PDA

View Full Version : Add-On Releases - Similar Threads After The First Post [Plugin] - VB4 - By AioNets.com


A.Chakery
11-26-2014, 10:00 PM
Similar Threads After The First Post , Brought You By : AioNets.com (http://aionets.com/)


Description :

This is the plugin and simple version of my previous product (HERE (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?p=2511473)) which automatically moves the similar threads under the first post of every topic.

The differences between this plugin and the previous product Are :
- In the plugin version you will not be able to turn similar threads off for forums of your choice.
- The plugin version is much more optimized especially for large boards since it does not add additional queries to the database and it simply moves the similar threads under the first post.
- The installation of the plugin version is a little challenging than the product one.

Personally I would choose the plugin version over product one because of its performance.

Features :
- Automatically moves similar threads to the bottom of the first post.
- Ability to disable it globally
- Ability to customize it using CSS
- Works great with vBSEO and DB-SEO


Ease of Installation : Normal


Installation :

First ensure that the your vBulletin Similar Threads option is enabled.


1- Goto : AdminCP > Plugins and Products > Add New Plugin

2- Then set the options as below :

Product: vBulletin
Hook Location: showthread_complete
Title : AioNets Similar Threads
Execution Order : 5
Plugin PHP Code :
if (isset($similarthreads))
{
$postbits = str_replace('<!-- AioNetsSimilarThreads -->', $similarthreads, $postbits);
unset($similarthreads);
}

Plugin is Active : YES

Then Click On the Save Button.

3- Now you should edit the related templates to similar threads :
Goto : AdminCP > Styles & Templates > Style Manager

Then click on the "? ?" button located at the right side of your active Style.
-or-
Click on the Drop down menu and select " Edit Templates " option.

Then search for "Show Thread Templates" and Double Click on it.

Then under Show Thread Templates you will see two templates related to Similar threads which we need to work on :

First one is -> "showthread_similarthreadbit" ... Please Double click on it and replace all of its content with :
<ul><li>$simthread[prefix_rich] <a href="showthread.php?$session[sessionurl]t=$simthread[threadid]" title="$simthread[preview]">$simthread[title]</a></li></ul>

The second template is : "showthread_similarthreads" ... Double click on it and replace all of its content with :
<vb:if condition="in_array($post[postcount], array(1))">
<br /><br /><div class="aionets_similar_threads">
<strong>$vbphrase[similar_threads] </strong><br />
$similarthreadbits
</div>
</vb:if>

4- Now Search For "Postbit Templates" and Double Click on it :

NOTE : If you are using the Postbit Style (which can be set in vBulletin Options > Style & Language Settings )

You should Double click on "postbit" template BUT if you are using the Legacy style you should double click on "postbit_legacy" ...

When you double clicked on your postbit template search for " {vb:raw post.message} " and AFTER that insert below code :
<!-- AioNetsSimilarThreads -->

And then save this template.

5- Styling :
- First Please Go to "AdminCP > Style Manager" ,
- Open your style templates,
- Then Add below CSS code to "postbit.css" template
.aionets_similar_threads{color:#465584;float:right ;background-color:#FFF;border-left:4px solid #19364D;border-right:1px dotted #19364D;border-top:1px dotted #19364D;border-bottom:1px dotted #19364D;padding:7px;margin:0 auto 8px}
And It's Done !


IMPORTANT NOTES
1- Always take backup of any template which you are working on
2- Please USE editor apps like Text Wrangler in Mac or NotePad++ in Windows to edit templates and never edit any code directly. Personally I am using Espresso on my Mac and I am really satisfied.

A.Chakery
11-27-2014, 02:41 AM
<------ Reserved ------->

M.C.
02-05-2015, 01:05 PM
how to make it appear both in first post and at the bottom of thread as usial? thanks ;)

A.Chakery
02-05-2015, 06:34 PM
Hello M.C.

To have Similar Threads in both places , please use this code in STEP 2
if (isset($similarthreads))
{
$postbits = str_replace('<!-- AioNetsSimilarThreads -->', $similarthreads, $postbits);
}


Please test it and update us with the results.

Good Luck

M.C.
02-21-2015, 06:29 PM
Thanks it works but... it's show on EVERY post, not only first one....

I like your style for first post insertion but want to leave bottom block original.
I think is better to create separate new template for first post but what need to be changed in plugin then?

Thanks ;)

Muhammad Rahman
02-21-2015, 09:25 PM
working perfect!!! Thanks :)

A.Chakery
02-22-2015, 01:23 AM
Would you please provide us with the vBulletin installation which you have this problem with ?

Marcin1
02-22-2015, 09:45 AM
Thanks it works but... it's show on EVERY post, not only first one....

I like your style for first post insertion but want to leave bottom block original.
I think is better to create separate new template for first post but what need to be changed in plugin then?

Thanks ;)

Exactly. How to make to be shown only on first thread post instead every single one?

A.Chakery
02-22-2015, 09:52 AM
Would you please provide us with your vBulletin URL ?

A.Chakery
02-22-2015, 10:10 AM
Ok I think we missed a conditional in step 3 ...

Would you please test this code in STEP3 , Editing showthread_similarthreads template ?

<vb:if condition="!$GLOBALS['FIRSTPOSTID']">
<br /><br /><div class="aionets_similar_threads">
<strong>$vbphrase[similar_threads] </strong><br />
$similarthreadbits
</div>
</vb:if>


And please do not forget to share the results with me.

Marcin1
02-22-2015, 10:23 AM
It's not showing with a new PHP code. I replaced to old one

<br /><br /><div class="aionets_similar_threads">
<strong>$vbphrase[similar_threads] </strong><br />
$similarthreadbits
</div>

And of course is visible in every post.

/edit

Thank you A.Chakery for help by a private message! :)

A.Chakery
02-23-2015, 02:05 AM
Thanks it works but... it's show on EVERY post, not only first one....

I like your style for first post insertion but want to leave bottom block original.
I think is better to create separate new template for first post but what need to be changed in plugin then?

Thanks ;)
Please use this code in STEP 3 editing the showthread_similarthreads template

<vb:if condition="in_array($post[postcount], array(1))">
<br /><br /><div class="aionets_similar_threads">
<strong>$vbphrase[similar_threads] </strong><br />
$similarthreadbits
</div>
</vb:if>

M.C.
02-24-2015, 07:01 PM
no, it doesn't show at all with any of your codes above either with my version:

<vb:if condition="$post['isfirstshown']">something</vb:if>

so I still ask you to create separate template for first post and leave "showthread_similarthreads" untouched ;)

A.Chakery
02-25-2015, 05:10 AM
Thank you for your suggestion ... Well it depends on how you want the similar threads to be shown.

I will mention your idea in my second post ...

Good luck.

stained
03-24-2015, 04:37 PM
Hi,

What would I need to do to hide the similar threads from guests?

A.Chakery
03-24-2015, 07:01 PM
Actually Showing the similar threads to Search engine BOTs which view your website as guests has a positive impact on SEO but if you still need to hide similar threads for a specific reason please replace "showthread_similarthreads" content with below code :

<vb:if condition="in_array($post[postcount], array(1)) AND $show['member']">
<br /><br /><div class="aionets_similar_threads">
<strong>$vbphrase[similar_threads] </strong><br />
$similarthreadbits
</div>
</vb:if>

I hope it helps.

stained
03-25-2015, 01:35 PM
Thanks very much :up:

A.Chakery
03-25-2015, 07:08 PM
You are welcome.

I am glad that it helped.

Good luck.

Bozza
07-19-2015, 08:34 PM
I'm a bit confused...

1. I can't find $post[message] in my postbit_legacy.

2. Even if I could, isn't the requested code (<!-- AioNetsSimilarThreads --> ) just a comment?

A.Chakery
07-19-2015, 09:02 PM
Hello Bozza,

1. This would not be possible. Would you please send me your post_legacy content using a Private message so I can take a look at it ?

2. No, as you can see in second step we set a replacement value for this comment so this code will actually be replaced with what we have set in the plugin.

bosanci28
08-01-2015, 09:50 PM
Hello Bozza,

I have Pm you with the Post_Legacy file as i can't find the "$post[message]" also.

Running vb4.2.2

Thanks

A.Chakery
03-08-2016, 09:07 AM
Sorry for the late reply,

Would you please provide me with the content of your postbit_legacy ?

Thank you

fahadullah
03-14-2016, 08:27 AM
I'm a bit confused...

1. I can't find $post[message] in my postbit_legacy.

2. Even if I could, isn't the requested code (<!-- AioNetsSimilarThreads --> ) just a comment?

Same problem as this. Cannot find $post[message] in my postbit_legacy

A.Chakery
03-14-2016, 04:09 PM
Oh my bad.. I ported this modification from vb3 and I forgot to change that part.

Please search for this phrase instead : {vb:raw post.message}

if you still have issues with this modification please also visit our other product which is located here : https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?p=2511473

Regards.

fahadullah
03-14-2016, 06:31 PM
Tried it. Still not working.

I do not go with the other product due to the performance hit.

Oh my bad.. I ported this modification from vb3 and I forgot to change that part.

Please search for this phrase instead : {vb:raw post.message}

if you still have issues with this modification please also visit our other product which is located here : https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?p=2511473

Regards.

NiGh10GaLe
03-16-2016, 07:26 PM
I did all the steps as you told, but there's nothing appear in any post.
Threads option is enabled.
I'm using a theme of purevb.
ni10gl.com/vb this is my forum url, so can you check it please ?
Thank you :)

RichieBoy67
03-16-2016, 08:14 PM
Did you rebuild your similar threads in maintenance?

Do you have a custom theme? If so you have to add the code into your postbit or postbit_legacy template.

harry_5
12-29-2016, 07:54 PM
Great Add-On! But how can I make it work also in my vBulletin mobile style?

A.Chakery
12-29-2016, 08:22 PM
Great Add-On! But how can I make it work also in my vBulletin mobile style?

Dear Harry,

Unfortunately I really do not have enough time to maintain this plugin, so I believe it would be better if you go with the add-on version which is located here :

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=313726

Please test it and update me with the results.

Best Regards,
Ali.

Gn_Snake
03-06-2017, 09:34 AM
I did all the steps as you told, but there's nothing appear in any post.
Threads option is enabled.
I'm using a theme of purevb.
ni10gl.com/vb this is my forum url, so can you check it please ?
Thank you :)

Also i have taken all the steps but nothing appears :confused:

This plugin is really interesting, it's a shame that is not developing.