View Full Version : SQL Query Syntax
PSiggy
03-15-2014, 04:05 PM
Hi!
I'd like to ask about this:
https://www.vbulletin.com/docs/html/codestandards_sql_query
Is that syntax still valid in VB5? I'm trying to port some things I did back in VB4 to VB5 and this seems not to work at all.
If that syntax is still valid, can anyone give me some example of simple php code/widget that will do some reading from DB please?
Thank you!
DragonByte Tech
03-18-2014, 10:07 PM
Unfortunately that syntax isn't going to work at all :(
If you take a look at any of our released vB5 mods, you'll find a file /upload/core/packages/<packagename>/db/mysql/querydefs.php where complex queries are stored.
You then need to use the DB Assertor similar to this: $data = vB::getDbAssertor()->getRows('DBTechAjaxThreads:getDataForCache-' . $tableShort, array(vB_dB_Query::TYPE_KEY => vB_dB_Query::QUERY_STORED), false, $keyField);
Or if you want to run simpler queries, you can use something like $nodes = vB::getDbAssertor()->getRows('vBForum:node', array(
vB_dB_Query::TYPE_KEY => vB_dB_Query::QUERY_SELECT,
vB_dB_Query::COLUMNS_KEY => array('nodeid', 'lastupdate'),
vB_dB_Query::CONDITIONS_KEY => array(
array('field' => 'starter', 'value' => $nodeid, 'operator' => vB_dB_Query::OPERATOR_EQ)
)
));
I don't believe there's any documentation for this in the wild just yet, so your best bet would be to examine as many vB5 mods / core vB5 files as you can and try to pick it up as you go.
Hope that helps :)
Fillip
Lynne
03-18-2014, 10:17 PM
Yves wrote some documentation on it. Perhaps it is over on vbulletin.com
PSiggy
03-19-2014, 05:55 AM
Thank you for the reply!
AndroidXDA
03-19-2014, 07:14 AM
I need the code to pull something from a part of the database and display it under username in vbulletin.
Any help would be great!
Thx
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.