View Full Version : Style css Randomly Missing
BoostedK20
10-26-2014, 03:50 PM
Hey vB.org members,
My website (http://www.BoostedK20.com) has randomly had a style issue over the past few days. As you may see upon visiting my website, the images are appearing in wacky sizes, shapes, and places. I figured it was a simple GoDaddy server mishap/update and would soon be fixed. Well, I contacted them today, they went above and beyond with their detective work. They told me that the /forums/style.css file is missing entirely. I went into my vB account and re-downloaded the software to find the file and upload that file, but I cannot find that file. I also did a good ol' Google search, but nothing came up pertaining to my situation (except forthose upgrading from vB 3.x.x to vB4). So, I'm out of options thus far. I'm hoping some of you can shine some light on what needs to be done to figure this out. Also, you may notice that I am running vB 4.1.2 (because I haven't seen or had a need to update to the latest 4.2.2). If this is something that can help resolve the situation, I would appreciate a bit of a step-by-step on how to do this update, as well as subsequent methods of hitting the nail on the head and resolving this problem.
I appreciate your help in advance, and I hope this can be resolved soon!
Best Regards,
Dan
ozzy47
10-26-2014, 03:55 PM
Well first off I would upgrade to at least vBulletin 4.2.2 Patch Level 2, since there is security issues in earlier versions.
As far as upgrading, read the manual, http://www.vbulletin.com/docs/html/upgrade
It may or may not fix your issues.
There's definitely something wrong with your forum:
The source contains the following:
<img src=”http://i.imgur.com/SQ1BnJU.jpg”/>
You are supposed to use double quotes, not backticks for the src.
Also at around line 475 in the source, it includes a page with html/body tags. HTML is invalid. (It's one of your block modules?)
Lynne
10-26-2014, 04:57 PM
There is no style.css file in default vB4. So, that file is from a modification/style you uploaded.
You have many problems with that page. I threw it into an html validator and got 74 Errors, 32 warning(s). And yeah, you can ignore many of what it says, but having two <DOCTYPE> and <html> and <head> and <body> tags in a page is a BIG NO-NO and it will screw up your page.
Seven Skins
10-26-2014, 11:33 PM
Remove this piece of code renders the page correctly in firebug
<style>
iframe{
opacity: 0;
border: 0px none transparent;
position: absolute;
top: 0px;
left: 0px;
height: 300px;
width: 250px;
filter:alpha(opacity=0);
}
img{
position: absolute;
top: -50px;
left: 0px;
height: 475px;
width: 342px;
}
</style>
BoostedK20
10-29-2014, 06:59 PM
Before I try the things you have all posted above (and thank you for them), I would like it to be known that this happened suddenly, with no back-end changes. I logged in and it was like that. So something that already exists somehow created this issue. Being that there are multiple problems with the page, what should be done first? You all seem to know this better than I do, so I figure certain things should be done before others.
Again, thank you all for your help.
There is no style.css file in default vB4. So, that file is from a modification/style you uploaded.
You have many problems with that page. I threw it into an html validator and got 74 Errors, 32 warning(s). And yeah, you can ignore many of what it says, but having two <DOCTYPE> and <html> and <head> and <body> tags in a page is a BIG NO-NO and it will screw up your page.
Can you tell me where these are and how to address them? Thank you for chiming in Lynne, you've always been a big help!
--------------- Added 1414612901 at 1414612901 ---------------
There's definitely something wrong with your forum:
The source contains the following:
<img src=?http://i.imgur.com/SQ1BnJU.jpg?/>
You are supposed to use double quotes, not backticks for the src.
Also at around line 475 in the source, it includes a page with html/body tags. HTML is invalid. (It's one of your block modules?)
Dave, where did that image come from?! It says the site will shut down as of 4 days ago.... EDIT: I just searched in templates and this came up in the 'header' template under the current active style but no others... It shows my google ads after it.
<body>
<div>
<img src=?http://i.imgur.com/SQ1BnJU.jpg?/>
<script type="text/javascript">
google_ad_client = "ca-pub-2427967321404401";
google_ad_slot = "6801652175";
google_ad_width = 336;
google_ad_height = 280;
</script>
<!-- ads -->
<script type="text/javascript"
src="//pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/show_ads.js">
</script>
<center>Watch versus cycling in this video clip.<br>Versus Cycling is some
great videos to watch!
</div>
</body>
Clearly the cycling text and the imgur image link is not from me, and I am the only one with access to the back end to edit things... Now what? I removed the above code and it changed nothing, so I put it back without those two parts of the code I just mentioned.
--------------- Added 1414613079 at 1414613079 ---------------
Well first off I would upgrade to at least vBulletin 4.2.2 Patch Level 2, since there is security issues in earlier versions.
As far as upgrading, read the manual, http://www.vbulletin.com/docs/html/upgrade
It may or may not fix your issues.
Thank you ozzy. Regarding the update, it says to do a database backup. The methods shown in the backup link (http://www.vbulletin.com/docs/html/main/manual_database_backup) I am unfamiliar with. Do I need anything additional to do any of the methods on that page? I apologize if these are more 'entry level' questions. I'm overwhelmed with the abundance of issues going on with the website right now.
_______________________
As a current update: I removed the following code entirely and things are back to normal, minus the google ads:
<body>
<div>
<center>
<script type="text/javascript">
google_ad_client = "ca-pub-2427967321404401";
google_ad_slot = "6801652175";
google_ad_width = 336;
google_ad_height = 280;
</script>
</center>
<!-- ads -->
<script type="text/javascript"
src="//pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/show_ads.js">
</script>
</div>
</body>
BoostedK20
10-30-2014, 09:52 PM
BUMP
Seven Skins
10-30-2014, 10:58 PM
First thing you need to do is .. remove the body tag around google ads.
e.g.
<div style="text-align: center;">
<script type="text/javascript">
google_ad_client = "ca-pub-2427967321404401";
google_ad_slot = "6801652175";
google_ad_width = 336;
google_ad_height = 280;
</script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="//pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/show_ads.js"></script>
</div>
If you did not made the changes to the templates then your site may have been hacked. Here is the link for you to read.
http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/blogs/michael-miller/3934768-recovering-a-hacked-vbulletin-site
http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/blogs/zachery/3993888-fixing-your-site-after-you-have-been-hacked
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.