PDA

View Full Version : Can't rate a thread


katie hunter
12-11-2013, 03:44 AM
This bug suddenly appeared today and i have no idea from where it come from, did did disable my hook and still the issue existed.

Whenever i try to rate a topic, i can't because of this error

A required field called <em>ipaddress</em> is missing or has an invalid value.

The only topic i found talking about it is this and not much solution of what was causing it.

http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/forum/vbulletin-legacy-versions-products/legacy-vbulletin-versions/vbulletin-3-7-questions-problems-and-troubleshooting/277107-thread-rating-prompts-error

Any idea what would cause it and how to fix it?

ozzy47
12-11-2013, 03:57 AM
Lets try this:

Edit your includes/class_core.php file and find:

if ($proxy)
{
define('ALT_IP', $this->ipaddress);
define('IPADDRESS', $this->alt_ip);
}
else
{
define('IPADDRESS', $this->ipaddress);
define('ALT_IP', $this->alt_ip);
}

define('SESSION_HOST', substr(IPADDRESS, 0, 15));
}

And change it to this:

if ($proxy)
{
define('ALT_IP', $this->ipaddress);
define('IPADDRESS', $_SERVER['HTTP_X_FORWARDED_FOR']);
}
else
{
define('IPADDRESS', $this->ipaddress);
define('IPADDRESS', $_SERVER['HTTP_X_FORWARDED_FOR']);
}

define('SESSION_HOST', substr(IPADDRESS, 0, 15));
}

It may work, I can not say for sure as I am not getting that issue on my sites.

katie hunter
12-11-2013, 04:18 AM
Hi Chris, what is this change related to, like what does it do?

It was related to my modem, i restarted it and it works but it is pretty weird that i never experienced this bug before

ozzy47
12-11-2013, 04:26 AM
Ok then I would disregard the above. If restarting you modem worked, then for some odd reason the server could not read your IP address.

The above fix I suggested was just a test, as it was reported to work elsewhere for a similar issue.

katie hunter
12-11-2013, 08:24 AM
ok thanks (: i will add it if this issue comes back.

katie hunter
04-14-2014, 11:26 AM
Lets try this:

Edit your includes/class_core.php file and find:

if ($proxy)
{
define('ALT_IP', $this->ipaddress);
define('IPADDRESS', $this->alt_ip);
}
else
{
define('IPADDRESS', $this->ipaddress);
define('ALT_IP', $this->alt_ip);
}

define('SESSION_HOST', substr(IPADDRESS, 0, 15));
}

And change it to this:

if ($proxy)
{
define('ALT_IP', $this->ipaddress);
define('IPADDRESS', $_SERVER['HTTP_X_FORWARDED_FOR']);
}
else
{
define('IPADDRESS', $this->ipaddress);
define('IPADDRESS', $_SERVER['HTTP_X_FORWARDED_FOR']);
}

define('SESSION_HOST', substr(IPADDRESS, 0, 15));
}

It may work, I can not say for sure as I am not getting that issue on my sites.

Hi Chris, i've tried this but it didn't work, i still can't rate a thread, the only way to fix it is if i restart my dsl but that is not the proper way for a feature.