PDA

View Full Version : Want hard 404 error instead of soft 404 error


Expert1
02-15-2013, 07:04 PM
Hello, i am getting soft 404 error on broken url or deleted threads. And it shows No Thread specified. If you followed a valid link, please notify the administrator. Example link given below.
http://www.techhotfix.com/forum/showthread.php/1378-how-to-transfer-balance-in-airtel-to-a..

Actually I want hard 404 error instead above error. Please help me

--------------- Added 1360993150 at 1360993150 ---------------

Please help me...

--------------- Added 1361001140 at 1361001140 ---------------

I have also ask this same question here but no solution. Please help.
https://www.vbulletin.com/forum/showthread.php/416961-Getting-soft-404-error-in-google-web-master-tools

Expert1
02-18-2013, 05:40 AM
Is there any one to help me?

Expert1
02-25-2013, 09:41 AM
please reply..............

mokujin
02-25-2013, 10:08 AM
Try this: Go to admincp, add new plugin showthread_getinfo

Then paste this code:

// check for visible / deleted thread
if ((!$thread['visible'] AND !can_moderate($thread['forumid'], 'canmoderateposts'))
OR ($thread['isdeleted'] AND !can_moderate($thread['forumid'])))
{
exec_header_redirect('vbbnotfound.php');
}

Hope it help you.

Expert1
03-04-2013, 08:36 AM
Try this: Go to admincp, add new plugin showthread_getinfo

Then paste this code:

// check for visible / deleted thread
if ((!$thread['visible'] AND !can_moderate($thread['forumid'], 'canmoderateposts'))
OR ($thread['isdeleted'] AND !can_moderate($thread['forumid'])))
{
exec_header_redirect('vbbnotfound.php');
}

Hope it help you.

Hi, this code is not helped me. Please tell me if you have any other solution.

cdoyle
12-30-2013, 02:57 PM
Sorry for bumping an old thread, but I'm having the exact same issue.
Webmaster tools shows a ton of soft 404s, and when I try and go to the pages I'm seeing the same as thing as the OP. The specified thread does not exist message.

--------------- Added 1388441097 at 1388441097 ---------------

Wow, the more I read up on this and see it's a known issue that VB has pretty said they don't care about or going to try and fix.

http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/forum/vbulletin-4/vbulletin-4-questions-problems-and-troubleshooting/427090-getting-soft-404-error-in-google-web-master-tools?_=1388426505040

http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/forum/vbulletin-4/vbulletin-4-questions-problems-and-troubleshooting/427090-getting-soft-404-error-in-google-web-master-tools

their official response is to check with vb.org if you want it fixed. Does anyone have any solutions to this?

Shouldn't the correct header be a 410 gone?