_q}" accesskey="1"><img src="{vb:stylevar imgdir_misc}/navbit-home.png" alt="{vb:rawphrase home}" /></a></li>
{vb:raw navbits.breadcrumb}
{vb:raw navbits.lastelement}
</ul>
<hr />
</div>

MarkFL
05-05-2015, 03:22 PM
Just to be certain, that's from the "navbar" template of the newly installed style that doesn't display the breadcrumbs correctly?

postmottak
05-05-2015, 03:59 PM
Correct: http://milforum.net

One of many threads - on top you?ll only see the topic title:

http://milforum.net/ledige-stillinger/64113-forsvaret-ledige-stillinger.html#post1183211

MarkFL
05-05-2015, 04:29 PM
Try changing the opening div tag to:

<div id="breadcrumb" class="breadcrumb" style="z-index: 100; position: relative; top: 175px;">

This will give you:

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/attachment.php?attachmentid=152430&stc=1&d=1430850540

postmottak
05-05-2015, 04:48 PM
Thanks! Works - BUT - something changed on the forum index-page. Seems like the icon path is at same place as the first forum listing: "1/8...." etc. Any clue how to either not show on first page, or have the forum-listing move down one notch?

MarkFL
05-05-2015, 05:03 PM
To keep the breadcrumb from displaying on the home page, wrap the entire div element with:

<vb:if condition="THIS_SCRIPT !== 'index'">...</vb:if>

It should look like:

<vb:if condition="THIS_SCRIPT !== 'index'">
<div id="breadcrumb" class="breadcrumb" style="z-index: 100; position: relative; top: 175px;">
<ul class="floatcontainer">
<li class="navbithome"><a href="index.php{vb:raw session.sessionurl_q}" accesskey="1"><img src="{vb:stylevar imgdir_misc}/navbit-home.png" alt="{vb:rawphrase home}" /></a></li>
{vb:raw navbits.breadcrumb}
{vb:raw navbits.lastelement}
</ul>
<hr />
</div>
</vb:if>

postmottak
05-05-2015, 05:10 PM
Hmm cannot find that HTML-code you first stated in the "search in templates". Closest I found was this "forumdisplay" - might be same function?

<li id="forum{vb:raw forum.forumid}" class="forumbit_post {vb:raw forum.statusicon} L1">
<vb:if condition="THIS_SCRIPT != 'forumdisplay'">
<div class="forumhead L1">
<h2>
<span class="forumtitle">&nbsp;</span>
<span class="forumthreadpost">&nbsp;</span>
<span class="forumlastpost">{vb:rawphrase last_post}</span>
</h2>
</div>
</vb:if>


Also noted when posting new thread, the spacing got a bit out of hand.

--------------- Added 1430853601 at 1430853601 ---------------

Filename: forumhome_forumbit_level1_post

MarkFL
05-05-2015, 05:21 PM
What I meant was for you to add the vb conditional around the breadcrumb div element.

It seems though that my first solution was not well-thought out though. The problem is that the breadcrumb in its original location is hidden. So, we need to unhide it, but let it remain where it's supposed to be.

Try this...remove the edits you made at my request to your "navbar" template and add to your "additional.css" template the following selectors:

.breadcrumb {
position: relative !important;
}

.breadcrumb li a {
color: #CCCCCC !important;
}

.breadcrumb li a:hover {
color: #FFFFFF !important;
}

.breadcrumb li a img {
background: #FFFFFF !important;
}


Does this work?

postmottak
05-05-2015, 05:25 PM
Thanks - will check!

MarkFL
05-05-2015, 05:29 PM
Thanks - will check!

I added some selectors after originally posting...I just want to be sure you get them all.

And if this doesn't work, please let me know because I want to get this right. :D

postmottak
05-05-2015, 05:35 PM
Not an ace in this, but searching my files for additional.css, I found several files. Just add your code at the end of all of them?

(See attached).

MarkFL
05-05-2015, 05:43 PM
It appears that you have removed the breadcrumb element altogether...when I said to remove the edits I initially requested, I meant for you to restore the breadcrumb element in the "navbar" template to:

<div id="breadcrumb" class="breadcrumb">
<ul class="floatcontainer">
<li class="navbithome"><a href="index.php{vb:raw session.sessionurl_q}" accesskey="1"><img src="{vb:stylevar imgdir_misc}/navbit-home.png" alt="{vb:rawphrase home}" /></a></li>
{vb:raw navbits.breadcrumb}
{vb:raw navbits.lastelement}
</ul>
<hr />
</div>

Now, you should only add the selectors I posted to the "additional.css" template for the "Primus Slate" style . Edit the template using your AdminCP.

If you would like, you can PM to me the credentials for an admin account, and I can make these changes for you. :D

postmottak
05-05-2015, 06:29 PM
Thanks, man. Really appreciated your help both in this thread and off-line. Now the navigation for my users are back to normal :)