PDA

View Full Version : Adding a graphicz Border to my forum Help.


Harpo
11-17-2013, 11:05 AM
Forgive me If I placed this in the wrong section.

Well I am trying to add a left and right border to my forum. If you see the attachments you will see my left & right borders I plan on using as the border for my forum. Another sample is supplied to give you guys a visualization of what I am trying to do.

The red lines indicate where I want my borders to go. If anyone can assist me that would be awesome. :)

webmastersun
11-17-2013, 11:55 AM
your idea looks like my forum border that I made http://www.webmastersun.com ?
you need create a image file with height 1px and width depends on your forum width

add css
.mainwrapper
{
width: 1025px;
margin-top: 0px;
margin-right: auto;
margin-bottom: 0px;
margin-left: auto;
background-color: transparent;
background-image: url("http://www.webmastersun.com/images/piewrapm.png");
background-repeat: repeat-y;
background-attachment: scroll;
background-position: left top;
background-clip: border-box;
background-origin: padding-box;
background-size: auto auto;
z-index: -1;
}

If you have problem let me know.

Good luck!

ozzy47
11-17-2013, 12:37 PM
You would of course have to change this line to your site and image path.

background-image: url("http://www.webmastersun.com/images/piewrapm.png");

Harpo
11-17-2013, 12:42 PM
Hmm nope never saw your website before.

Also your code did not work for me. The background image did not show up. I added the code to additional.css. was that the correct section?

Anyone else?

--------------- Added 1384699485 at 1384699485 ---------------

You would of course have to change this line to your site and image path.

background-image: url("http://www.webmastersun.com/images/piewrapm.png");
Affirmative. :)

Also webmastersun it did not work but thanks.

Lynne
11-17-2013, 05:59 PM
Did you add a div with class mainwrapper around your forums (or whatever you want to have the border)? If you don't use that class, then any CSS you write for it is useless.

Harpo
11-18-2013, 12:34 AM
Did you add a div with class mainwrapper around your forums (or whatever you want to have the border)? If you don't use that class, then any CSS you write for it is useless.

No I did not. Would you mind explaining how? I've just been playing around with the Stlyevars. No good.

Lynne
11-18-2013, 02:18 AM
You need to put <div class="mainwrapper"> around the area you want to have the border (and the </div> at the end).

webmastersun
11-18-2013, 03:53 AM
No I did not. Would you mind explaining how? I've just been playing around with the Stlyevars. No good.
Send forum link here and I will send you right CSS style for your forum.

Cheers!

Harpo
11-18-2013, 05:27 AM
Link sent through PM.

whitetailworld
05-09-2014, 12:11 PM
Did you get the border in? I am curious to this as well. could you send me a link to the finished product? Thanks!

webmastersun
05-14-2014, 12:35 AM
Link sent through PM.
I have not received your PM yet

You need to put <div class="mainwrapper"> around the area you want to have the border (and the </div> at the end).
I agree with this
or Harpo need to change mainwrapper to your main dive on your forum, it will work.