Log in

View Full Version : Can someone help me with 'Quick Reply' project problem?


shibby2
04-09-2015, 04:42 PM
Hey everyone, I've got an idea to make a simpler, bare-bones quick reply feature. Not that the other one is hard, but my idea is to make it really basic looking, kind of like how you reply to a Facebook post. Basically just an empty field with the words "write a comment" inside, with a 'Post Quick Reply' and 'Go Advanced' buttons. No other buttons/features.

I've managed to get it 'cosmetically' looking the way I want for the most part, but now it doesn't work. I must have removed something by accident. When you type in the field and hit reply, it gives an "Invalid Action Specified" message. It does the same when you click the "Go Advanced" button.

Any idea what it wrong? Here are my SHOWTHREAD and showthread_quickreply templates:

SHOWTHREAD:


<!-- scripts for quick reply and quick edit -->
$vBeditTemplate[clientscript]
<if condition="$show['quickedit']">
<script type="text/javascript" src="clientscript/vbulletin_quick_edit.js?v=$vboptions[simpleversion]"></script>
<script type="text/javascript">
<!--
vB_AJAX_QuickEdit_Init('posts');
//-->
</script>
</if>
<!-- / scripts for quick reply and quick edit -->

<if condition="$show['quickreply']">
<!-- quick reply -->

<script type="text/javascript" src="clientscript/vbulletin_quick_reply.js?v=$vboptions[simpleversion]"></script>
<form action="newreply.php?do=postreply&amp;t=$threadid" method="post" name="vbform" onsubmit="return qr_prepare_submit(this, $vboptions[postminchars]);" id="qrform">
<table border="0" width="100%" align="center">



<tbody id="qr_error_tbody" style="display:none">
<tr>
<td class="thead">$vbphrase[errors_occured_when_submitted]</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td class="alt1" id="qr_error_td"></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td class="tfoot" align="center"><span class="smallfont"><a href="#" onclick="return qr_hide_errors()">$vbphrase[okay]</a></span></td>
</tr>
</tbody>
<tbody id="collapseobj_quickreply" style="$vbcollapse[collapseobj_quickreply]">
<tr>
<td align="center">

<div align="$stylevar[left]" style="max-width:$stylevar[formwidth]; width:auto !important; width:$stylevar[formwidth]">

<div id="$editorid" class="vBulletin_editor">
$messagearea</div>










</div>
</div>

<div style= "margin-top:$stylevar[cellpadding]px">
<input type="hidden" name="fromquickreply" value="1" />
<input type="hidden" name="s" value="$session[sessionhash]" />
<input type="hidden" name="securitytoken" value="$bbuserinfo[securitytoken]" />
<input type="hidden" name="do" value="postreply" />
<input type="hidden" name="t" value="$threadid" id="qr_threadid" />
<input type="hidden" name="p" value="$qrpostid" id="qr_postid" />
<input type="hidden" name="specifiedpost" value="0" id="qr_specifiedpost" />
<input type="hidden" name="parseurl" value="1" />
<input type="hidden" name="loggedinuser" value="$bbuserinfo[userid]" />
<input type="submit" class="button" value="$vbphrase[post_quick_reply]" accesskey="s" title="(Alt + S)" name="sbutton" tabindex="2" id="qr_submit" onclick="clickedelm = this.value" />
<input type="submit" class="button" value="$vbphrase[go_advanced]" accesskey="x" title="(Alt + X)" name="preview" tabindex="3" id="qr_preview" onclick="clickedelm = this.value" />
</div>

<div align="center" id="qr_posting_msg" style="display:none; margin-top:6px">
<img style="vertical-align: middle;" src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/progress.gif" alt="$vbphrase[posting_quick_reply_please_wait]" />&nbsp;<strong>$vbphrase[posting_quick_reply_please_wait]</strong>
</div>
</td>



</tr>
</tbody>
</table>
</form>

<if condition="!is_browser('ie') AND $show['wysiwyg']">
<!-- Mozilla work around for focusing on QR in WYSIWYG mode -->
<div id="qr_scroll"></div>
</if>

<script type="text/javascript">
<!--
// initialize quick reply
qr_init();
//-->
</script>
<!-- / quick reply -->



showthread_quickreply:


<div class="controlbar" style="padding-$stylevar[right]:8px">
<fieldset style="border:0px; padding:0px; margin:0px">
<if condition="$show['qr_require_click']">
<textarea id="{$editorid}_textarea" rows="10" cols="60" style="width:100%; height: 40px" tabindex="1" dir="$stylevar[textdirection]" disabled="disabled">$vbphrase[click_quick_reply_icon]</textarea>
<else />
<textarea id="{$editorid}_textarea" rows="10" cols="60" style="width:100%; height: 40px" tabindex="1" dir="$stylevar[textdirection]"></textarea>
</if>
</fieldset>
<!--width:$stylevar[messagewidth]-->

</div>


If anyone could help me out, I'd really appreciate it! Thanks guys! :)

shibby2
04-19-2015, 11:06 PM
Anyone? :(

Lynne
04-19-2015, 11:15 PM
Did you know you can go to AdminCP > Settings > Options > Message Posting Interface Options > Enable Clickable Message Formatting Controls > Quick Reply and set that to just Disable Controls and it won't have any editor there - just a blank box to post in?

ForceHSS
04-19-2015, 11:22 PM
whats up with the large spaces in the code

shibby2
12-17-2015, 04:53 AM
Did you know you can go to AdminCP > Settings > Options > Message Posting Interface Options > Enable Clickable Message Formatting Controls > Quick Reply and set that to just Disable Controls and it won't have any editor there - just a blank box to post in?

Hmm, did not realize that, thanks Lynne! :)

However, that still leaves the whole 'quick reply' box, and some other unwanted text and stuff. I was able to remove that stuff in my 'project', so I'd still have to do it to that. And that's the part I think is screwing it up making it not work. So either way, I have to figure out where in the code is messing it up. Any ideas? :(

Sorry for the delay, I had no idea anyone ever replied to this. lmao

As always, any help is very appreciated!

shibby2
01-08-2016, 06:21 PM
Ok actually I took your advice and disabled the enhanced options in the quick reply box, and it works somewhat. I just have this question now..

If I wanted to change the 'background box' that the QR field sits inside of (like if I wanted to make a background image for it instead), how could I do that? Which file would I have to edit? Attached is a pic of what I want to change.

Any help is appreciated, thanks! :)

webmastersun
01-10-2016, 02:14 AM
Ok actually I took your advice and disabled the enhanced options in the quick reply box, and it works somewhat. I just have this question now..

If I wanted to change the 'background box' that the QR field sits inside of (like if I wanted to make a background image for it instead), how could I do that? Which file would I have to edit? Attached is a pic of what I want to change.

Any help is appreciated, thanks! :)

I don't really understand your question or what you mean but if you want to have a background for your reply box then adding this to your css

span.cke_skin_kama{
background: url(URL_of_your_image) no-repeat top left;
}

Add !important if you don't see it change.

Hope it helps!

MarkFL
01-10-2016, 02:22 AM
I don't really understand your question or what you mean but if you want to have a background for your reply box then adding this to your css

span.cke_skin_kama{
background: url(URL_of_your_image) no-repeat top left;
}

Add !important if you don't see it change.

Hope it helps!

We've (the OP and I) been working together and are getting everything (this and several other changes) whipped into shape. :D

Thank you for your help! :up:

shibby2
01-11-2016, 02:24 PM
Yep Mark has solved the issue! :) Sorry, guess I should have updated. Thank you to everyone who has offered help! :)