PDA

View Full Version : New Posting Features - Maximum Embedded Image (File) Size Restriction by BOP5


BirdOPrey5
04-15-2012, 10:00 PM
Brought to you by BirdOPrey5
www.Qapla.com (http://www.qapla.com/mods/)

Version 1.5 - Fixed new bugs - Added new option for edits
Version 1.4 - Simplified code - should fix any remaining issues
Version 1.3 - Fixes big with WYSIWYG Editor on New Threads in VB 4.1.4 and lower (Including 3.x)
Version 1.2 - Fixed error with some other mods
Version 1.1 - Better Support for CKEDITOR
Version 1.0 - Initial Release

Live Demo:Max Image Size Restrictions Demo at Qapla.com (http://www.qapla.com/mods/showthread.php/363-Max-Image-File-Size-Restriction-Demo)

The purpose of this mod is to make forum pages load faster. Too often users don't care how big (in bytes) the images they link to are. If you have an image resizer all they care about is that it fits on the page but not how long it may take to download. If you have a post with several or even dozens of these images you can quickly create a slow loading page. Search Engines give priority to faster loading pages so it could even be damaging SEO.

This mod will automatically check every image being embedded via BBCode. If the file size is over a value you specify the mod will automatically change the [IMG] code to a [URL] link instead. You can choose to include the file size (in kB) next to the link and you can specify the text of link as well- or simply use the URL as the link text. Go to the mod settings after installation to set these options.

Note- Changes are made at the time the post is submitted or edited so it will not change existing posts.

Should be compatible with all VB's since VB 3.6. Tested and confirmed working on VB 3.8.7, 4.0.8, 4.1.10, 4.1.12 and 4.2.1.

------------------------------------------------------

Please "[I]Mark as Installed" if you use this. :)
Donations always appreciated. :up:
Nominate MOTM if you LOVE it! ;)

BirdOPrey5
04-15-2012, 10:28 PM
Reserved.

Mr_Running
04-19-2012, 10:11 AM
What is the External Content?

BirdOPrey5
04-19-2012, 10:41 AM
What is the External Content?

I was back and forth on whether this mod needs that "notice" but I figured why not...

The "external content" is the external image someone is linking to- since this mod doesn't work without such a link I figured the notice was appropriate.

Don't worry, there isn't any other external content.


ALSO - FYI - Released version 1.2. This isn't a necessary upgrade unless you were getting an error on the earlier version- the error only comes when used in combination with some other unknown (to me) mods though.

BirdOPrey5
04-28-2012, 12:56 PM
Version 1.4 - Simplified code - should fix any remaining issues - suggest everyone upgrade.

BirdOPrey5
05-03-2012, 07:54 PM
Updated to 1.5 - Fixed a bug where the mod wouldn't disable on new threads even on forums listed as disabled.

Added new Yes/No option to enable on post edits or not.

thecore762
05-04-2012, 02:46 AM
Awesome mod!

Acido
10-26-2012, 07:14 PM
Some images are passing the mod in my board, and are still published in the posts. I set a max of 250Kb. Do you know if there are a conflict with other mod or what can be happening ?

Acido
10-29-2012, 03:18 PM
I found that the mod Double Post Prevention (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=233234) is giving conflict with your mod of size restriction for images. May be by set up another execution order for the plugin will solve the issue? Hope you can help.

Thank you.

BirdOPrey5
11-10-2012, 08:20 PM
You could try changing the execution order, it shouldn't hurt anything- if it does just change it back.

Acido
11-19-2012, 04:56 PM
I'm not sure why, but the function that you are using doesn't work right on my server.

I solve the issue changing the function getSizeFileBOP by this one:

function remotefsize($url) {
$sch = parse_url($url, PHP_URL_SCHEME);
if (($sch != "http") && ($sch != "https") && ($sch != "ftp") && ($sch != "ftps")) {
return false;
}
if (($sch == "http") || ($sch == "https")) {
$headers = get_headers($url, 1);
if ((!array_key_exists("Content-Length", $headers))) { return false; }
return $headers["Content-Length"];
}
if (($sch == "ftp") || ($sch == "ftps")) {
$server = parse_url($url, PHP_URL_HOST);
$port = parse_url($url, PHP_URL_PORT);
$path = parse_url($url, PHP_URL_PATH);
$user = parse_url($url, PHP_URL_USER);
$pass = parse_url($url, PHP_URL_PASS);
if ((!$server) || (!$path)) { return false; }
if (!$port) { $port = 21; }
if (!$user) { $user = "anonymous"; }
if (!$pass) { $pass = "phpos@"; }
switch ($sch) {
case "ftp":
$ftpid = ftp_connect($server, $port);
break;
case "ftps":
$ftpid = ftp_ssl_connect($server, $port);
break;
}
if (!$ftpid) { return false; }
$login = ftp_login($ftpid, $user, $pass);
if (!$login) { return false; }
$ftpsize = ftp_size($ftpid, $path);
ftp_close($ftpid);
if ($ftpsize == -1) { return false; }
return $ftpsize;
}
}It's also posted on http://php.net/manual/en/function.filesize.php

Using that function this add-on works perfect on my installation. Hope it help.

datoneer
07-22-2013, 02:04 PM
Thanks BOP5 you're the best