View Full Version : Adding a hook into a specific member block tab?
findingpeace
10-15-2013, 08:09 PM
I made a plugin that lets members view their recent "Thanks" in a member profile block tab.
Works great, except that this plugin also empties the "Thanks" notification whenever it is called. Problem is, the hook is in member_complete, which loads any time the member profile is loaded.
So if I have 3 "Thanks", and then click my profile (NOT the Thank Tab), it empties them. Even though I never viewed my recent Thanks tab.
How can I set these queries only to run from that specific tab?
Thanks!
Lynne
10-15-2013, 09:20 PM
Then I would guess you have something in your code that is doing this. Make sure you only have lines in your code that you know what they are doing.
findingpeace
10-15-2013, 09:49 PM
Thanks Lynne! In this case, I actually do want the code to clear the notifications. So that's working as expected... But I want the clear only to happen when someone goes to the URL member.php?2012-findingpeace&tab=thanks - not all other parts of member.php, which is what member_complete seems to do
Lynne
10-17-2013, 01:40 AM
Then the code to erase the notifications need to be within a condition that will only run if $_GET['tab'] is equal to thanks. (And that isn't going to be too easy since the tabs are 'changed' via ajax.)
findingpeace
10-17-2013, 10:52 AM
Thanks you! I actually don't need the clear to happen on ajax switches - only when the direct tab URL is accessed, like this:
member.php?2012-findingpeace&tab=thanks
Would that possibly be easier to code?
Lynne
10-17-2013, 05:23 PM
Then you would want to put a condition around that part of your code (the clear notices part) to only happen when $_GET['tab'] is equal to thanks.
findingpeace
10-17-2013, 08:15 PM
You are the best!!!! That did the trick, thank you :)
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.