PDA

View Full Version : Facebook App Modification


sivaganeshk
11-11-2012, 11:00 PM
Here are few modifications I made to vBulletin Facebook App. Hope it helps other users .

Important : Please backup all the files before making any changes.

Feature 1: Last Thread information on Forum Home

Default :

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2012/11/26.jpg

New Look :

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2012/11/27.jpg

Code changes :

1. Open Forums.php

2. Find the code
Code:
<?php echo timedisplay($forum['lastpostinfo']['lastposttime']); ?><br/>

3. Replace with

Code:
<?php // SG Change 1 ?>
<a href="<?php echo "https://apps.facebook.com/appname/category_item.php?category=Forum_Threads_".$forum['forumid']."&id=".$forum['lastpostinfo']['lastthreadid']."&goto=newpost"; ?>"><?php echo substr($forum['lastpostinfo']['lastthread'],0,40); ?></a> <br />

replace appname with your facebook app .

P.S: 41 characters of the thread title will be visible. Having more and more characters will look ugly.

Feature 2 : Post "Users reply" in facebook wall instead of Posted a reply on APP NAME

Default :

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2012/11/28.jpg

New Look :

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2012/11/29.jpg


https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2012/11/30.jpg

1. Open editor.php

2. Find the code

Code:

public function wall($title, $message) {
$opt = array();
$opt['message'] = $this->wallMessage();
$opt['link'] = FACEBOOK_CANVAS_URL . $this->redirect;
$opt['name'] = ThreadInfo::get($this->thread_id)->getName();
$opt['caption'] = '';
$opt['description'] = '';
$this->send_to_wall($opt);
}

replace with

Code:

public function wall($title, $message) {
$opt = array();
$opt['message'] = $message;
$opt['link'] = FACEBOOK_CANVAS_URL . $this->redirect;
$opt['name'] = ThreadInfo::get($this->thread_id)->getName();
$opt['caption'] = '';
$opt['description'] = $message ;
$this->send_to_wall($opt);
}

Feature 3 : View the current thread on Forum Site

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2012/11/31.jpg

1. Open category_item.php

2. Find
Code:

public function renderItem($category, $id, $page) {
echo CategoryContentItem::get($category, $id, $page)->getHtml();
return time() + 3;
}


3. Replace with

Code:

public function renderItem($category, $id, $page) {
echo CategoryContentItem::get($category, $id, $page)->getHtml();
$threadShowThread = CategoryContentItem::getRedirect($category, $id, $page);
echo "<center><b><a href=\"http://collegers.net/{$threadShowThread}\"> View this article on Forum</a><br/> <br/>Similar Threads </b></center><br/>";
return time() + 3;
}

Don't forget to change FORUM URL.

Please donate - sivaganesh_sg@yahoo.com (PayPal) . That's the only reason I'm sharing this modification . "I want to save money to own a 13 inch Macbook Pro"
Edit(6 Dec) : Need only $200 more to buy it

If you find any bug while using it, please report it here. I'm college student and will update with more feature whenever I find time.

abdobasha2004
12-06-2012, 01:14 AM
please suggest these useful edits to vBulletin team as they were asking about feedback lately
Great work

sivaganeshk
12-06-2012, 01:40 PM
please suggest these useful edits to vBulletin team as they were asking about feedback lately
Great work


I lost hope. Waiting from the day I purchased and installed the fb app(6 months - No updates).

shellys
02-21-2013, 10:28 PM
Hi,
Can you please explain what this Mode Does in detail as i am looking to integrate it in EWD (http://www.ewebdiscussion.com) Forum. This is a vbulleting 4 forum with patch 3 installed. Although i thank you that you explained in detail on how to implement this but please also explain in detail what would be achieved after using this plugin.

Dorgham
02-25-2013, 12:01 PM
It's a great idea
But you need a lot of support from vBulletin
a great job
I wish you luck and success :)

sivaganeshk
02-25-2013, 12:18 PM
Hi,
Can you please explain what this Mode Does in detail as i am looking to integrate it in EWD (http://www.ewebdiscussion.com) Forum. This is a vbulleting 4 forum with patch 3 installed. Although i thank you that you explained in detail on how to implement this but please also explain in detail what would be achieved after using this plugin.

You can look at the Default and New Look image to see what can be achieved.

matrex722
03-24-2013, 05:27 PM
wow i was looking for it
but please is there any solution for encoding utf 8 ?

http://www.7elm3aber.com/vb

as you see i use utf-8
and words looks like weird