View Full Version : remove CMS content redirect
mikez006
04-13-2013, 12:55 AM
I just upgraded from 4.2 to 4.2 suite and have setup the CMS to be the sites homepage, however the homepage is now mysite.com/content/ instead of just mysite.com.
Can someone help me to change this to just my domain and remove the redirect. I've found a dozen or so posts about this issue, but none of them have worked for me. I'm willing to pay for the help.
OFFSHORE DAN
09-08-2013, 01:04 AM
I just figured out how to do this and this is what worked for me.
1. Credit these guys from this thread for this plugin:
http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/forum/vbulletin-4/vbulletin-4-questions-problems-and-troubleshooting/377824-stop-cms-redirecting-to-content
Create plugin using init_startup as the hook.
if ($_SERVER['REQUEST_URI'] == '/')
{
$vbulletin->options['friendlyurl_canonical'] = 0;
}
if ($_SERVER['REQUEST_URI'] == '/content/')
{
exec_header_redirect('/', 301);
}
2. Go to your index.php in 4.21 and change
require('forum.php');
to
require('content.php');
3. Vboptions:
CMS Component URL: Optional URL for your CMS: Put in your domain http://www.domain.com
4. Vb Options: Friendsly urls -> Mod Rewrite Friendly URLs (on)
5. Enforce Canonical URL -> Standard
6. Friendly URL Unicode -> Convert to UTF-8
7. NCR Encode UTF-8 URLs for IE -> Yes
8. Change content tab in navigation manager to : index.php
I hope this helps because I just spent 4 hours trying to figure out a way to get it all working. Now my default content page does not have the /content/ on it.
mattltm
02-16-2014, 12:07 PM
Perfect!
This thread should have way more "thanks" comments based on the number of people that seem to ask how to do this.
Great job and works perfect on 4.2.2
sergioloporto
05-14-2014, 11:50 AM
8. Change content tab in navigation manager to : index.php
I hope this helps because I just spent 4 hours trying to figure out a way to get it all working. Now my default content page does not have the /content/ on it.
Hi, I did all the steps, but when I apply this last step, and I replace content.php{session.sessionurl_q} with index.php{session.sessionurl_q}, then the CMS stops working and no matter if I go to the / homepage, or /content/ or /forums/ it always shows the forum page.
Anything wrong?
charlesr
06-05-2014, 11:44 AM
The only problem I hit was somehow I ended up with Optional URL for your CMS as http//http://www.bordersdown.net After I corrected it, this all worked.
THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU OFFSHORE DAN. Been trying to figure this out for months now.
I'm now off to do a backup :)
charlesr
06-08-2014, 07:39 AM
Slight modification to this. I made the target url for the articles tab to be my domain's url (instead of "index.php"). Not sure if this makes any different to google, but it might. Otherwise it might think that the homepage and the /index.php page are 2 different pages with duplicate content.
majjed2008
05-12-2015, 11:16 AM
thank you very much
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.