View Full Version : PostBit Switcher
I would like a small mod/template change that would allow the member to switch between Vertical and Horizontal PostBits.
I've found one here that is supposed to be for vB4 but it requires you to copy the entire vertical code over to the horizontal code.....Not very elegant I think plus I think it will break some mods, like the Thumbs Up/Down mod.
Thanks to anyone who may consider this.
BirdOPrey5
08-04-2012, 09:25 AM
Fairly easy to do.
1) Create a User Profile Field: "Use Horizontal Postbit?"
Answers: Yes / No
Note the field # it is given after you save it. (Field # may be different then display order)
2) Go to Plugin Manager -> Add New Plugin
Product: vBulletin
Title: Custom Postbit
Hook: global_bootstrap_init_start
Exec. Order: 5
PHP Code:
global $vbulletin;
if ($vbulletin->userinfo['field5'] == "Yes")
$vbulletin->options['legacypostbit'] = 0;
else
$vbulletin->options['legacypostbit'] = 1;
*Change 'field5' to whatever actual field# it is assigned- 'field6' , 'field7' ...
Then anyone who chooses "Yes" will see the horizontal postbit, and anyone who chooses "No" (or doesn't choose at all) will see the legacy (vertical) postbit.
New Joe
08-04-2012, 09:54 AM
Thanks BOP5, i might give that a go
--------------- Added 1344078270 at 1344078270 ---------------
Didn't work.
Scanu
08-04-2012, 02:03 PM
It could be because BOP5 decided to not put { and } but the code works (thanks btw)
Try this instead
global $vbulletin;
if ($vbulletin->userinfo['field5'] == "Yes")
{
$vbulletin->options['legacypostbit'] = 0;
}
else
{
$vbulletin->options['legacypostbit'] = 1;
}
:)
New Joe
08-04-2012, 02:08 PM
I'll give that new code a try, thanks
This part though;
1) Create a User Profile Field: "Use Horizontal Postbit?"
Answers: Yes / No
There's many ways to make a 'Profile Field' is it the first one it shows?
Scanu
08-04-2012, 02:17 PM
No it isn't select single selection radio Button
No it isn't select single selection radio Button
I've tried the various types...which one it correct?
Single-Line Text Box?
Multiple_line Text Box?
Single-Selection Radio Buttons?
Single-Selection Menu?
Multiple-Selection Menu?
Multiple-selection Checkbox?
Single-Selection Radio Buttons seems like the way to go but Scanu says it's not.
Thanks!
Scanu
08-04-2012, 03:59 PM
Yeah it's single selection radio buttons, i said "the first one isn't correct, select single selection radio buttons"
Works excellent guys!
Can I have permission to add this to the DB at VB.org?
BirdOPrey5
08-04-2012, 08:24 PM
Works excellent guys!
Can I have permission to add this to the DB at VB.org?
This isn't a mod so it can't be put in the Mods section. At best it would be an article if you wanted to write it up as one but honestly I think it is fine where it is.
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.