PDA

View Full Version : Rounded corners in IE?


TrultToast
01-20-2015, 11:42 AM
Hello vB.org community!
I was wondering why rounded corners work fine with vB3 in Chrome and opera, but don't work at all in IE... rounded corners work fine in all browsers with vB4, but not 3... I dont get this...

Can anyone help me fix this so that rounded corners in my vB3 style work with all browsers?

Thanks for your time! And I'm sorry if this was asked already...

Dave
01-20-2015, 11:46 AM
Rounded borders only work in IE9 and up. Refer to http://davidwalsh.name/css-rounded-corners if you want to implement it correctly for IE9+.

If you want support for IE versions lower than 9, you will have to look into using images or a JavaScript hack which adds border radius support.

TrultToast
01-20-2015, 05:06 PM
Rounded borders only work in IE9 and up. Refer to http://davidwalsh.name/css-rounded-corners if you want to implement it correctly for IE9+.

If you want support for IE versions lower than 9, you will have to look into using images or a JavaScript hack which adds border radius support.

Thank you very much for the helpful reply! I'll make sure to look into that.

Max Taxable
01-20-2015, 05:22 PM
Also, I found out the hard way it does matter what order you have the rounded corners appear, in the CSS script.
/* Safari,Chrome*/
-webkit-border-radius:5px;
/* Firefox*/
-moz-border-radius:5px;
/* IE, Opera*/
border-radius:5px;

We have to list the webkit and mozilla definitions first apparently, then the IE/Opera one last, otherwise the first two get ignored by Safari/Chrome for some reason.

Zachery
01-20-2015, 05:51 PM
You should just use border-radius. neither webkit/blink, nor gecko require the specific prefixes anymore.

TrultToast
01-20-2015, 07:26 PM
Thanks again, haha.

Now I know this is off topic... but I was wondering if anyone here knows of a conditional that will show something if there is a new post/thread in its assigned category.

Something like this? idk....
-snip-