View Full Version : Limit Font Size in Posts?
MattGarner
05-12-2013, 11:58 AM
Is there a easy way to limit the font sizes that users can use in the posts? I know you can take the numbers from the drop down menu but they can then edit the actual BBcode and put whatever size they wish to use. I know one way of doing it but it means doing it for every single number that exists and that would take a lot of time.
Anyone got any solutions?
Cheers
Lynne
05-12-2013, 04:02 PM
If you look at the page source, you will see something like this:
<font size="7">Hello</font>
So, if you don't want the font to be any larger than font size 4, then you could use replacements variables to change "<font size="7">" to "<font size="4">" (and similar for size 5 and 6).
MattGarner
05-12-2013, 04:26 PM
If you look at the page source, you will see something like this:
<font size="7">Hello</font>
So, if you don't want the font to be any larger than font size 4, then you could use replacements variables to change "<font size="7">" to "<font size="4">" (and similar for size 5 and 6).
We've tried that but noticed if a person changed the number themselves to say something like 20 it would remain at around font size 8. Even if we already told it to replace font size 8 with a lower font size - Do you know a way round that without having to add it for numbers above 10 etc?
Lynne
05-12-2013, 04:50 PM
I don't know of a (simple) way. You may be able to use javascript to set a max font size? Can't you just ask your users to not do that?
nerbert
05-12-2013, 05:08 PM
It shouldn't be hard to make a plugin for showthread_complete that uses preg_replace() to fix it. I'll see what I can do. (I'm slow and lazy though!)
--------------- Added 1368386382 at 1368386382 ---------------
TRy this:
Product: vBulletin
Hook Location: showthread_complete
Title: Whatever
Execution Order: 5
$max_size = "4";
$pattern = '/<font size="(\d{2,}|[^1-' . $max_size . '])">/';
$replace = '<font size="' . $max_size . '">';
$postbits = preg_replace($pattern, $replace, $postbits);
MattGarner
05-12-2013, 07:34 PM
It shouldn't be hard to make a plugin for showthread_complete that uses preg_replace() to fix it. I'll see what I can do. (I'm slow and lazy though!)
--------------- Added 1368386382 at 1368386382 ---------------
TRy this:
Product: vBulletin
Hook Location: showthread_complete
Title: Whatever
Execution Order: 5
$max_size = "4";
$pattern = '/<font size="(\d{2,}|[^1-' . $max_size . '])">/';
$replace = '<font size="' . $max_size . '">';
$postbits = preg_replace($pattern, $replace, $postbits);
That worked like a treat! Thank you very much
nerbert
05-13-2013, 06:40 PM
Just thought of something, the regular expression should probably be case inssensitive just in case. Add an "i" at the end of the value of $pattern
$pattern = '/<font size="(\d{2,}|[^1-' . $max_size . '])">/i';
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.