PDA

View Full Version : field description has a { in it


Robertcdl
09-21-2013, 08:31 AM
When making a field with several selections field height is to small and a { in placed in front of field description

Admin here told me look at VBIV-6909 and provided a link to fix this known issue.
But the link was lost due to having to sign-in

Went to vbulletin support to resolve the issue they don't have a clue what she was talking about.

So, what's the answer for a layman

I tried to hire someone that has done over 400 vbulletin ver 4 sites and this is his response:

I'm sorry but I don't work with vBulletin 5 yet. It's unstable. You will rarely find a large forum or even an active forum that is using vb5. Except vbulletin official forum because they need to market the vb5.

If you're planning to continue with vbulletin 5, you may try other contractors

I'm sorry about that..

And also, there are forum functions that are not yet available to vbulletin 5.
My client who used vbulletin 5 lost some members because there are random issues, like unable to post, sometimes showing blank pages, etc..



So what do I do ask for a REFUND or will someone help with a decent answer?:mad:

marco_kellershoff
09-22-2013, 08:43 AM
I would try to help you, but I'm afraid to tell you that I do not understand what problem you are facing. Possibly its just a lack of punctuation, but it's really hard to guess what you mean. Please be so kind and take your time to write down what you want and try to respect some basic punctuation rules :)

Robertcdl
09-22-2013, 10:11 AM
I've tried to tell you before but you refuse to allow me to email you using outlook so I can attach a picture. I've explained before I do not have the basic skills on uploading (insert) images for all to see by putting a url address. Heck I can not even figure out how to get a htm file uploaded to my server to show the pictures in it. even after uploading the pictures there too.

Anyway if you really wanna help please provide me with your email address if not...
Thanks and Thank you for posting
Happy coding

Would love to see your fix the problem and post the picture here

Lynne
09-22-2013, 03:12 PM
In the userfield_select template, change this line:
<div class="field-desc">{{vb:raw profilefield.description}</div>
to this:
<div class="field-desc">{vb:raw profilefield.description}</div>

Robertcdl
09-22-2013, 09:38 PM
Thanks Lynne your solution worked. :)
Logged into vbulletin admin control panel went to Styles & Templates than Style Manager and found userfield_select and deleted one of the { again thanks!

Now if you can tell how to fix the Single-Selection Menu display height so I can see what's in the
box I could rest a little easier

Lynne
09-22-2013, 11:25 PM
You know, are you sure you aren't the only one having an issue with the menu display height? Have you tried logging in and viewing the page from someone else's computer? The reason I ask is because it looks totally fine to me in Chrome, firefox, Safari, and even Opera. See this image from my totally default style (except I removed the { when testing to give you the solution)

Firefox:
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/attachment.php?attachmentid=146489&stc=1&d=1379895734

Safari:
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/attachment.php?attachmentid=146490&stc=1&d=1379895854

I could take an image using every browser, but they would all look exactly the same. So, have you changed something either in your browsers or on your site?

Robertcdl
09-23-2013, 12:19 AM
Why is yours o.k.
My brain hurts


https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2013/09/7.jpg

--------------- Added 1379905794 at 1379905794 ---------------

What version are you testing with?
I'm running
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2013/09/8.jpg


Made the mistake of trying to log onto site in chrome using https://website.com instead of http://website.com
Logging onto website in Chrome using http no error messages and everything loads ok
How do we fix Field Height Problem?
Feel free to look at website it may help us? :)

marco_kellershoff
09-23-2013, 12:29 PM
It's more a quick hack than a good solution, but it should work:

AdminCP -> Styles & Templates -> .. choose your template .. -> Edit Templates (from Dropdown) -> User Profile Field Templates (doubleclick) -> userfield_textbox (doubleclick)

Yours should read something like this:
<input type="text" class="textbox" name="userfield[{vb:raw profilefieldname}]" id="cfield_{vb:raw profilefield.profilefieldid}" value="{vb:raw profilefield.currentvalue}" maxlength="{vb:raw profilefield.maxlength}" />

just add the following to it:
style="height:auto!important;"

So in the end it should look something like this:
<input type="text" class="textbox" name="userfield[{vb:raw profilefieldname}]" id="cfield_{vb:raw profilefield.profilefieldid}" value="{vb:raw profilefield.currentvalue}" maxlength="{vb:raw profilefield.maxlength}" style="height:auto!important;" />


Keep us posted if it worked for you :)

Robertcdl
09-24-2013, 02:58 AM
cool your solution made the field height in User Register -> Additional Information field height about half the height of vBulletin User Register Fields for email address fields and did not effect those. It also did not have any effect on the Single - Selection Menu in Additional Information.
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2013/09/3.jpg

vBulletin seems to have a center and field height problem in other parts of their program too.

Note on my User Profile Page the centering problem

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2013/09/4.jpg

vBulletin Forum Register Page has the same problem

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2013/09/5.jpg

marco_kellershoff
09-24-2013, 05:54 AM
I don't have time for this bouncing question and answer stuff - PM me your accessdata to your admincp and I'll fix this for you.

Robertcdl
10-10-2013, 11:19 PM
When the new Microsoft explorer came out half the drop down menus on Scottrade would not work. Took Microsoft months to fix the problem so Scottrade would work ok. I think we are having a similar problem here. e.g. a few days ago Flynax.com State Field would not display the states. We spent over an hour trying to resolve it and could not. Just for kicks I went into Microsoft explore safety and disabled Turn off Smartscreen Filter and it resolved the issue. Another site had to go to Safety again and disable ActiveX Filtering

Has anyone got it to display correctly in Microsoft Explorer 10?

Robertcdl
10-12-2013, 08:08 AM
I think it could be the version your running of Zend Guard or IonCibe
Im running the NEWEST


You know, are you sure you aren't the only one having an issue with the menu display height? Have you tried logging in and viewing the page from someone else's computer? The reason I ask is because it looks totally fine to me in Chrome, firefox, Safari, and even Opera. See this image from my totally default style (except I removed the { when testing to give you the solution)

Firefox:
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/attachment.php?attachmentid=146489&stc=1&d=1379895734

Safari:
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/attachment.php?attachmentid=146490&stc=1&d=1379895854

I could take an image using every browser, but they would all look exactly the same. So, have you changed something either in your browsers or on your site?

Robertcdl
10-28-2013, 12:20 AM
It must be the site because it displays it this way on all web browser

But that does not explain why vBulletin themselfs has the same problem

I wounder if you changed something

When I first got vbullrtin I had this problem but I did change something that was very basic and it corrected it. After installing the update the problem reappeared and I can not recall what I did to correct it

Lynne
10-28-2013, 07:15 PM
If you reverted some templates after the upgrade, then the fix will be gone and you need to add it again.

Robertcdl
10-28-2013, 11:06 PM
yeah but I cannot remember what I did to fix it

thanks

Robertcdl
11-18-2013, 01:37 AM
If you reverted some templates after the upgrade, then the fix will be gone and you need to add it again.

I was thinking if you could post your code I could compare it to my default

Lynne
11-18-2013, 03:19 AM
I posted the fix in post 3.

Robertcdl
11-18-2013, 04:07 AM
Yes you did for the { problem. But you did not offer a solution to Sign Up. The multiple selection probem e.g. Please select state.

Any way the code style="height:auto!important;" corrected the height problem but caused other problems with Sign Up. Had to remove it. Placement may have been a problem.

My User Profile Field Template for userfield_text box is:

<div class="form_row">
<label class="label_column">{vb:raw profilefield.title}</label>
<div class="field_column">
<input type="text" class="textbox" name="userfield[{vb:raw profilefieldname}]" id="cfield_{vb:raw profilefield.profilefieldid}"value"={vb:raw profilefield.currentvalue}"maxlength="{vb:raw profilefield.maxlength} />
<div class="field-desc">{vb:raw profilefield.description}</div>
<input type="hidden" name="userfield[{vb:raw profilefieldname}_set]" value="1" />
</div>
</div>

THERE'S A PROBLEM SOMEWHERE IN THE DEFAULT CODE.
Can anyone see a problem?

--------------- Added 1384796782 at 1384796782 ---------------

Hired a pro to fix the problem he had seen the problem several times before and fixed the issue.

I'm amazed that no one here knew the solution

visit http://www.cdlassociation.com/forum/ Sign Up to see everything displaying ok now

Thanks