View Full Version : Miscellaneous Hacks - Integrated HTTP Errors
liamwli
09-16-2012, 10:00 PM
I have made this nice mod :)
This mod will redirect users to a nicely vbulletin formatted error page if they encounter a http error.
It handles:
401 errors
403 errors
404 errors
and 500 errors.
See the screenshot to see what I mean :)
This mod requires 2 files to be uploaded. PLEASE READ THE INCLUDED README FILE IN THE ZIP. IT CONTAINS IMPORTANT INSTALL INFO.
One file is a modified .htaccess file. This will need to be renamed after upload. Please remember to backup your old .htaccess file.
There is a screenie below :) (Look at the circled items)
Any issues, just reply to the thread :)
Please mark as installed and consider nominating, and thanks for reading!
liamwli
09-17-2012, 05:55 PM
Reserved
ahobilam
09-18-2012, 02:27 PM
Installed.
How to check it?
And
Is there a way to customize the error messages
with some graphics?
liamwli
09-18-2012, 02:30 PM
Installed.
How to check it?
And
Is there a way to customize the error messages
with some graphics?
To check it just go to a non existent folder/page on your forum to get a 404 error.
The error messages are provided via phrases, just search in the phrase manager for the error text, and then you can use standard HTML to add images etc.
The {1} item in the phrase is the url the person tried to visit.
Adem GEN?
09-18-2012, 10:00 PM
Installed, a nice mod, thanks
autoescala
09-19-2012, 09:27 AM
works fine with vbseo ?
Regards
liamwli
09-20-2012, 05:05 AM
works fine with vbseo ?
Regards
It should do, although I haven't tested it with vbseo.
You may have to manually add the htaccess error documents to the vbseo htaccess file.
ahobilam
09-20-2012, 01:53 PM
To check it just go to a non existent folder/page on your forum to get a 404 error.
The error messages are provided via phrases, just search in the phrase manager for the error text, and then you can use standard HTML to add images etc.
The {1} item in the phrase is the url the person tried to visit.
Sir,
I am getting the error as below, I doubt this mod is working for me?
No more option is found in settings other than Active - Yes - No, I made it yes only.
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/
liamwli
09-20-2012, 02:24 PM
Sir,
I am getting the error as below, I doubt this mod is working for me?
No more option is found in settings other than Active - Yes - No, I made it yes only.
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/24348664/images/error.JPG
Please could you tell me the steps you took to get that? And did you rename the htacess file?
TheSupportForum
09-23-2012, 06:30 PM
anyone that doesnt have this working ensure you just add
RewriteEngine on
ErrorDocument 401 /errors.php?do=401
ErrorDocument 404 /errors.php?do=404
ErrorDocument 403 /errors.php?do=403
ErrorDocument 500 /errors.php?do=500
to .htaccess
that it
liamwli
09-24-2012, 03:32 PM
anyone that doesnt have this working ensure you just add
RewriteEngine on
ErrorDocument 401 /errors.php?do=401
ErrorDocument 404 /errors.php?do=404
ErrorDocument 403 /errors.php?do=403
ErrorDocument 500 /errors.php?do=500
to .htaccess
that it
Which basically what the modified htaccess file is :)
I, however, do not know how to use it with nginx. I have only ever used nginx once :)
TheSupportForum
09-24-2012, 04:57 PM
Which basically what the modified htaccess file is :)
I, however, do not know how to use it with nginx. I have only ever used nginx once :)
error_page 401 = /errors.php?do=401;
error_page 404 = /errors.php?do=404;
error_page 403 = /errors.php?do=403;
error_page 500 = /errors.php?do=500;
for nginx
TheSupportForum
10-07-2012, 10:53 AM
ok lets see the changed
Integrated-HTTP-Errors-1.2.zip
1) license field & check URL added ( not needed )
this is a simple URL redirect script for http errors
2) link to your website ( branded option )
i think we would not want to show something like this on a redirect script to be honest it doesnt make it look professional
this mod has not been updated at all accept for 1 extra field entry and a license check URL
so its not worth the download for me
liamwli
10-07-2012, 10:56 AM
ok lets see the changed
Integrated-HTTP-Errors-1.2.zip
1) license field & check URL added ( not needed )
this is a simple URL redirect script for http errors
2) link to your website ( branded option )
i think we would not want to show something like this on a redirect script to be honest it doesnt make it look professional
this mod has not been updated at all accept for 1 extra field entry and a license check URL
so its not worth the download for me
Which is why I said optional update.
TBH - It would have made sense to not send the update email, I know.
TheSupportForum
10-07-2012, 11:00 AM
Which is why I said optional update.
TBH - It would have made sense to not send the update email, I know.
the problem with this is your licence url it informing you of all who has installed it
rather than the other way round
this option need to be active only if they enter a key
otherwise it breaches many laws
1) your website URL does not work http://liamwli.co.uk/
2) you need to have a policy on your website that indicate that you collect IP addresses from customers who download your mods, and why you collect them, due to this being a paid option and the fact you use a remote file to get Users IP address
liamwli
10-07-2012, 11:05 AM
the problem with this is your licence url it informing you of all who has installed it
rather than the other way round
this option need to be active only if they enter a key
otherwise it breaches many laws
1) your website URL does not work http://liamwli.co.uk/
2) you need to have a policy on your website that indicate that you collect IP addresses from customers who download your mods, and why you collect them, due to this being a paid option and the fact you use a remote file to get Users IP address
It doesn't collect any IP addresses, actually.
If you really want to know how it works, check the extra plugin.
P.S
My URL does work
TheSupportForum
10-07-2012, 11:08 AM
It doesn't collect any IP addresses, actually.
If you really want to know how it works, check the extra plugin.
yes it does i know it does
the second you install your product it called this
$url = 'http://liamwli.co.uk/liccheck.php';
$fields = array(
'key' => urlencode($vbulletin->options['liam_bfkey']),
'url' => urlencode($_SERVER['HTTP_HOST']),
);
your licence key file will display a callback and show the Domain and URL and the licence key, i know this coz i use the same technique
liamwli
10-07-2012, 11:26 AM
yes it does i know it does
the second you install your product it called this
$url = 'http://liamwli.co.uk/liccheck.php';
$fields = array(
'key' => urlencode($vbulletin->options['liam_bfkey']),
'url' => urlencode($_SERVER['HTTP_HOST']),
);
your licence key file will display a callback and show the Domain and URL and the licence key, i know this coz i use the same technique
That code is only executed if the license key is set. If there is no key set, then that code isn't run.
TheSupportForum
10-07-2012, 11:51 AM
That code is only executed if the license key is set. If there is no key set, then that code isn't run.
in which case you still need to inform your customer by law that this information is held by you, it must be shown on your website policy, if not it breaches laws
Naijasite
10-16-2012, 08:33 PM
Its not working with my vbseo .It still showing me my default Vbulletin error page. www.naijafinder.com
i add this to my .htacess file
RewriteEngine on
ErrorDocument 401 /errors.php?do=401
ErrorDocument 404 /errors.php?do=404
ErrorDocument 403 /errors.php?do=403
ErrorDocument 500 /errors.php?do=500
But still not working
liamwli
10-17-2012, 12:51 PM
Its not working with my vbseo .It still showing me my default Vbulletin error page. www.naijafinder.com
i add this to my .htacess file
RewriteEngine on
ErrorDocument 401 /errors.php?do=401
ErrorDocument 404 /errors.php?do=404
ErrorDocument 403 /errors.php?do=403
ErrorDocument 500 /errors.php?do=500
But still not working
1. This should be in the htaccess in your public_html folder
2. Make sure all other ErrorDocument entries are deleted
3. Ensure the errors.php file exists in the public_html folder
Expert1
02-16-2013, 09:08 AM
Hello, I have uploaded 2 files in forum root folder and installed plugin but still having problem. Error only getting in which url contains showthread.php and search.php, i have also specified error in images. And uploaded .htaccess file also contains code desired code. My forum url is www.techhotfix.com/forum
deadlySniper
02-17-2013, 04:02 AM
With much <3
Installed + Nominated
Expert1
02-18-2013, 05:40 AM
Please help me
Expert1
02-25-2013, 09:41 AM
Please reply......................
liamwli
03-09-2013, 11:03 AM
Hello, I have uploaded 2 files in forum root folder and installed plugin but still having problem. Error only getting in which url contains showthread.php and search.php, i have also specified error in images. And uploaded .htaccess file also contains code desired code. My forum url is www.techhotfix.com/forum
Hi, this looks like something to do with your URL settings - that message isn't from this mod.
DF031
08-03-2013, 05:23 PM
So how do I remove this "ET Calling Home" option ?
DF031
08-05-2013, 07:50 PM
I wonder why it is recommended to overwrite the existing htaccess file instead of updating it with the required code ? Seems like a very bad advice to me ?!?
DF031
08-09-2013, 02:38 PM
I just notice this mod inserts advertising in the page footer. How do I get rid of that ?
DF031
08-10-2013, 09:31 AM
Anyone ? It installs spam on each and every page, not just te error pages. Is there a way around this ?
motorhaven
08-08-2014, 07:02 PM
Anyone ? It installs spam on each and every page, not just te error pages. Is there a way around this ?
Go to your admincp -> Plugins & Products -> Plugin Manager
Find "Product : Integrated HTTP Errors"
There's a hook listed under that called "Basic Setup". Uncheck the checkbox for this hook. Scroll down and hit "Save Active Status".
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.