PDA

View Full Version : Style Issue with IE8


ptmuldoon
02-22-2013, 02:37 PM
I'm hoping somoone can call help me trying to learn why a style looks correct in Chrome, but not in IE8.

I'm setting up a new Clan website, and purchased a style from gamesitetemplates.com and am trying to get support from them, but they are very slow to respond, (yet fast to take your money!)

I purchased their Templar Skin, and have a site set up here.

www.lordsofvalkyrie.com

Would anyone know why it looks bad in IE8? At first glance, it looks as if it is missing alot of images. Could just a be a css issue of some type?

Thanks in advance for any help!

Digital Jedi
02-22-2013, 03:13 PM
Sometimes syntax errors in CSS can cause it to fail in some browsers. Sometimes it's just something simple, but buried in the code. Surprised this wasn't tested before making it available to the public, but then, I see they don't have a demo of the skins, either. I recommend never purchasing a skin unless you can see a live demo and test it out first.

I can probably take a look at it a little later, if you don't mind someone poking around your Admin CP. I'd only need basic permissions.

ptmuldoon
02-22-2013, 04:41 PM
Digital

Thanks for being willing to take a look at it.

I sent you a PM with some login info. Hopefully I poke around in the templates myself later today.

Digital Jedi
02-22-2013, 08:04 PM
I think I addressed your IE issue. The issue was in doc_background. I had read that background images broke in IE if there wasn't a space after the image URL's closing parentheses. But I had never actually seen it in practice before. Turns out it's true.

So it was:
url(images/gamesite/background.jpg)top center scroll

When it should have been:
url(images/gamesite/background.jpg) top center scroll

The other issue is a bit more complicated. You'll notice that your navbar is not clickable on the forums. And partially missing if viewed in IE. The navbar was constructed badly, and I can't imagine it being fixed without being totally reconstructed. I think, maybe, they were trying to put Advanced Search in the small links below the navbar, but with the position set at absolute, that's really only going to work if your browser is that particular width. I would have constructed this completely different, myself. I would try and get them to fix this, because this is something of a glaring error.

ptmuldoon
02-22-2013, 11:05 PM
Digital.

Thank you so much for finding that!. I'm finding a couple of other small issues between chrome and IE as well, that I will try and resolve on my own.

For example, the forum User Quick links (Ie, Private Messages |FAQ, et) don't work in Chrome, yet they do in IE. It also looks like its not quite wide enough.

I've got 2 hours between planes here traveling today, so will see what I can learn.

Digital Jedi
02-23-2013, 04:32 AM
The div where they put the search box is a large part of the navbar problem. When you highlight all the floated elements on a page, you can see the div containing the search field and the Advanced Search link covers the entire navbar. It's set to absolute positioning, and padded something like 300px or so on the right. I tried setting the z-index to -1 to see if that would help, but even if that worked (which it didn't, oddly), it wouldn't have addressed the positioning issue.

143908

One thing I didn't try was taking out all that padding on the right, and instead setting the margins to that same width. Again, a temp fix, but at least the links should have been clickable in webkit browsers. I'm not sure how that would have affected IE. The CSS class that controls the search box is globalsearch. I believe it was in the forumhome.css template.