View Full Version : text box issue
TTPlayground
06-29-2014, 09:59 AM
I'm using vBulletin 4.2.2
My text box looks like this:
http://puu.sh/9P4OG/36cbc50a8f.png
It does the same thing for advanced reply. Any ideas of how to fix this?
ozzy47
06-29-2014, 10:07 AM
Edit the includes/config.php file and add the following right after the <?php tag:
define('DISABLE_HOOKS', true);
Then see if the issue persists.
TTPlayground
06-29-2014, 10:43 AM
Edit the includes/config.php file and add the following right after the <?php tag:
define('DISABLE_HOOKS', true);
Then see if the issue persists.
That didn't work :(
ozzy47
06-29-2014, 10:47 AM
Hmmm, OK, remove that line then.
Does this happen on a unmodified default style?
TTPlayground
06-29-2014, 10:56 AM
Hmmm, OK, remove that line then.
Does this happen on a unmodified default style?
It's the default style but I've modified it. It suddenly stopped working and I'm not sure why.
The last two mods I remember installing before it occurred was Easy Forms and Thread Bookmarking (which I ended up removing entirely). I don't remember it not working after that though. I started doing something else, came back, tried to post, and that was happening.
Edit: Sorry, didn't catch what you meant at first. It doesn't happen on an unmodified style.
ozzy47
06-29-2014, 11:06 AM
Try making a new default style, ACP --> Styles & Templates --> Style Generator
Then check if the issue persists.
TTPlayground
06-29-2014, 11:23 AM
Try making a new default style, ACP --> Styles & Templates --> Style Generator
Then check if the issue persists.
It doesn't happen on a new default style.
ozzy47
06-29-2014, 11:29 AM
Hmmm, then you must have made a change to your templates recently for that to happen. If you added any mods that required you to edit templates, and you uninstalled the mod, you also need to undo the template edits.
tbworld
06-29-2014, 12:32 PM
Go Back to basics. I know it is a pain, but it will work.
1.) Make a backup.
2.) Shut off your hooks/plugin system. (you may have not deleted your MOD's correctly).
3.) Create a new default style or master style (use tools.php) if you think you accidently modified it.
4.) Clear vbulletins cache from the maintenance section. If you are using external CSS files, make sure they are regenerated.
5.) Clear your browser cache, before rechecking.
:)
TTPlayground
06-29-2014, 04:43 PM
I found the template causing the issue, and I'm not sure what exactly in this code is causing it. I don't want to completely revert it if possible because I had to edit it for a few different mods. Would someone mind taking a look at it and seeing if you can tell what it is? This is the headinclude template:
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset={vb:stylevar charset}" />
<meta id="e_vb_meta_bburl" name="vb_meta_bburl" content="{vb:raw vboptions.bburl}" />
<base href="{vb:raw basepath}" /><!--[if IE]></base><![endif]-->
<meta name="generator" content="vBulletin {vb:raw vboptions.templateversion}" />
<meta http-equiv="X-UA-Compatible" content="IE=9" />
<vb:if condition="$stylevar['favicon']">
<link rel="Shortcut Icon" href="{vb:stylevar favicon}" type="image/x-icon" />
</vb:if>
<vb:if condition="$show['threadinfo']">
<vb:elseif condition="$show['foruminfo']" />
<meta name="keywords" content="{vb:raw foruminfo.title_clean}, {vb:raw vboptions.keywords}" />
<meta name="description" content="<vb:if condition="$pagenumber > 1">{vb:rawphrase page_x, {vb:raw pagenumber}}-</vb:if>{vb:raw foruminfo.description_clean}" />
<vb:else />
<meta name="keywords" content="{vb:raw vboptions.keywords}" />
<meta name="description" content="{vb:raw vboptions.description}" />
</vb:if>
<vb:if condition="$show['fb_opengraph']">
{vb:raw facebook_opengraph}
</vb:if>
<vb:if condition="$show['remoteyui']">
<vb:if condition="$show['remoteyuicombo']">
<script type="text/javascript" src="{vb:stylevar yuicombopath}?{vb:stylevar yuiversion}/build/yuiloader-dom-event/yuiloader-dom-event.js&{vb:stylevar yuiversion}/build/connection/connection-min.js"></script>
<vb:else />
<script type="text/javascript" src="{vb:stylevar yuipath}/yuiloader-dom-event/yuiloader-dom-event.js"></script>
</vb:if>
</vb:if>
<script type="text/javascript">
<!--
if (typeof YAHOO === 'undefined') // Load ALL YUI Local
{
document.write('<script type="text/javascript" src="clientscript/yui/yuiloader-dom-event/yuiloader-dom-event.js?v={vb:raw vboptions.simpleversion}"><\/script>');
document.write('<script type="text/javascript" src="clientscript/yui/connection/connection-min.js?v={vb:raw vboptions.simpleversion}"><\/script>');
var yuipath = 'clientscript/yui';
var yuicombopath = '';
var remoteyui = false;
}
else // Load Rest of YUI remotely (where possible)
{
var yuipath = '{vb:stylevar yuipath}';
var yuicombopath = '{vb:stylevar yuicombopath}';
var remoteyui = true;
if (!yuicombopath)
{
document.write('<script type="text/javascript" src="{vb:stylevar yuipath}/connection/connection-min.js?v={vb:raw vboptions.simpleversion}"><\/script>');
}
}
var SESSIONURL = "{vb:raw session.sessionurl_js}";
var SECURITYTOKEN = "{vb:raw bbuserinfo.securitytoken}";
var IMGDIR_MISC = "{vb:stylevar imgdir_misc}";
var IMGDIR_BUTTON = "{vb:stylevar imgdir_button}";
var vb_disable_ajax = parseInt("{vb:raw vboptions.disable_ajax}", 10);
var SIMPLEVERSION = "{vb:raw vboptions.simpleversion}";
var BBURL = "{vb:raw vboptions.bburl}";
var LOGGEDIN = {vb:raw bbuserinfo.userid} > 0 ? true : false;
var THIS_SCRIPT = "{vb:raw this_script}";
var RELPATH = "{vb:raw relpath}";
var PATHS = {
forum : "{vb:raw vboptions.vbforum_url}",
cms : "{vb:raw vboptions.vbcms_url}",
blog : "{vb:raw vboptions.vbblog_url}"
};
var AJAXBASEURL = "{vb:raw ajaxbaseurl}";
// -->
</script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="{vb:raw vboptions.bburl}/clientscript/vbulletin-core.js?v={vb:raw vboptions.simpleversion}"></script>
{vb:raw template_hook.headinclude_javascript}
<vb:if condition="$vboptions['externalrss']">
<link rel="alternate" type="application/rss+xml" title="{vb:raw vboptions.bbtitle} {vb:rawphrase rss_feed}" href="{vb:raw vboptions.bburl}/external.php?type=RSS2" />
<vb:if condition="$show['foruminfo'] OR $show['threadinfo']">
<link rel="alternate" type="application/rss+xml" title="{vb:raw vboptions.bbtitle} - {vb:raw foruminfo.title_clean} - {vb:rawphrase rss_feed}" href="{vb:raw vboptions.bburl}/external.php?type=RSS2&forumids={vb:raw foruminfo.forumid}" />
</vb:if>
</vb:if>
<vb:if condition="$vboptions['storecssasfile']">
{vb:cssfile main-rollup.css}
{vb:raw template_hook.custom_css_links}
<vb:else />
{vb:cssfile bbcode.css,editor.css,popupmenu.css,reset-fonts.css,vbulletin.css,vbulletin-chrome.css,vbulletin-formcontrols.css{vb:raw template_hook.custom_css_list}}
</vb:if>
<!--[if lt IE 8]>
{vb:cssfile popupmenu-ie.css,vbulletin-ie.css,vbulletin-chrome-ie.css,vbulletin-formcontrols-ie.css,editor-ie.css}
<![endif]-->
{vb:raw template_hook.headinclude_css}
<!--BEGIN VBSTATUS-->
<vb:if condition="$vbulletin->options['vbstatus_active']">
<script type="text/javascript" src="{vb:raw vboptions.bburl}/vbstatus/mootools.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="{vb:raw vboptions.bburl}/vbstatus/vbstatus_javascript.js"></script>
</vb:if>
<!--END VBSTATUS-->
<script type="text/javascript" src="{vb:raw vboptions.bburl}/clientscript/pace.min.js"></script>
You might be able to find out the issue this way: use Chrome, press F12 (the developer console) and click on the console tab, then reload the page where the issue with the WYSIWYG editor is happening. Are there any errors showing up in the console?
tbworld
06-29-2014, 05:24 PM
Repost the above template code in code tags (# on editor) or soround you code in:
[code*
-- Your template text here. --
[/code*
Where * = closing bracket ']'
Send us a link to your site, it would make it a bit easier. :)
TTPlayground
06-29-2014, 05:39 PM
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset={vb:stylevar charset}" />
<meta id="e_vb_meta_bburl" name="vb_meta_bburl" content="{vb:raw vboptions.bburl}" />
<base href="{vb:raw basepath}" /><!--[if IE]></base><![endif]-->
<meta name="generator" content="vBulletin {vb:raw vboptions.templateversion}" />
<meta http-equiv="X-UA-Compatible" content="IE=9" />
<vb:if condition="$stylevar['favicon']">
<link rel="Shortcut Icon" href="{vb:stylevar favicon}" type="image/x-icon" />
</vb:if>
<vb:if condition="$show['threadinfo']">
<vb:elseif condition="$show['foruminfo']" />
<meta name="keywords" content="{vb:raw foruminfo.title_clean}, {vb:raw vboptions.keywords}" />
<meta name="description" content="<vb:if condition="$pagenumber > 1">{vb:rawphrase page_x, {vb:raw pagenumber}}-</vb:if>{vb:raw foruminfo.description_clean}" />
<vb:else />
<meta name="keywords" content="{vb:raw vboptions.keywords}" />
<meta name="description" content="{vb:raw vboptions.description}" />
</vb:if>
<vb:if condition="$show['fb_opengraph']">
{vb:raw facebook_opengraph}
</vb:if>
<vb:if condition="$show['remoteyui']">
<vb:if condition="$show['remoteyuicombo']">
<script type="text/javascript" src="{vb:stylevar yuicombopath}?{vb:stylevar yuiversion}/build/yuiloader-dom-event/yuiloader-dom-event.js&{vb:stylevar yuiversion}/build/connection/connection-min.js"></script>
<vb:else />
<script type="text/javascript" src="{vb:stylevar yuipath}/yuiloader-dom-event/yuiloader-dom-event.js"></script>
</vb:if>
</vb:if>
<script type="text/javascript">
<!--
if (typeof YAHOO === 'undefined') // Load ALL YUI Local
{
document.write('<script type="text/javascript" src="clientscript/yui/yuiloader-dom-event/yuiloader-dom-event.js?v={vb:raw vboptions.simpleversion}"><\/script>');
document.write('<script type="text/javascript" src="clientscript/yui/connection/connection-min.js?v={vb:raw vboptions.simpleversion}"><\/script>');
var yuipath = 'clientscript/yui';
var yuicombopath = '';
var remoteyui = false;
}
else // Load Rest of YUI remotely (where possible)
{
var yuipath = '{vb:stylevar yuipath}';
var yuicombopath = '{vb:stylevar yuicombopath}';
var remoteyui = true;
if (!yuicombopath)
{
document.write('<script type="text/javascript" src="{vb:stylevar yuipath}/connection/connection-min.js?v={vb:raw vboptions.simpleversion}"><\/script>');
}
}
var SESSIONURL = "{vb:raw session.sessionurl_js}";
var SECURITYTOKEN = "{vb:raw bbuserinfo.securitytoken}";
var IMGDIR_MISC = "{vb:stylevar imgdir_misc}";
var IMGDIR_BUTTON = "{vb:stylevar imgdir_button}";
var vb_disable_ajax = parseInt("{vb:raw vboptions.disable_ajax}", 10);
var SIMPLEVERSION = "{vb:raw vboptions.simpleversion}";
var BBURL = "{vb:raw vboptions.bburl}";
var LOGGEDIN = {vb:raw bbuserinfo.userid} > 0 ? true : false;
var THIS_SCRIPT = "{vb:raw this_script}";
var RELPATH = "{vb:raw relpath}";
var PATHS = {
forum : "{vb:raw vboptions.vbforum_url}",
cms : "{vb:raw vboptions.vbcms_url}",
blog : "{vb:raw vboptions.vbblog_url}"
};
var AJAXBASEURL = "{vb:raw ajaxbaseurl}";
// -->
</script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="{vb:raw vboptions.bburl}/clientscript/vbulletin-core.js?v={vb:raw vboptions.simpleversion}"></script>
{vb:raw template_hook.headinclude_javascript}
<vb:if condition="$vboptions['externalrss']">
<link rel="alternate" type="application/rss+xml" title="{vb:raw vboptions.bbtitle} {vb:rawphrase rss_feed}" href="{vb:raw vboptions.bburl}/external.php?type=RSS2" />
<vb:if condition="$show['foruminfo'] OR $show['threadinfo']">
<link rel="alternate" type="application/rss+xml" title="{vb:raw vboptions.bbtitle} - {vb:raw foruminfo.title_clean} - {vb:rawphrase rss_feed}" href="{vb:raw vboptions.bburl}/external.php?type=RSS2&forumids={vb:raw foruminfo.forumid}" />
</vb:if>
</vb:if>
<vb:if condition="$vboptions['storecssasfile']">
{vb:cssfile main-rollup.css}
{vb:raw template_hook.custom_css_links}
<vb:else />
{vb:cssfile bbcode.css,editor.css,popupmenu.css,reset-fonts.css,vbulletin.css,vbulletin-chrome.css,vbulletin-formcontrols.css{vb:raw template_hook.custom_css_list}}
</vb:if>
<!--[if lt IE 8]>
{vb:cssfile popupmenu-ie.css,vbulletin-ie.css,vbulletin-chrome-ie.css,vbulletin-formcontrols-ie.css,editor-ie.css}
<![endif]-->
{vb:raw template_hook.headinclude_css}
<!--BEGIN VBSTATUS-->
<vb:if condition="$vbulletin->options['vbstatus_active']">
<script type="text/javascript" src="{vb:raw vboptions.bburl}/vbstatus/mootools.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="{vb:raw vboptions.bburl}/vbstatus/vbstatus_javascript.js"></script>
</vb:if>
<!--END VBSTATUS-->
<script type="text/javascript" src="{vb:raw vboptions.bburl}/clientscript/pace.min.js"></script>
the site is http://toontownrepublic.com, but it's closed to admins since we just began putting it together within the day.
Also Dave this error shows:
Uncaught TypeError: Cannot read property 'setState' of undefined ckeditor.js?t=A7HG4HT&v=422:134
q.addMode.load ckeditor.js?t=A7HG4HT&v=422:134
e.editor.setMode ckeditor.js?t=A7HG4HT&v=422:111
(anonymous function) ckeditor.js?t=A7HG4HT&v=422:110
q ckeditor.js?t=A7HG4HT&v=422:6
e.event.fire ckeditor.js?t=A7HG4HT&v=422:6
e.editor.fire ckeditor.js?t=A7HG4HT&v=422:7
e.event.fireOnce ckeditor.js?t=A7HG4HT&v=422:6
e.editor.fireOnce ckeditor.js?t=A7HG4HT&v=422:7
e.themes.add.build ckeditor.js?t=A7HG4HT&v=422:132
(anonymous function) ckeditor.js?t=A7HG4HT&v=422:25
(anonymous function) ckeditor.js?t=A7HG4HT&v=422:23
x ckeditor.js?t=A7HG4HT&v=422:22
e.scriptLoader.load ckeditor.js?t=A7HG4HT&v=422:22
e.resourceManager.load ckeditor.js?t=A7HG4HT&v=422:23
y ckeditor.js?t=A7HG4HT&v=422:25
(anonymous function) ckeditor.js?t=A7HG4HT&v=422:25
x ckeditor.js?t=A7HG4HT&v=422:22
e.scriptLoader.load ckeditor.js?t=A7HG4HT&v=422:22
(anonymous function) ckeditor.js?t=A7HG4HT&v=422:25
(anonymous function) ckeditor.js?t=A7HG4HT&v=422:23
(anonymous function) ckeditor.js?t=A7HG4HT&v=422:23
x ckeditor.js?t=A7HG4HT&v=422:22
e.scriptLoader.load ckeditor.js?t=A7HG4HT&v=422:22
e.resourceManager.load ckeditor.js?t=A7HG4HT&v=422:23
t ckeditor.js?t=A7HG4HT&v=422:23
(anonymous function) ckeditor.js?t=A7HG4HT&v=422:23
(anonymous function) ckeditor.js?t=A7HG4HT&v=422:23
x ckeditor.js?t=A7HG4HT&v=422:22
e.scriptLoader.load ckeditor.js?t=A7HG4HT&v=422:22
e.resourceManager.load ckeditor.js?t=A7HG4HT&v=422:23
t ckeditor.js?t=A7HG4HT&v=422:23
(anonymous function) ckeditor.js?t=A7HG4HT&v=422:23
(anonymous function) ckeditor.js?t=A7HG4HT&v=422:23
x ckeditor.js?t=A7HG4HT&v=422:22
e.scriptLoader.load ckeditor.js?t=A7HG4HT&v=422:22
e.resourceManager.load ckeditor.js?t=A7HG4HT&v=422:23
t ckeditor.js?t=A7HG4HT&v=422:23
(anonymous function) ckeditor.js?t=A7HG4HT&v=422:23
w ckeditor.js?t=A7HG4HT&v=422:25
(anonymous function) ckeditor.js?t=A7HG4HT&v=422:24
e.lang.load ckeditor.js?t=A7HG4HT&v=422:22
v ckeditor.js?t=A7HG4HT&v=422:24
(anonymous function) ckeditor.js?t=A7HG4HT&v=422:25
C ckeditor.js?t=A7HG4HT&v=422:24
e.skins.q ckeditor.js?t=A7HG4HT&v=422:24
e.skins.load ckeditor.js?t=A7HG4HT&v=422:24
x ckeditor.js?t=A7HG4HT&v=422:25
u ckeditor.js?t=A7HG4HT&v=422:24
(anonymous function) ckeditor.js?t=A7HG4HT&v=422:24
q ckeditor.js?t=A7HG4HT&v=422:6
e.event.fire ckeditor.js?t=A7HG4HT&v=422:6
e.editor.fire ckeditor.js?t=A7HG4HT&v=422:7
e.event.fireOnce ckeditor.js?t=A7HG4HT&v=422:6
e.editor.fireOnce ckeditor.js?t=A7HG4HT&v=422:7
s ckeditor.js?t=A7HG4HT&v=422:24
(anonymous function) ckeditor.js?t=A7HG4HT&v=422:24
x ckeditor.js?t=A7HG4HT&v=422:22
y ckeditor.js?t=A7HG4HT&v=422:22
z ckeditor.js?t=A7HG4HT&v=422:22
(anonymous function)
Maybe the vBStatus scripts are interfering with the editor? Try to remove that part in the headinclude template.
TTPlayground
06-29-2014, 06:13 PM
I removed
<!--BEGIN VBSTATUS-->
<vb:if condition="$vbulletin->options['vbstatus_active']">
<script type="text/javascript" src="{vb:raw vboptions.bburl}/vbstatus/mootools.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="{vb:raw vboptions.bburl}/vbstatus/vbstatus_javascript.js"></script>
</vb:if>
<!--END VBSTATUS-->
and now the editor is working fine. vbstatus still seems to be working also, i'm just wondering if it will cause issues later if i leave it as is.
edit: it's not allowing me to edit the status. could i put this code in another place possibly so that it will still work?
tbworld
06-29-2014, 06:15 PM
Without seeing the site, I cannot give anymore suggestions. There is most likely a JavaScript error which is causing the CKEditor not to load properly.
--------------- Added 1404069670 at 1404069670 ---------------
You need to look at your browser's console as @Dave was explaining, it will tell you what JavaScript is malfunctioning. :)
I removed
<!--BEGIN VBSTATUS-->
<vb:if condition="$vbulletin->options['vbstatus_active']">
<script type="text/javascript" src="{vb:raw vboptions.bburl}/vbstatus/mootools.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="{vb:raw vboptions.bburl}/vbstatus/vbstatus_javascript.js"></script>
</vb:if>
<!--END VBSTATUS-->
and now the editor is working fine. vbstatus still seems to be working also, i'm just wondering if it will cause issues later if i leave it as is.
edit: it's not allowing me to edit the status. could i put this code in another place possibly so that it will still work?
The headinclude template will obviously be included into every page, you should include the vBStatus scripts only on the templates which require that functionality.
TTPlayground
06-29-2014, 06:44 PM
The headinclude template will obviously be included into every page, you should include the vBStatus scripts only on the templates which require that functionality.
I guess the easiest way to explain this will be to show you screenshots.
It requires functionality here,
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2014/06/2.png (threads)
and here,
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2014/06/3.png (profile)
This is to enable the editing feature. Where would you recommend that I place the code for those two areas? I tried postbit for threads but it did the same thing as before so I'm assuming that wasn't right.
I'm not sure, but you could try to place the vBStatus scripts in the footer template.
If that doesn't work, I wouldn't know what causes it since I didn't make that mod.
ozzy47
06-29-2014, 07:04 PM
Also you would need to ask in that mod's thread for support with it, as the general public will have no clue about it. :)
Chloe
06-29-2014, 07:13 PM
I found the template causing the issue, and I'm not sure what exactly in this code is causing it. I don't want to completely revert it if possible because I had to edit it for a few different mods. Would someone mind taking a look at it and seeing if you can tell what it is? This is the headinclude template:
I had something similar in the footer as i was adding newsfeeds in to my site but the raw code was fine. I had a similar problem with the editor though and without reverting, the removal of the additional CSS seemed to do the trick. I didn't have the time, nor means to go through the entire code, line by line though, so the forum is just doing without a few features / functions at the moment.
TTPlayground
06-29-2014, 08:04 PM
Thanks everyone for the help! I just went ahead and completely removed the mod, too much trouble to keep :P
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.