View Full Version : Box above forums
lawstudenthub
03-17-2015, 01:55 AM
Hi,
My forum: lawstudenthub.co.uk
I have a slider mod on my forum which has been there for a while, and I probably won't use it; however, I want to be able to put an image in a box similar to the space the slider is currently taking up (above forums table, but without moving the activity stream table downwards). I have attached a screenshot of what I mean.
I have tried looking through the slider's code, and my general code, but I cannot see the option to create that space without the activity stream table moving downwards.
Any suggestions on how to basically put a simple .jpg in the exact space the slider occupies?
Thanks
HM666
03-19-2015, 01:27 AM
That is difficult for any of us to help without the code you are working with. Post a link to the forum/page where the slider is placed.
lawstudenthub
03-19-2015, 02:04 AM
That is difficult for any of us to help without the code you are working with. Post a link to the forum/page where the slider is placed.
It was on my forum home: www.lawstudenthub.co.uk as per the screenshot above, but I disabled it because it looks unfinished. I can put the slider back on, copy the code (if you let me know from which template), take the slider off and post the code if that helps? Or do you definitely need the slider live on the forum to help?
Thanks
HM666
03-19-2015, 02:55 AM
Just curious why not put your image in the slider itself instead of trying to do something really complicated?
You just want a jpg above the forums then? Do you want it showing on all pages or just the FORUMHOME page? I'm not really sure that you sending the code for the slider will do any good if you ever uninstalled it you would lose your image and your code, so making new code should be a better solution and leaving the slider completely out of it instead.
lawstudenthub
03-19-2015, 03:52 AM
Just curious why not put your image in the slider itself instead of trying to do something really complicated?
You just want a jpg above the forums then? Do you want it showing on all pages or just the FORUMHOME page? I'm not really sure that you sending the code for the slider will do any good if you ever uninstalled it you would lose your image and your code, so making new code should be a better solution and leaving the slider completely out of it instead.
Yeah just a jpg in the space where the slider occupies in that screenshot on the FORUMHOME page. I just like how it's positioned, but cannot seem to replicate it when editing templates. I tried playing around with code (when slider disabled), but the 'Activity Stream' widget always moves down along with the forums so you're left with a blank space on the right.
HM666
03-19-2015, 04:07 AM
Yeah just a jpg in the space where the slider occupies in that screenshot on the FORUMHOME page. I just like how it's positioned, but cannot seem to replicate it when editing templates. I tried playing around with code (when slider disabled), but the 'Activity Stream' widget always moves down along with the forums so you're left with a blank space on the right.
ok I'm seriously tired tonight so coding and tired do not mix lol. If no one has answered tomorrow when I get online I'll play around with it and get you a code for the box. :)
K4GAP
03-19-2015, 04:11 AM
I would just use a custom grid if it were me.
cellarius
03-19-2015, 06:46 AM
There are no grids in forumhome.
HM666
03-19-2015, 02:09 PM
There are no grids in forumhome.
Yeah that is what I thought when I saw that post. Grids are only used for the CMS not the forum or any other part of vBulletin.
Replicant
03-19-2015, 05:24 PM
You can add an element with jquery.
Create a new ad in location above_footer, copy this code into it. Change the id to whatever you want and the picture to whatever you want.
$("#forums").before('<div id=name><img src="http://www.lawstudenthub.co.uk/bgtest8.jpg" style="display:block;width:100%;height:auto;padding-bottom:40px;"</div>')
K4GAP
03-19-2015, 06:04 PM
There are no grids in forumhome.
I guess that's why I never did it :D
Let us know if you find a way to do it.
HM666
03-20-2015, 12:28 AM
Ok sorry for the late reply.
To add a box you can do the following.
Go to Styles & Templates > Style Manager. Find the skin you want to make changes in on the right side of your screen. Click the drop down menu and choose "Edit Templates". Find the FORUMHOME template and open it.
Find:
<ol id="forums" class="floatcontainer">
Replace with:
<ol id="forums" class="floatcontainer">
<div class="homebox">Some nice text here. You could add text or just add your image as below:<br /><br /><img src="http://lenmkaiser.com/images/seagull.jpg" alt="Len M. Kaiser Photography Seagull" /></div>
Click the "save" button. Now open additional.css and add at the bottom:
.homebox {
background-color:#ffffff;
overflow:hidden;
border:1px solid #cccccc;
padding:10px;
text-align:center;
}
And click the "save" button. Your box should be there now. Of course you will need to change the text or take it out completely and change the picture you want to use in that area from mine to yours. I'm assuming you know some HTML and can handle making those changes, if not then let me know and I can help you further. I've attached a screen shot of what it looks like on my dev site. You can see it in THIS (http://webdesignfetish.com/demo/vb4/forum.php) link as well.
lawstudenthub
03-20-2015, 08:20 PM
Ok sorry for the late reply.
To add a box you can do the following.
Go to Styles & Templates > Style Manager. Find the skin you want to make changes in on the right side of your screen. Click the drop down menu and choose "Edit Templates". Find the FORUMHOME template and open it.
Find:
<ol id="forums" class="floatcontainer">
Replace with:
<ol id="forums" class="floatcontainer">
<div class="homebox">Some nice text here. You could add text or just add your image as below:<br /><br /><img src="http://lenmkaiser.com/images/seagull.jpg" alt="Len M. Kaiser Photography Seagull" /></div>
Click the "save" button. Now open additional.css and add at the bottom:
.homebox {
background-color:#ffffff;
overflow:hidden;
border:1px solid #cccccc;
padding:10px;
text-align:center;
}
And click the "save" button. Your box should be there now. Of course you will need to change the text or take it out completely and change the picture you want to use in that area from mine to yours. I'm assuming you know some HTML and can handle making those changes, if not then let me know and I can help you further. I've attached a screen shot of what it looks like on my dev site. You can see it in THIS (http://webdesignfetish.com/demo/vb4/forum.php) link as well.
Just tested it - it works. Many thanks :)
HM666
03-20-2015, 09:31 PM
You are welcomed :)
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.