View Full Version : Default text to display in every first post
donkspurs
07-26-2014, 04:14 PM
I'm trying to display some text which will show in every first post in every thread, but I also only want it to display in a specific forum section. The id of the forum is definitely 22 and I've already found some code which apparently should work.
Here is the code I am currently using in the template "ad_showthread_firstpost_start".
<vb:if condition="$forum[forumid] == 22">
This is the custom text.
</vb:if>
However for some reason this text doesn't display at all in the threads in the specified forum.
If I remove the if condition then the text displays fine, but it obviously then displays in every single thread on the site.
I am testing this on a dev forum so the forums are turned off. I can't see that being an issue but thought worth mentioning in case.
Any help would be much appreciated! Thanks.
Paul M
07-26-2014, 05:18 PM
Have you tried using $thread rather than $forum ?
donkspurs
07-26-2014, 05:23 PM
Have you tried using $thread rather than $forum ?
Thanks for the help.
I hadn't tried that until you just suggested it but sadly it didn't make any difference. :(
donkspurs
07-27-2014, 05:31 PM
Has anyone on here ever tried to get default text into the first post of every threads in a specific forum?
Must be someone on here! Any help on how to do it would be greatly appreciated, thanks!
Paul M
07-28-2014, 11:12 AM
Looking at the code, you cannot do this without a using a hook.
No variables other than the adsense details are registered for that template when its created, so you need to pre-register either $forum or $thread.
vB_Template::preRegister('ad_showthread_firstpost_ start',array('thread' => $thread));
The 'postbit_display_complete' hook should be ok to use.
donkspurs
07-28-2014, 04:43 PM
Looking at the code, you cannot do this without a using a hook.
No variables other than the adsense details are registered for that template when its created, so you need to pre-register either $forum or $thread.
vB_Template::preRegister('ad_showthread_firstpost_ start',array('thread' => $thread));
The 'postbit_display_complete' hook should be ok to use.
Thanks once more for the help!
Unfortunately I haven't done any work with hooks before so not sure where to start!
Where would I find the 'postbit_display_complete' hook? Thanks again.
Lynne
07-28-2014, 05:00 PM
Go to admincp > Plugins and Products > Add New Plugin and the hooks location is a dropdown and you will find it there.
donkspurs
07-29-2014, 12:07 AM
Thank you guys! That worked brilliantly.
Excellent help. Really appreciate it! :)
DannyITR
08-26-2014, 03:54 PM
Is there any way to adapt this so that the text is entered into the post box while the user is typing the post?
I want to have default text in my for sale sections so users will know what is expected in terms of info.
Lynne
08-26-2014, 08:01 PM
Go search for the Stencil Mod. That should do what you want.
CAG CheechDogg
08-26-2014, 08:04 PM
Is there any way to adapt this so that the text is entered into the post box while the user is typing the post?
I want to have default text in my for sale sections so users will know what is expected in terms of info.
You can do this ...
New Plugin
Hook Location: newthread_form_start
Tittle: Auto Fill Data For New Threads
Execution Order: 5
Plugin PHP Code:
if ($foruminfo['forumid'] == forumID)
{
$newpost['message'] = "
(Add your text here)
Add more text here
";
}
Make sure you change the forum ID to the forum you want this in ...
Credit goes to kh99 for this .....
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.