PDA

View Full Version : Youtube BBcode no longer works, mass change?


pjkcards
01-07-2015, 05:09 PM
For many years our forum used the custom Youtube bbcode [youtube] to embed videos. With vB 4.2 now, the [video] tag is used, so now all old posts which used the [youtube] tag doesn't work. What is the best way to change this in bulk?

Thanks.

ozzy47
01-07-2015, 09:48 PM
1) Close your site via the ACP.
2) Do a full site backup.
3) Run this query, change 'old name' and 'new name' as needed.

UPDATE post SET pagetext = REPLACE(pagetext, 'old name', 'new name')

So for example:

Opening tag:
UPDATE post SET pagetext = REPLACE(pagetext, '', '')

Closing tag.
UPDATE post SET pagetext = REPLACE(pagetext, '', '')
Remember this is case sensitive, so make sure you do it right.

Check out the site to make sure it is done right.

4) Reopen site via ACP if things are right, if not, restore your backup.

OUTL4W
01-07-2015, 10:01 PM
Yes...Ozzy is correct as usual....but I believe if you also re-create the YouTube bb code....the old posts that have the [youtube] tags , the videos will show up again.

If in need of a new YouTube bb code:
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=304938
:D
Plays yt HD version by default....[video] tags don't.

ozzy47
01-07-2015, 10:03 PM
Yeah I am not sure about recreating the bbcode, as I am only going from memory here. I don't have any youtube videos embedded on my site, so I would have no way of replicating what the OP is experiencing.

MarkFL
01-08-2015, 01:42 AM
I have put together a custom BBCode on my site for embedding youtube videos. What's different about this one is that if the user resizes their browser window, the video dynamically resizes, always maintaining a 10% border to the left and right and always maintaining an aspect ratio of 16:9. I have also wrapped the video player in a container.

Title: YouTube

BB Code Tag Name: youtube

Replacement:

<br>
<div class="video_wrapper MHB_wrappers">
<div class="MHB_wrapper_header mhb_gradient"></div>
<div style="background-color:transparent">
<div class="video-container">
<iframe src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/{param}?hd=1&vq=hd1080">
</iframe>
</div>
</div>
<div class="MHB_wrapper_footer mhb_gradient"></div>
</div>
<br>

In your additional.css template, include the following:

.video-container
{
position: relative;
padding-bottom: 56.25%;
padding-top: 30px; height: 0; overflow: hidden;
}

.video-container iframe,
.video-container object,
.video-container embed
{
position: absolute;
top: 0;
left: 0;
width: 100%;
height: 100%;
}

.video_wrapper
{
border: 1px solid #BBBBBB;
-moz-border-radius: 10px;
-webkit-border-radius: 10px;
border-radius: 10px;
margin-left: 10%;
margin-right: 10%;
}

.MHB_wrappers
{
box-shadow: 2px 2px 3px rgba(20,74,98,0.5);
}

.MHB_wrapper_header
{
-moz-border-radius: 10px 10px 0px 0px;
-webkit-border-radius: 10px 10px 0px 0px;
border-radius: 10px 10px 0px 0px;
padding-top: 15px;
}

.MHB_wrapper_footer
{
-moz-border-radius: 0px 0px 10px 10px;
-webkit-border-radius: 0px 0px 10px 10px;
border-radius: 0px 0px 10px 10px;
padding-bottom: 15px;
}

.mhb_gradient
{
background: #207498; /* Old browsers */
background: -moz-linear-gradient(top, #2891be 0%, #103a4c 100%); /* FF3.6+ */
background: -webkit-gradient(linear, left top, left bottom, color-stop(0%,#2891be), color-stop(100%,#103a4c)); /* Chrome,Safari4+ */
background: -webkit-linear-gradient(top, #2891be 0%,#103a4c 100%); /* Chrome10+,Safari5.1+ */
background: -o-linear-gradient(top, #2891be 0%,#103a4c 100%); /* Opera 11.10+ */
background: -ms-linear-gradient(top, #2891be 0%,#103a4c 100%); /* IE10+ */
background: linear-gradient(to bottom, #2891be 0%,#103a4c 100%); /* W3C */
filter: progid:DXImageTransform.Microsoft.gradient( startColorstr='#2891be', endColorstr='#103a4c',GradientType=0 ); /* IE6-9 */
}

pjkcards
01-08-2015, 05:37 PM
Thanks guys. Before I try ozzy's idea, I tried re-creating the BBcode. However, it just shows up as a big blank space, and the video doesn't load (just as before). I deleted the BBcode and created a new one with the same result. Any idea why this is?

MarkFL: looks nice, but I get the same result - a big blank space in the post, with no video loading. Are you using this in vB 4.2?

Any further ideas would be greatly appreciated. Ideally I want to make use of the youtube tag as opposed to doing a mass db replacement. Thanks.

kh99
01-08-2015, 05:42 PM
Did you try writing a new post as the test? It could be that caching is stopping you from seeing the changes.

kh99
01-08-2015, 05:50 PM
Also, I believe the youtube tag took just the code as the parameter. Does the video tag work the same way (maybe it does, I'm not familiar with it)? If not then you probably don't want to do a replace.

pjkcards
01-09-2015, 02:08 AM
Did you try writing a new post as the test? It could be that caching is stopping you from seeing the changes.
Yes, I did, with no luck. No idea why it isn't working, or why the old youtube tag stopped working.

Also, I believe the youtube tag took just the code as the parameter. Does the video tag work the same way (maybe it does, I'm not familiar with it)? If not then you probably don't want to do a replace.
The video tag is slightly different, and uses options. But there must be a way to do the replace which fixes that. Ideally though, I'd like to just fix the youtube tags.

Any other ideas? Thanks in advance!

MarkFL
01-09-2015, 03:38 AM
...MarkFL: looks nice, but I get the same result - a big blank space in the post, with no video loading. Are you using this in vB 4.2?

Yes, it works for me in 3 different varieties of vB 4.2.x. Try posting a new video and let me know if you still get a blank space. :D

pjkcards
01-09-2015, 02:31 PM
Ah, the issue was that I needed to change the youtube url to https, as the site runs with https. Once I did that, it works great.

MarkFL: thanks for the tag. It works much better than the video tag, which doesn't resize on screen.

Thanks guys.

Bulent Tekcan
06-07-2015, 05:57 AM
Yes, it works for me in 3 different varieties of vB 4.2.x. Try posting a new video and let me know if you still get a blank space. :D

It is working great,but screen size is big. How can I adjust width 425 height 350 ?

Regards

MarkFL
06-07-2015, 12:50 PM
It is working great,but screen size is big. How can I adjust width 425 height 350 ?

Regards

The BBCode and supporting CSS I posted is designed not to have a fixed size. To make it smaller relative to the parent element you could increase the margins found in the .video_wrapper class. :D