PDA

View Full Version : Changing search query URL from number string to actual terms


DownNout87
01-23-2015, 12:52 PM
As I'm sure most of you know, vBulletin displays a random string of numbers after you perform a search in the default search box.

Is there any way to change it such that instead of displaying a random string of numbers that it will display the actual terms being searched? I would like to have access to this information in my Google analytics to see what topics people are searching for.

Would implementing Google Custom Search accomplish this?

Thanks,

Andrew

kh99
01-23-2015, 01:17 PM
You could edit the file search.php and around line 366, make this change (add the part in red):
if (!VB_API)
{
$vbulletin->url = 'search.php?' . $vbulletin->session->vars['sessionurl'] .
"searchid=" . $results->get_searchid();
if (isset($searchterms['query']))
$vbulletin->url .= "&terms=".$searchterms['query'];
}
else



I've only tested it by running one query, so I'm not 100% sure there aren't any problems with it.

DownNout87
01-23-2015, 01:41 PM
Thanks a lot kh99

Hopefully others can chime in and confirm that what you've posted has been working for them. I will also run it by my developer.

kh99
01-23-2015, 01:55 PM
Edit: nvm.

Zachery
01-23-2015, 03:18 PM
That string is your search query stored in the database. I don't think there is an easy way to remove it.

DownNout87
01-23-2015, 04:16 PM
I don't want to remove it. I just want it to display the actual search query in the URL after the submit search button is clicked. That way Google Analytics can tell me that "camera" was searched instead of "124859".

cellarius
01-24-2015, 10:27 AM
That's what kh99 code change will achieve, from looking at it. If you want to know whether it works or not, you will have to run some tests yourself. You can always do that on a test copy of your board. You're the one looking for something, and a solution has been offered. You can't expect others to do your testing for you.

DownNout87
01-26-2015, 05:18 PM
That's what kh99 code change will achieve, from looking at it. If you want to know whether it works or not, you will have to run some tests yourself. You can always do that on a test copy of your board. You're the one looking for something, and a solution has been offered. You can't expect others to do your testing for you.

Contribution of the year! Thanks.


Does anyone use the Google search bar on their forum?